We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect!!!”

Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“perfect!!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

this hostel has it all. the rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are very comfy. the kitchen is clean and spacious to cook your own food. the tv-area has nice sofa's and a lot of dvd's to chill. the swimming pool is big and is surrounded by a nice garden with a large bar with also a big screen tv. the owner Patrick is just great, he helps you with everything you want!! very nice place!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blade29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    14
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
23
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The first thing you'll notice at this place is that its not like your typical backpackers. Its more like a homestay. Its got a lovely garden at the back, swimming pool and believe it or not, a sports bar where you can catch all the sporting action. The owner Patrick takes special care to put you at ease. He loves his sports, especially cricket, and we had a lovely time discussing the ongoing India-South Africa cricket series with him. He is very forthcoming in his recommendations about things to do in Johannesburg and ensures that you are well taken care of. Though this place is slightly more expensive compared to other backpackers in Joburg, its completely worth it. We had a splendid time here and ended up making many new friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhilesh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Mbizi over a 2 week period, we used it as a base for travel to Kruger and Vic falls and it was just like staying at a friends (Patrick's) house.
He arranged all of our airport transfers and was only too happy to answer any questions or organize anything we required. He allowed us to leave luggage behind whilst we were away at no cost and security was no problem.There is a wide range of DVD's to watch and books to read at no cost, the bar has cable TV and a pool table. There is tea, coffee, toast and spreads available included in the price but if you require more then BYO.
Its handy to a shop and a restaurant but not much else of interest so its more a base than a destination.
Patrick is a great host and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Findley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

My fiancée and I stayed over at Mbizi's for a night on our honeymoon while transiting from Kruger to Mozambique, flying through Jo'berg. Patrick arranged for a driver to meet us and drop us off in the morning at the airport and set us up with a washer for our clothes. We chatted with him at the bar over beers after we arrived and then went to a great pizza joint that he recommended .

Patrick is a great guy, his hostel is more like a home as others have said and I would definitely recommend this hostel to others! Plus he’s putting in more villas at the end of the garden and that pool looked quite nice and I am sure it is in warmer months!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg_H_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Patrick runs as owner, manager and barman. He is the only "staff" onsite at night so if he goes off to the pub there is no one around to great guests (we did it for him) and if the power fuse goes, locate the box and fix it yourself. Having said that it is a simple house to stay over for a couple of days, it was good for us as it is near the airport and we wanted to drive to the Krugger the next morning and it is on the East side of town.
It was quite empty when we were there. But the shared living space is nice place to chat to other quests. There is a bar with a pool table in it that wasnt open when we were there but it seems pretty nice.
We stayed in a double ensuite room. Good shower, decent size room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendrisio, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at Mbizi on our first night of our honeymoon before moving on to Enkosini wildlife sanctuary! We were met at the airport by Mbizi's owner, Patrick, who is the most charming, hospitable and funny guy, who loves his cricket..!
We stayed in the double-en-suite, which I have to say was spotlessly clean and cosy. I would just like to say that it was winter in J'burg and rather cold, so to be told that there were electric blankets on the bed was just wonderful..!
There is wifi and internet acess, a washing machine and tumble drier ( which we took full advantage of after returning back from 2 weeks at the wildlife sanctuary)! A wonderfully large lounge, with an uncountable amount of DVD's, videos and books. A very comfortable and inviting bar with BBQ outside in the garden, with pool table and Sky t.v and a fridge stocked with all the best beers from around the world! For me, the perfect setting to be watching next years 2010 World Cup. I say perfect because there is also a huge pool in the garden along side the BBQ and bar .....!
During our trip to South Africa we stayed at Mbizi twice. It is extremely convenient for the airport, with Patrick arranging all pick up's and drop off's and at a very competative rate. Patrick is always available, whether it be calling on your behalf for a local take away, offering advise on things to see and places to go, he was a great host and made our stay a comfortable and relaxing one.
Thanks Patrick and sorry it has taken me sooooo long since out stay to write this review.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henson_emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We were promptly picked up at the airport by Nicholas and driven speedily to our backpackers. The room was spotless, although a little dark and decor left a little to be desired. It has a laid back bar where stories are shared among fellow travellers. Patrick, the owner, serves a good Springbok shot! He is full of chat and knows how to tell a tall tale!
Overall this place was perfect for a cheap night in Joburg and a great location to get and from the airport. There is also a great little restaurant just down the road, which is safe to walk to, called the Pelican. The food is tasty and service is faultless.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iseultfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boksburg
4.0 mi away
Birchwood Hotel
Birchwood Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boksburg
603 reviews
2.8 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
12.3 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#1 of 111 in Johannesburg
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
24 on Vrey Boutique Hotel
24 on Vrey Boutique Hotel
#3 of 28 in Boksburg
84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Europrime Guest House
Europrime Guest House
#4 of 28 in Boksburg
120 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbizi Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbizi Backpackers Lodge

Property: Mbizi Backpackers Lodge
Address: 288 Trichardts Road | Parkdene, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Boksburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Boksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mbizi Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing