We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Papa Boa

Papa Boa
Ranked #18 of 79 Restaurants in Benoni
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We trust you will enjoy your meal with the same satisfaction as the age old Cristovao's Crew did all those years ago when first setting foot on the shores of Africa - Come celebrate in a true Portuguese Way!
Benoni, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

As parents of a 3yr old and 5yr old, we rate restaurants differently from being single/just married/"empty-nesters "! Haha ! We want value for money (tick), nice atmosphere (okay), friendly service (even to our kids...was average), and definitely some entertainment for our kids (so-so). There is a playroom but our age group kids got bored very quickly. So - in summary: good value for money, food good, but the kids are not screaming "Mommy! Please can we go there again!" So, might visit them some time again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alidadv26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    14
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
641 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Downgraded”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have been to this a couple of times in the past and it was always good, but they are now slipping.
We had dinner there yesterday evening. The red wine was so warm it was undrinkable. The Portuguese steak was very dry and not at all tasty, as it used to be in the past in the past.The fillet on the espetada was much better.
It seems to be turning into a sports bar. There were a couple of TV screens on and the the music was playing very loud in the background.
I don't think if I well go there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service good, food a bit of a letdown.”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had an average meal at Papa Boa, I cant say it was bad but maybe just a bit overrated. The ribs were cold and considering it arrived after the other dish i did not want to send it back.

The waiter however was very apologetic and he did serve us well otherwise!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never had a Bad Meal”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have been to this restaurant many times, the service, meals and friendliness are excellent. We will, without a doubt, be going back again and have already recommended it to our friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul & Marg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome food”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We visit Papa Boa at least twice a month. Great food, great value for money!!! It's a firm favorite of ours definitely the best in the Eastrand!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa Boa also viewed

Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
 
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
 
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Papa Boa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing