We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Quiet”
Review of MoAfrika Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MoAfrika Lodge
Ranked #13 of 37 Benoni B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and Quiet”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We visited the lodge for a quick over night stay whilst I visited South Africa. It was very close to the International Airport. i could arrange last minute tour to Lion and Rhyno park which was a real experience. The staff was very friendly and help full and the food was like the local says"lekker". Thank you to everyone me and my family had a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the dining hall is very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasotraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moafrika1, General Manager at MoAfrika Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor about your stay at MoAfrika Lodge. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your Tour arranged by MOAFRIKA TOURS and had a good experience at our Lodge. We wish you and your family safe travelling and hope to meet again. MoAfrika Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    41
    14
    13
    7
See reviews for
19
48
40
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

MoAfrica Lodge is acceptable for one night stay in Johannesburg. The no frills small property includes breakfast and shuttle to and from the airport. You have a nice view of a field of an ostrich farm.
Be prepared to be met by the welcoming committee George the Rottweiler.
It is quite remote and there are no options for meals or groceries if you're planning on not eating at the facility.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ofmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moafrika1, General Manager at MoAfrika Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor about your stay at MoAfrika Lodge. The dogs George and Jabie gets very excited when guests come to visit the lodge. At our restaurant we serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner however we do provide options of taking our guests to the market for groceries should they wish to cook their own food in the guest kitchen. We do appreciate your feedback as it shows that the information needs to be a bit more highlighted.
We wish you safe travelling and hope to meet you in the near future again. Kindest Regards MoAfrika Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nice quiet lodge on the edge of Jo.burg. Supremely relaxing and homely with some of the most hospitable staff i've experienced in a long, long time.

The 8 bed dorm was one of the nicest dorms i've stayed in ever, nice comfy beds, nice linen, spacious and big clean bathroom with a proper bath even!

Thanks for the fantastic stay, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aengus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had a great time staying at MoAfrica Lodge. Bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, spacious and well maintained, and the meals in the morning and the evening were nice. Wi-Fi worked fine as well and staff were nice and helpful with everything I asked. The lodge itself felt safe and is conveniently close to the airport. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Festus, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were met at the airport . it's a 15 minute drive to the lodge. The gentleman working the desk is very friendly and tried to help us with any needs. They offer a café meal in the evening for a reasonable price and the spacious room comes with a bacon, eggs and toast breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: less than 10 rooms, they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here for the final night of my 6-week African adventure. I had to get my own private room, tv, restroom, and be ready for my long long flight back to Hong Kong. Not luxurious, but rooms were huge and simple. My room had a queen sized bed and a twin next to it. The bathroom was clean, food was alright, and the dogs were fun to play with. MoAfrika arranged airport transfers, so i never had to worry about it.

Good place to stay for a night or two for all solo, couples or friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtle_Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moafrika1, General Manager at MoAfrika Lodge, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Dear Valued Traveller, than you for your review. We at MoAfrika do our best to ensure your stay is "GREAT". your comments has been taken into consideration. We wish you happy travels and a Merry Christmas. Regards MoAfrika Lodge Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Causy lodge with very nice authentic interior design. The area is not very exciting but close to the city. Mo Africa is also organizing City Tours and they are a must ! Tourguide was brilliant. Dinner and breakfast were nearly OK. Staff is very nice but some additional training in typical hotel skills should be done. Veeeeery big (but friendly) dogs are taking care of security and sharing the terrace with the guests

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaaskop-HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
5.0 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
4.3 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House (The Palms)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#1 of 111 in Johannesburg
225 reviews
5.8 mi away
Outlook Lodge Lakefield
0.0 mi away
Africa Paradise - Airport Guest Lodge and Travel Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MoAfrika Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoAfrika Lodge

Property: MoAfrika Lodge
Address: 120 Sandham Road | Norton Home Estate, Benoni 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to MoAfrika Lodge. MoAfrika literally means 'African People' in the language of the local Sotho populace, the original inhabitants of the Highveld. Your host, Anthony, has skillfully created a unique lodge in which an African theme induces a warm welcome for guests. Set on a 8000 square metre land through which a stream flows, MoAfrika Lodge provides a rustic and tranquil setting where guests can unwind in a relaxed and country atmosphere. Why book yourself into a Hotel or Guest Houses when you can stay here at MoAfrika Lodge? MoAfrika Lodge has evolved from Anthony's place which has been operating since 2006. MoAfrika Lodge offers comfortable and stylish accommodation. Our rooms are spacious and are tastefully decorated in a truly African style. A large dining room and lounge flow unobtrusively into the cosy bar area. Guests may unwind around our sparkling swimming pool and enclosed wooden deck. MoAfrika Lodge is very conveniently situated less than 10km from Johannesburg Airport, O.R Tambo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your MoAfrika Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moafrika Hotel Benoni
MoAfrika Lodge Benoni, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing