We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Mufasa Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benoni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mufasa Backpackers
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here before our 4 day tour to the Kruger NP. Informal atmosphere, nice staff and safe neighborhood. The location is quite far from the centre of Johannesburg but in walking distance of a supermarket.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merijn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
7
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great value, Great people, Great tour!! Juan and the Mufasa "family" provided a faultless service from start to end; they were extremely friendly,helpful, welcoming and great fun! Myself and a friend booked the private five day Kruger tour with Juan, staying at Mufasa Backpackers before the tour departed and on our return. The rooms were comfortable and very clean with the bathroom adjoining and many places to sit inside or out, they have a pool, bar and free internet plus a communal TV area with comfy sofas! As we were booked on a tour with Mufasa our evening meals were also provided these were always very tasty.
The tour itself was such a great experience, Juan was fantastic he was knowledgeable, friendly, great fun he was also very accommodating i always felt that if we wanted to change the itinerary it would not be a problem (he also did a great brai). The accommodation on the tour and the itinerary was brilliant. We both had a truly awesome time from start to end which would not have been half as enjoyable without Juan and the people at Mufasa backpackers, we both wouldn't hesitate in returning to do another tour. Cant recommend them enough! Thank you for a great holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before starting an overland tour of SA and Zimbabwe! This family run hostel is great value. Not very close to Jo'berg but that was not an issue for us. Our airport transfer was reasonable, and they also offered rides into town, again for a reasonable price. The bar and firepit were great. The pool too... a bit too cold for swimming in June though! Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPJ1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverkusen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Mufasa backpackers is situated in the far Eastern parts of Johannesburg and therefor in a quiet, safe area. A supermarket is in walking distance (20 min).
The staff is awesome, very helpful and good fun! You can book day tours in and around Johannesburg with them and they do some of them themselves.
There are plenty of different rooms (dorms and en-suite), all very cleen and specially in the wellstocked bar you can have good fun and chat with guides that have travelled all of Southern Africa.
It's a geat place to for getting in the mood for your travels around Africa!
I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricanAdventures_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights before my tour starting from this point. Although the staff were friendly and did collect from the airport, the hostel was run down, in the middle of no-where and there were mice in some of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Three of us travelers from the USA met up here in Feb., 2013 for the start of our month long stay in ZA. First off this lodging offers free airport pickup, wow, big savings. They are located on a large parcel of fenced and gated property with outdoor seating and a pool. The location is quiet and next to a horse farm. We are birders and this property was just loaded with wild birds. On my very first morning I was greeted by a Spotted Eagle Owl perched on the awning of the main building, wow again! I proceeded to log about 20 species right off on the first morning. The price is very reasonable and the people that own and run Mufasa are experienced and offer all kinds of local knowledge. Great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a private entrance, quiet and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiglax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Awesome vibe and friendly staff. Well managed and laid back environment. Lovely pool and bar area. They can help you with all your travel arrangements being customized tours through Africa or spending a couple of days in Kruger NP. Perfect location hosting large group and a must stay when in Johannesburg,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellyfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benoni hotels
5.8 mi away
Lakeview Boutique Hotel & Conference Center
4.7 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House (The Palms)
0.0 mi away
The Lakes Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
6.1 mi away
Outlook Lodge
Outlook Lodge
#1 of 36 in Benoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
6.0 mi away
Africa Paradise - Airport Guest Lodge and Travel Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mufasa Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mufasa Backpackers

Property: Mufasa Backpackers
Address: 21 fourth road | Cloverdene, Benoni 1513, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Mufasa Backpackers Benoni, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing