We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, safe and relaxing”
Review of MoAfrika Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MoAfrika Lodge
Ranked #12 of 38 Benoni B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were met at the airport . it's a 15 minute drive to the lodge. The gentleman working the desk is very friendly and tried to help us with any needs. They offer a café meal in the evening for a reasonable price and the spacious room comes with a bacon, eggs and toast breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: less than 10 rooms, they are all great
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for MoAfrika Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here for the final night of my 6-week African adventure. I had to get my own private room, tv, restroom, and be ready for my long long flight back to Hong Kong. Not luxurious, but rooms were huge and simple. My room had a queen sized bed and a twin next to it. The bathroom was clean, food was alright, and the dogs were fun to play with. MoAfrika arranged airport transfers, so i never had to worry about it.

Good place to stay for a night or two for all solo, couples or friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turtle_Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moafrika1, General Manager at MoAfrika Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Valued Traveller, than you for your review. We at MoAfrika do our best to ensure your stay is "GREAT". your comments has been taken into consideration. We wish you happy travels and a Merry Christmas. Regards MoAfrika Lodge Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Causy lodge with very nice authentic interior design. The area is not very exciting but close to the city. Mo Africa is also organizing City Tours and they are a must ! Tourguide was brilliant. Dinner and breakfast were nearly OK. Staff is very nice but some additional training in typical hotel skills should be done. Veeeeery big (but friendly) dogs are taking care of security and sharing the terrace with the guests

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaaskop-HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

It was hard to find, but worth it once we did. So aethetically pleasing, great staff, and nice grounds. Only stayed one night in a dorm, but had a better night than any previous hostel I stayed in. It exceeded expectations especially for the price. Dinner was not amazing, but not bad and breakfast was yummy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I had booked to stay at this lodge for a one night layover in Johannesburg. The representative met me late and told me to wait for another guest. Then another gentleman arrived, grabbed my suitcase and walked off while talking in a local language with the rep. No effort was made to introduce me to the other gentleman or offer an explanation for what was going on. I was bundled into a full van with other disgruntled guests who apparently were kept waiting for my arrival. When I presented my booking confirmation, confusion ensued. The lodge was fully booked and they did not have a room available; this despite my having e-mailed Anthony to confirm my booking and received a reply that all was in order. Finally, I was told that they were going to 'upgrade' me to a room in Club Safari. Although I was disappointed, I was satisfied to have a place to lay my head for the night. Then I was asked to wait while the driver had dinner. There is a cut-off time for placing dinner orders and it would have been gracious to be allowed to have dinner there since I had to wait for the driver.
Club Safari was very disappointing - see review. Although I'd have liked to have the MoAfrika experience, I am not going to risk booking it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
5  Thank MellowPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here for just one day after arriving in Johannesburg airport.
it's conveniently located, if you have a car or cab, but not so close you hear the airport.
it's basic, but the space you get is great, big bed, sleeps well, good shower. After a long series of flights it's good to relax on the first day. Pool is a bit basic as are the other amenities but it is value for money, you won't get it that good in Western Europe for that money!
Would i stay again, yes, sure, why not, it does the job. The owner, manager, or whatever he is was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Second time i came to MoAfrika and it really felt like coming home. Great welcome by the friendly staff and the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. To me MoAfrika represents the true African spirit. It's not the place to spend days and days but it's a great stopover before and after a safari. The convenient airport transfers make the package a worthwile deal. When i have the chance i will definitely return. A big thank you to Andrew who is always on hand to assist with a big smile.
On the improvement side however...please make sure to stock some good south african wines, with the white one cooled.

Room Tip: Rooms 3,4 and 5 are especially good in terms of space and next to the bar.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
0.5 mi away
aha-Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
4.5 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
572 reviews
3.7 mi away
Safari Club
Safari Club
#14 of 26 in Kempton Park
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,187 reviews
5.8 mi away
Outlook Lodge Lakefield
3.8 mi away
Sleep Eezy B&B
Sleep Eezy B&B
#2 of 38 in Benoni
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MoAfrika Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoAfrika Lodge

Address: 120 Sandham Road | Norton Home Estate, Benoni 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range: £35 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to MoAfrika Lodge. MoAfrika literally means 'African People' in the language of the local Sotho populace, the original inhabitants of the Highveld. Your host, Anthony, has skillfully created a unique lodge in which an African theme induces a warm welcome for guests. Set on a 8000 square metre land through which a stream flows, MoAfrika Lodge provides a rustic and tranquil setting where guests can unwind in a relaxed and country atmosphere. Why book yourself into a Hotel or Guest Houses when you can stay here at MoAfrika Lodge? MoAfrika Lodge has evolved from Anthony's place which has been operating since 2006. MoAfrika Lodge offers comfortable and stylish accommodation. Our rooms are spacious and are tastefully decorated in a truly African style. A large dining room and lounge flow unobtrusively into the cosy bar area. Guests may unwind around our sparkling swimming pool and enclosed wooden deck. MoAfrika Lodge is very conveniently situated less than 10km from Johannesburg Airport, O.R Tambo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your MoAfrika Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moafrika Hotel Benoni
MoAfrika Lodge Benoni, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing