We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like staying with a good friend!”

Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very convenient location close to OR Tambo. Very clean rooms and facilities! Patrick is an awesome host and treats you as a friend coming to visit more than a paying guest. It was chilly that evening and he already had gone in and put electric blankets on the mattresses for us so we would be sure to stay warm. overall a VERY enjoyable experience. Quiet and Quaint.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed during 3 night during my vacation in Johannesburg in Mbizi Backpackers. Mbizi looks like more a homestay, Patrick the host is friendly and easy going person (it was very pleasant to take some bear with him at the bar !).
There are a large Kitchen and large garden with swimming pool (this garden is good to relax).
This place is very friendly, and it s very easy to met new people and talk.

- Location : close from the airport. If you want visited Jo burg from Mbizi is better to have a car however the gautrain station is not far and you can use tour bus (pick up at Mbizi).
The location is in a safety area, some restaurant are 10 minutes by walk from Mbizi.
- Price : not expensive
- Room / bath room : like your room.

Conclusion : i advice to you to go there

Regis

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 581Reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great place to start or end your trip as located near to OT airport.

Clean rooms and shared kitchen. Great bar area with flat screen tv and pool. The owners are really helpful and can arrange tours into Jo'burg and Soweto.

Great selection of books and DVD s to watch if you are just wanting to chill out.

Would have been 5 star review but they were having internet problems when we stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This place is great if you are going to/coming from the airport. The rooms are nice and the living room and outdoor area is very friendly and welcoming. The lodge isn't located near any attractions so you will need a car to get anywhere. There is a restaurant, small store, and ATM a 5 minute walk away however.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is a fantastic backpackers for those who are staying a few days in Jo'burg, but even better for those going to/from the airport and on safari. The airport is close & Patrick arranges affordable transport. If you are going to Kruger, you are often last to be picked up & first to be dropped off, which can save over 3 hours in the car (each way)! There are a few places to eat nearby & I felt safe in the area and in the house. The rooms were clean, outside area is great (bar, pool table, pool), & Patrick is so friendly & such a great host. I stayed here three different times in the last month & would stay there again in a heart beat...thanks, Patrick!

Room Tip: I loved having the cabin in the back...it was nice and quiet & I wasn't bothered by any othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevnedCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed here during December 2009. They provide pick-up for a nominal cost. The dorms and the rooms are spacy, neat, clean and the service is good as well. The pool and the bar outside are a great advantage. The TV room and collection of movies does not let you get bored. Patrick the owner is very helpful. Recommend to anyone looking for backpacker budget accommodation Jo'burg. Simply one of the best backpacker lodges I have been to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aravind17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed there for the last night in southern africa. This place was one of the best backpackers I've ever stayed! Patric was very nice. I booked for the dorm, but he upgraded the room so I could stay in a big room with two beds alone:) I was tired from my 2-week trip, so I was so happy to have my own room to relax. the place was very clean and people staying there were also nice. and i worried about the safety, but no needed! it was safe enough to walk around alone. if i have chance to visit Jo'burg, i would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaaa113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boksburg
12.4 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#3 of 121 in Johannesburg
73 reviews
4.0 mi away
Birchwood Hotel
Birchwood Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boksburg
670 reviews
4.0 mi away
Europrime Hotel
Europrime Hotel
#5 of 6 in Boksburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
4.1 mi away
Silverbirch at Birchwood
2.9 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbizi Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Address: 288 Trichardts Road | Parkdene, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Boksburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Boksburg
Price Range: £19 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mbizi Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing