We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, relaxing place to stay”

Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great place to start or end your trip as located near to OT airport.

Clean rooms and shared kitchen. Great bar area with flat screen tv and pool. The owners are really helpful and can arrange tours into Jo'burg and Soweto.

Great selection of books and DVD s to watch if you are just wanting to chill out.

Would have been 5 star review but they were having internet problems when we stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

This place is great if you are going to/coming from the airport. The rooms are nice and the living room and outdoor area is very friendly and welcoming. The lodge isn't located near any attractions so you will need a car to get anywhere. There is a restaurant, small store, and ATM a 5 minute walk away however.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is a fantastic backpackers for those who are staying a few days in Jo'burg, but even better for those going to/from the airport and on safari. The airport is close & Patrick arranges affordable transport. If you are going to Kruger, you are often last to be picked up & first to be dropped off, which can save over 3 hours in the car (each way)! There are a few places to eat nearby & I felt safe in the area and in the house. The rooms were clean, outside area is great (bar, pool table, pool), & Patrick is so friendly & such a great host. I stayed here three different times in the last month & would stay there again in a heart beat...thanks, Patrick!

Room Tip: I loved having the cabin in the back...it was nice and quiet & I wasn't bothered by any othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevnedCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed here during December 2009. They provide pick-up for a nominal cost. The dorms and the rooms are spacy, neat, clean and the service is good as well. The pool and the bar outside are a great advantage. The TV room and collection of movies does not let you get bored. Patrick the owner is very helpful. Recommend to anyone looking for backpacker budget accommodation Jo'burg. Simply one of the best backpacker lodges I have been to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aravind17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed there for the last night in southern africa. This place was one of the best backpackers I've ever stayed! Patric was very nice. I booked for the dorm, but he upgraded the room so I could stay in a big room with two beds alone:) I was tired from my 2-week trip, so I was so happy to have my own room to relax. the place was very clean and people staying there were also nice. and i worried about the safety, but no needed! it was safe enough to walk around alone. if i have chance to visit Jo'burg, i would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaaa113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We came to South Africa to do a safari and relax a bit while on our 1 yr. world tour. We stayed at Mbizi and loved it! Jo'burg isn't the most beautiful place, but Mbizi was like getting away for a bit and staying with a friend. Patrick, the owner was awesome! He had us picked up right from the airport (great price, cheaper than a taxi) let us relax (no hassle, never bugs you while you're there) and set up our 3 day safari in Kruger park, which was amazing! He stored our luggage for us while we were gone for 3 days, and when we got back we stayed another night there, and then hung out the next day and he took us back to the airport. The house is big, rooms are clean and comfy! Heating blankets on the beds in winter are awesome! There is a "man cave" in the backyard which was great, and you can do laundry there for about 40 rand a load, which we thought was good. All and all, it's affordable, clean, comfy, and the perfect option for Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

There's not much to do around this place, but very convienient because it has a gas station 2 min walk away with ATM and a huge supermarket about 15 min walk and its safe to walk over there.
Patrick arranged a very affordable pick up from the airport, also helped me book and arrange a tour around Jo'burg, Kruger Park and my Baz Bus!
The house has a pool with a big garden and sunbeds, bar, big kitchen with free coffee and tea and basic breakfast, pool table, if you haven't gone to the store you could order pizza and get it delivered. Very good size lounge with TV and an excellent DVD collection!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amixtika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Birchwood Hotel
Birchwood Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boksburg
690 reviews
1.5 mi away
Europrime Hotel
Europrime Hotel
#5 of 6 in Boksburg
97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Silverbirch at Birchwood
0.5 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
1.0 mi away
Europrime Guest House
Europrime Guest House
#4 of 28 in Boksburg
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbizi Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Address: 288 Trichardts Road | Parkdene, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Boksburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Boksburg
Price Range: £14 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mbizi Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing