We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your sterile airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outlook Lodge Lakefield
Ranked #1 of 40 Benoni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

A unique place to stay near airport, and ideal to start Kruger safari from. A large home in a nice area, walkable to restaurants and a bird sanctuary. Rooms are good but this is not a modern sterile hotel rather you feel comfortable here. The TV is adequate and wifi free but limited areas of reception. Your host is wonderful he makes the resort from wonderful breakfasts to sometimes cooking a delicious dinner (I am not sure how often he does that but one night made a chicken dinner and another day just a requested sand which because I had a cold. If u need something just ask. U also meet a lot of guests from all over the world. So a place that is different in a great way to call a base.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

We chose this place as we had booked a safari to the Kruger park with Outlook Safari, a company run by Francois, the lodge's owner. The lodge is close to the airport and Francois arranged for us to be collected at the airport, taken to the lodge to freshen up and start our vacatiuon in SA with a guided tour of Jo'burg and Soweto. In the 2 evenings we stayed there he drove us to the restaurant area close to the lodge and we saw him cooking a delicious dinner for some other guests. The rooms are spacious and the garden is amazing. We couldnt use the swimming pool as it was still a bit chilly. I'd like to thank Francois once again for all his help. He is very kind and makes his best to make your trip special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millenniumbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed here in December 2011 as part of a package to visit Kruger NP with Outlook Safaris. My experience was perfect for someone who had never been to Joburg before.

The Outlook Lodge organised to have someone meet be at Joburg airport, who helped me with my luggage and transported me between the airport and the lodge.

The rooms are very big, clean and very comfortable. As someone who had just attended the crazy world of the UN Climate Change conference in Durban in the preceding weeks, the Outlook Lodge was the ideal place to stay to unwind and relax.

I always felt very safe at the hotel, as it located in a well secured neighbourhood. The crew from Outlook Safaris met me at the lodge and dropped me back of again when my safari was finished.

As others have mentioned, Francois is an excellent host, making you feel welcome and always available to help you out. He even helped me to get a pizza delivered to the lodge!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My friend and I stayed at Outlook Lodge in May 2011 so this review is long overdue but of course still relevant. I can not say enough good things about this establishment. Francois made
us feel like family and really took care of us the entire time. It was so much better than staying at a hotel. Our Kruger Park safari was also booked and arranged through Outlook Lodge & Safaris and we had a wonderful time. When we arrived at Kruger we learned our assigned camp was over-booked (not Outlook's fault) and Robert got busy and found us some great, alternate accomodations. Our Outlook guide drove us back to Johannesburg via the scenic route and we visited the Three Rondavels and Pilgrims' Rest.
Outlook Lodge is situated in a very nice residential area and is close to the airport. This is always an advantage on any trip. I credit Outlook Lodge in making my dream trip to Africa an unforgettable experience. I will be happy to provide more information if anyone desires.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDMullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Francois makes this place very special. When they could not accommodate our family presafari., he arranged for the lodge to pick up ur bags from the City Lodge and keep them for us until our return. The boys loved the huge yard of the lodge. A great respite between safari and travel to Abu Dhabi. He also arranged a great dinner for us at the lodge so we did not have to venture out after our safari.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hexanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

So this is a really good place but nothing really sticks out as fantastic, the Hilton has the same problem, theres no unbelievable touch.
Pros: Nice design and atmosphere, a large yard, and cute adorable dogs.
Cons: A little dusty in a few places. Bad WiFi.

Tips: Play with the dogs.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zach H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We found the Outlook Lodge to be an excellent and surprising choice as we visited from Vancouver, Canada. Its a beautiful old mansion with lovely grounds. Its in a gated community of large properties. Its quiet and the service is excellent. We highly recommend it for a real break near the auirport in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimbagirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
4.3 mi away
Outlook Lodge - O.R Tambo
Outlook Lodge - O.R Tambo
#105 of 223 in Greater Johannesburg
26 reviews
2 mi away
Sleep Eezy B&B
Sleep Eezy B&B
#3 of 40 in Benoni
98 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Boutique Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
The Lakes Hotel and Conference Center
5.7 mi away
aha-Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Lodge Lakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Lodge Lakefield

Address: 1 Ambleside Avenue | Lakefield, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range: £38 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outlook Lodge Lakefield 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outlook Lodge offers great value for money with home from home comforts in a tranquil gated community. We cater for discerning travelers, professionals, avid safari enthusiasts and families alike.Originally established as an overnight stop for guests embarking on safari with us, it now boasts a 4 star grading and confidently claims to surpass international standards, maintaining the highest possible levels of professionalism, hygiene and comfort.The rooms are tastefully furnished to celebrate South Africa's wonderful diversity of wildlife and spectacular landscapes. Breakfast is a scrumptious affair, while lunch and dinner is served on request at minimal extra charge. Special dietary requirements are catered for.Being right next to a golf course and within 5 minutes' walk from a gym and the Korsman Bird Sanctuary offers our guests activity on our doorstep. Day excursions to explore all that Gauteng has to offer can be booked through the lodge.We have been operating safaris to the Kruger National Park since 1998 and specialize in this region of South Africa. All safaris are conducted by professional safari guides employed by ourselves. You will deal with us personally and safaris generally leave from the Outlook Lodge. Options vary from budget camping to luxury lodge safaris.We are situated about 15 minutes' drive from Johannesburg's OR Tambo airport and offer transfers to and from the airport by prior arrangement at a minimal charge.We look forward to meeting you!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Outlook Lodge Lakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Lodge Lakefield Benoni, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing