We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but there's nothing that strikes me as Outstanding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outlook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outlook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 39 Benoni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good, but there's nothing that strikes me as Outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

So this is a really good place but nothing really sticks out as fantastic, the Hilton has the same problem, theres no unbelievable touch.
Pros: Nice design and atmosphere, a large yard, and cute adorable dogs.
Cons: A little dusty in a few places. Bad WiFi.

Tips: Play with the dogs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zach H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    68
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
132
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We found the Outlook Lodge to be an excellent and surprising choice as we visited from Vancouver, Canada. Its a beautiful old mansion with lovely grounds. Its in a gated community of large properties. Its quiet and the service is excellent. We highly recommend it for a real break near the auirport in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimbagirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

So, my husband and I thought that we had our trip all planned out, but we didn't. Our travels started out with a three day Kruger Safari which was booked with Outlook. Outstanding! What's not to love about wild animals running around? The safari was amazing (thanks for the really amazing fleece-lined ponchos -- best ever!). Our guide, Belinda was outstanding -- knowledgable, funny, extremely helpful, and a very gracious hostess. The safari part of our vacation was better than we expected, and the people from Oulook made that happen (darn you leopards, where were you hiding?).

The next part of our vacation was at Mount Sheba. On paper it was pretty close to Pilgrim's Rest, one of the stops on the tour back to Jo'burg, so we decided that we would get off the tour there, and make our way to Mount Sheba. No big deal, right? Apparently it is a big deal, because Mount Sheba is in the actual middle of nowhere -- literally 10 miles away from anything on a miserable road only suitable for a four-wheel drive vehicle, or goat. So, unbeknownst to us, alternative arrangements were made, and instead of just dropping us off in Pilgrim's Rest, and wishing us good luck, Robert met us at breakfast and drove us out of Kruger and drove out to Mount Sheba.

Robert was amazing! The man has forgotten more about the animals of South Africa than I have ever known. And he really and truly has animal magnetism. The animals were everywhere! He was our personal tour guide for the trip to Mount Sheba, and shared his knowledge of South Africa with us -- social, cultural, and political. Also, knowing how remote we were and understanding that we were truly stranded, Robert arranged to have us picked up at the end of our time at Mount Sheba (aka the middle of nowhere), and take us to the Lodge.

There are no words to describe the relief we felt when the van, with Willie driving, pulled up to take us to the Lodge. Which, by the way, was amazing! Quaint, quiet, and quality would be the words used to describe it. So comfortable and welcoming -- a pleasure to just sit back and relax.

Francois was outstanding. He really knows how to make vistors to the Lodge feel that they are the most important people in the room -- our happiness and needs were his top priority. Francois' hospitality, wealth of knowledge, and love of his job were evident, and made our stay at Outlook Lodge a highlight of our trip. And the two dogs (who helped us through our canine withdrawal) made the trip that much more enjoyable.

As well as rescuing us from Mount Sheba, the staff arranged to get us to the train station the next afternoon to take the Premiere Class train from Jo'burg to Cape Town (an under-publicized gem that allows you to see South Africa from the comfort of your own compartment).

The entire staff -- Robert, Crystale, Steven, Willie, Francios -- turned what would have surely been a disaster into a stellar example of South African hospitality, and made our vacation that much better, and memorable. Outlook Africa will be our number-one recommendation for anyone who wants to know what's really good about South Africa. Thanks so much! Tricia and Gerry Shulist

Room Tip: Our room was really three rooms -- bedroom, sitting room, and washroom. More room than we needed, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSKALOOSA
Level Contributor
292 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

flying from Washington, D.C.. We needed a night to make our connection next morning to Walvis Bay, Namibia, and Francois made it a good stay. True, the shower dribbled and was cool and the TV didn't work, but a great bed along with Francois' warmth and welcome made up for it. Scrumptious breakfast -- EXCELLENT. Our worry about being in Africa melted away. Great and secure place to stay when flying out of JNB. Cannot help but smile when I recall the sign over the bar -- "Free Beer -- Tomorrow"...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
860 reviews
476 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This place is MUCH better than staying at an airport hotel and almost as convenient. All the previous comments about the hospitality of Francois are accurate. The house is comfortable and the neighborhood peaceful, with a very good nearby restaurant (Mozambik). The free breakfast provided was ample and tasty. Rooms are perhaps not quite as luxurious as suggested on their website, but they are "homey" and comfortable. We rented a car as we were on our way to Kruger, and had no problems finding the lodge.

My only word of caution is that water pressure is better in some rooms than others (we were travelling wtih our kids and had 2 rooms). So if a "strong" shower is important to you, I'd suggest asking an advance for a room with a good shower!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the lodge before and after our safari at Kruger. Francois was wonderful. He arranged a specialized tour and tour guide for us when we arrived. He prepared and served our dinners and breakfast and was very gracious. We couldn't have asked for anyone more helpful. We needed an electrical adapter and didn't have time to get to a store before leaving for our Kruger safari so Francois loaned us his personal adapter for the duration of our safari - so helpful! Water pressure in the shower was a little weak, but we discovered that was quite common in South Africa. We weren't quite prepared for the cold weather and limited heating, but the room had a full supply of blankets and was very clean. We were made to feel very comfortable and welcome. It was a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here both per and post safari. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The manager, Francois, could not have been more friendly or accommodating. He gladly fixed us evening meals which were delicious and inexpensive. The drivers provided by the lodge were great too. I cannot recommend them highly enough!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
5.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
9.2 mi away
African Rock Hotel
African Rock Hotel
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
7.3 mi away
Blue Mango Lodge
Blue Mango Lodge
#1 of 65 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Lodge

Property: Outlook Lodge
Address: 1 Ambleside Avenue | Lakefield, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Outlook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outlook Lodge offers great value for money with home from home comforts in a tranquil gated community. We cater for discerning travelers, professionals, avid safari enthusiasts and families alike.Originally established as an overnight stop for guests embarking on safari with us, it now boasts a 4 star grading and confidently claims to surpass international standards, maintaining the highest possible levels of professionalism, hygiene and comfort.The rooms are tastefully furnished to celebrate South Africa's wonderful diversity of wildlife and spectacular landscapes. Breakfast is a scrumptious affair, while lunch and dinner is served on request at minimal extra charge. Special dietary requirements are catered for.Being right next to a golf course and within 5 minutes' walk from a gym and the Korsman Bird Sanctuary offers our guests activity on our doorstep. Day excursions to explore all that Gauteng has to offer can be booked through the lodge.We have been operating safaris to the Kruger National Park since 1998 and specialize in this region of South Africa. All safaris are conducted by professional safari guides employed by ourselves. You will deal with us personally and safaris generally leave from the Outlook Lodge. Options vary from budget camping to luxury lodge safaris.We are situated about 15 minutes' drive from Johannesburg's OR Tambo airport and offer transfers to and from the airport by prior arrangement at a minimal charge.We look forward to meeting you!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Outlook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Lodge Benoni, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing