We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outlook Lodge Lakefield
Ranked #1 of 42 Benoni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

An unexpected experience: outstanding service; very good meals; personalised service; family atmosphere. Francois is a excellent host and cook.
This lodge was the last stop of out trip to South-Africa and Botswane


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Outlook lodge doesn't pretend to be anything more than it is i.e a quite simple B&B lodge close to the airport offering fairly basic but comfortable rooms and a simple meals option at a very reasonable price.
Not really close to much in the way of restaurants etc but as an overnight stop prior to our flight out next morning was perfect and only a 5 - 10 minute drive to JNB Oliver Tambo international airport.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful printing out our boarding passes etc.
Dinner was a "set menu" but well prepared and tasty. They have wine available to buy and do not apply rip off prices which was a
welcome change from many other places we have stayed in SA.
Breakfast was "continental" style but included home made musician, fruit & toast with fruit juice.
Would certainly use Outlook Lodge again if flying out early morning and wanted somewhere decent for the night before.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We used Outlook as a stopping off point on our way to Kruger.

Service was outstanding, food very good, and Francois is an excellent host, who could not have been more helpful.

It is within easy walking distance from shops and restaurants, and an interesting bird sanctuary.

Would thoroughly recommend Outlook

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the lodge, before going to the Safari in Kruger NP, and it was very nice. François is very helpful, we wanted to stay one more night in the lodge but they were full, so he arranged a place for us and arranged a half day tour for us in the Soweto. The tour was wonderful because Moss lives in Soweto, so he knew a lot about it and even took us to visit a public school. About the safari in the Kruger, everything was perfect, the drivers who took us to the park (Johannes and Will) were very nice, the people in the camp were great and the driver who brought us back to Jo'burg (Aderto) was lovely! Thanks Outlook for these amazing days in SA!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraOlivella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Everything about the Outlook Lodge was exceptional. The staff was extremely friendly. In fact they brought out some nice wine for us to sample the night we arrived. Plus the next day they set up a great tour for our small group.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Six of us just returned from from a trip to Kruger. We overnighted at Outlook both on the way and when returning. Cannot say enough good about the lodge. Francois is a fabulous host. The rooms are clean and comfortable(no AC. Great breakfast and wonderful reccommendation. We were very comfortable walking to resturants about a mile away.

John Hosea

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay the night before our safari to Kruger Park. Francois provides warm hospitality to all his guests. The rooms are very comfortable, the atmosphere of the lodge is very relaxed and welcoming, and Francois provides amazing meals for his guests. The location is very safe in a neighborhood. Francois will help with any details for your trip, especially transportation. I would not hesitate to stay at Outlook Lodge any time I pass through the Johannesburg area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tramd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
6.3 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 27 in Kempton Park
1,441 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,445 reviews
4.3 mi away
Outlook Lodge - O.R Tambo
Outlook Lodge - O.R Tambo
#105 of 225 in Greater Johannesburg
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House
2 mi away
Sleep Eezy B&B
Sleep Eezy B&B
#3 of 42 in Benoni
100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Boutique Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Lodge Lakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Lodge Lakefield

Address: 1 Ambleside Avenue | Lakefield, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outlook Lodge Lakefield 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outlook Lodge offers great value for money with home from home comforts in a tranquil gated community. We cater for discerning travelers, professionals, avid safari enthusiasts and families alike.Originally established as an overnight stop for guests embarking on safari with us, it now boasts a 4 star grading and confidently claims to surpass international standards, maintaining the highest possible levels of professionalism, hygiene and comfort.The rooms are tastefully furnished to celebrate South Africa's wonderful diversity of wildlife and spectacular landscapes. Breakfast is a scrumptious affair, while lunch and dinner is served on request at minimal extra charge. Special dietary requirements are catered for.Being right next to a golf course and within 5 minutes' walk from a gym and the Korsman Bird Sanctuary offers our guests activity on our doorstep. Day excursions to explore all that Gauteng has to offer can be booked through the lodge.We have been operating safaris to the Kruger National Park since 1998 and specialize in this region of South Africa. All safaris are conducted by professional safari guides employed by ourselves. You will deal with us personally and safaris generally leave from the Outlook Lodge. Options vary from budget camping to luxury lodge safaris.We are situated about 15 minutes' drive from Johannesburg's OR Tambo airport and offer transfers to and from the airport by prior arrangement at a minimal charge.We look forward to meeting you!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Outlook Lodge Lakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Lodge Lakefield Benoni, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing