We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect after a long flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MoAfrika Backpackers
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed in a mixed dorm and found it very comfortable, despite a cold shower. Was able to get a decent meal in the evening and the complimentary breakfast was very good (scrambled egg on toast and cereal with yoghurt).
Unfortunately I think I got forgotten about at the airport and had to phone them to get picked. Not ideal as I didn't have local number so would recommend confirming booking a day or two in advance. The same goes if you're booking further travel through the lodge or Viva Safari as again I got left behind - though the owner sorted it out and they came back for me without too much of a delay in journey time.
I would stay there again after flying into Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilidh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

For short stays, there's probably not a better place you could pick in Johannesburg. Anthony, Andrew and all of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the fact that they operate one of the best tour companies in the area too, means you'll always have something to fill your days with. The location is close to the airport, but a fleet of drivers are available to take you anywhere in and around Johannesburg. I stayed in the dorm, and it's one of the best shared accomodations I've been in - clean and comfy! Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Being from the United States, and wanting to stay in a place so outlandish and unfamiliar as South Africa was a bit of a challenge to undergo, but with the help of William and Anthony from MoAfrika I was able to feel completely taken care of.

I was a little nervous transferring almost 30,000R to the MoAfrika bank account, but I felt completely at ease because the two gentleman had been working so close with me to make me feel so safe. For 2 months, we planned the trip and had the pickup and the dropoff from the airport perfect. We even had a place to put our luggage as we went on our safari!

The stay was absolutely incredible. We had some great South African wine and beer, as well as great meals that included "pap" and traditional meats and steaks.

Overall wonderful hospitality and wonderful accommodations. A group of 5 girls stayed here before starting our Study Abroad 3 week study in Cintsa, and I wouldn't have wanted to kick it off any other way.

MoAfrika is certainly the way to go for any luxurious traveling in South Africa.

Room Tip: we didn't really have a room of choice, but they put us in the best room that was to our liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiepritchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yanina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: nicht den Raum neben der Rezeption. glaube es war die 2… es regnet durchs Dach direkt ins Bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naclaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benoni hotels
5.7 mi away
The Lakes Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
aha-Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
4.3 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Outlook Lodge Lakefield
4.3 mi away
Lakeview Boutique Hotel & Conference Center
6 mi away
Africa Paradise - Airport Guest Lodge and Travel Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MoAfrika Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoAfrika Backpackers

Address: 120 Sandham Rd, Benoni 1509, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Benoni
Hotel Class:4 star — MoAfrika Backpackers 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your MoAfrika Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MoAfrika Backpackers Benoni, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing