We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good conference hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benoni
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good conference hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Kopanong many times in the past ten years, almost invariably for a conference. They do an excellent, affordable job of delivering conferencing services and support. The hotel itself is within reasonable distance of the province's major airport and has a fairly efficient shuttle service. The accommodation is in chalets, each of which has three units - one large and two small. The rooms themselves are a little careworn - one gets the impression that savings are being made on maintenance - but management is swift to fix anything that isn't working. Lovely grounds, good parking, and very friendly and helpful staff. The food is nothing to write home about but is generally perfectly adequate and occasionally excellent. Great value for money overall.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKH, General Manager at Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Duncan G

Thank you for your time and comments, your contribution towards our on-going efforts to continuously improve our services and facilities highly appreciated.

We take particular note of your comment on our rooms and glad to mention that many projects have been initiated by us, the new operators of the hotel, including air conditioners, bedroom linen, hairdryers, additional plugs in the rooms and also projects in the public areas to mention but a few.

We look forward to be of service to you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to meet in person

Kindest regards and thank you again for your recognition

Herman Muller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
10
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The staff were extremely efficient and helpful. It is not often that you find people who seem to enjoy dealing with customers so it was really great to find people who always smiled and went out of their way to make your stay a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJParrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKH, General Manager at Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

A most sincere thank you for recognising our biggest asset – our staff.
Your contribution towards staff morale much appreciated.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and interacting with our staff members

Yours in Service

Herman Muller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male, Maldives
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It is the first time in a long while that I have been alloted a room that was reflective of such appaling housekeeping standards.

Firstly the door lock was inoperative and at check in i was assured that it would be attended to by the time i finished the conference. This was at 9 in the morning and by 18h00 it was still not fixed, which meant no access to room or my clothes to get ready for the evening event.

Secondly the shower floor was ao dirty that i made a mental note not ro use it and then there were visible hairs of previous occupants in the shower drain which made me wich I had rather committed to the 100 km drive every day and not actually had spent money for this.

The spider webs were all over the window and the window handle was also broken.

I only have one more night here, but if I ever have to attend a conference here again, ill stay somewhere else or drive daily.

The gentleman that assisted me was friendly and helpful which only causes me to belief that the owners have no interest in the upkeep of their establishment and they either do not provide skills or tools to address these matters.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKH, General Manager at Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you sincerely for your feedback and comments.

We apologize sincerely for the shortcomings as with regards to housekeeping standards.

We strive for zero defect and although disappointing situations may arise we must act on these timeously and professionally, and in addition maintain the highest level of services and cleanliness at all times.

Your experience not aligned with our efforts and I can assure you all your comments have been addressed to ensure we do not have a repeat of your experience.

Yours in Service

Herman Muller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My stay at Kopanong Hotel was ruined by a terrifying experience. An unidentified man entered my room during the late afternoon whilst I was asleep but fortunately fled when I screamed. I reported the incident, but the staff could not explain who the person was or how this man had come to be in possession of the room key card. It seems like presence of "security guards" proved ineffective.Whilst the supervisor/manager did offer to move me to alternate room. I must make note that the receptionist (female) seemed annoyed/put-out at having to allocate a different room to me. In a country with such a high crime rate (i.e. violent crimes) I would have thought that the female staff member might have been a little more accommodating /understanding. So I would suggest that FEMALES TRAVELLING ALONE, THINK HARD BEFORE CONSIDERING THIS HOTEL because I believe that their security is LAX. I didn’t sleep a wink for the rest of my stay there, and the ‘new’ room/”chalet” was so isolated…it didn’t help me to feel safe at all. By the way, the towels were very rough and the a/c made a terrible noise.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apt2xcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKH, General Manager at Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you sincerely for your time and sharing your disappointments with us. I can assure you we take all guest comments very seriously and thoroughly investigate feedback with all relevant departments or individuals. Your valuable feedback contribute to improving our product, facilities and service levels.

We strive for zero defect at all times and although disappointing situations may arise we must act on these timeously and professionally. My team and I failed ourselves in not achieving this objective and sincerely apologize.

Following our investigations we are relieved to report that it was indeed one of our housekeeping supervisor that entered your room. Despite his length of service and impeccable record we did address the matter with him and re-enforced our housekeeping procedures on entering a room.

We are very disappointed that you did not experience the norm at Kopanong and sincerely apologizes for your experience.

Yours in Service
Herman Muller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Simply the best, the staff was very professional, non-judgemental about your reasons for staying there, not that they asked.. the venue is beautiful, the rooms make you feel like you are at home, it was a great experience for me and my wife, just getting away from our daily troubles

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank De3pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKH, General Manager at Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Your valuable feedback contributes to our staff development initiatives and staff motivational levels. We thank you most sincerely for recognising our efforts and delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We believe our property to be “far enough from everything yet close enough to all” and glad your experience and memories are aligned with our vision.
Your time appreciated and we hope to be of service to you again in the not too distant future.

Yours in Service

Herman Muller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I've stayed here on several occasions attending conferences. The place is vast, the rooms are looking a little bit more tired each time, the buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner are always good and staff are friendly. However I would not stay here with my family, although reasonable close to the airport, 20 minute drive, it is far from everywhere else. The conference facilities are very good.

Room Tip: Rooms are in stand-alone villas, try and get one close to the reception / restaurant or you will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
259 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Staff were friendly, The food was great - But never had hot water once and complained several times - I believe we were not the only one's. Not fun early morning in mid winter to have a Ice Cold shower - especially considering pricing. Beds were also unbelievably hard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor312564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
0.0 mi away
The Lakes Hotel and Conference Center
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
7.5 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
9.2 mi away
Road Lodge Carnival City
6.4 mi away
Birchwood Hotel
Birchwood Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boksburg
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 243 Glen Gory Road, Benoni 1522, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an oasis of tranquility, a place where you can re-discover your natural senses in a country setting? Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre is the ideal intimate location for your conference and accommodation. Established in 1998, the 4 star graded estate is renowned for its professional, warm and friendly service. The experience can only be fully appreciated when visiting this unique "Place of Meeting." The estate is 12,5 kilometres from the OR Tambo International Airport, conveniently situated between 2 major highways (R21 and N12), and centrally accessible to Johannesburg CBD, City of Tshwane/Pretoria, Sandton and Midrand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kopanong Hotel And Conference Centre Benoni, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing