We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were only staying for 1 night as a stopover en route to Victoria Falls so wanted something near the airport. From the start the staff were really helpful, allowing us to check in rididulously early and going out of their way to make us welcome. It was unusally cold so trying to keep warm was a bit of a challenge but there is a great log fire in the dining room so we spent lots of time huddled around that. The room was comfortable - ours looked out over the perimeter wall but we still had a terrace with tables & chairs.

When we were there it was extremely quiet so never really saw anyone else. The restaurant was closed for dinner so rather than go out we ordered in pizza from a menu provided by reception - it arrived nearly an hour later and was stone cold (not the hotel's fault) so definitely wouldn't recommend this option. The reception staff let us warm it up in their microvawe so had a warm but very soggy dinner! Had lunch in the hotel restaurant and unfortunately we were extremely disappointed - the only bad meal we've ever had in over 20 visits to South Africa. Maybe it was the chef's day off as breakfast the next day was very good. The staff were all really excellent and should we need a quick stopover again near the airport then this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Courtyard view rooms have a very nice outlook.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have stayed here frequently for the last year or so, have had guests stay here and have had a conference here.
It is without doubt, the best value for money in the 4 star market.
The staff are wonderful, they really go out of their way to help in any request. The rooms are great, excellent beds and furnishings, nice verandah, good wireless.
The shower is a bit small but has copious amounts of hot water and is not subject to random pressure changes!
The hotel is a good blend between the formality of a hotel and the friendliness / informality of a guest house.
It is is well positioned in a quiet suburb yet only 5 minutes to the airport and has a good shuttle service.
For the price / value there is nothing that comes close.

Room Tip: Halfway down the passage on the garden side is quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bizfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My name is Marc and I feel obligated to inform you of Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo where I stayed for 4 nights ...what a delight and outstanding service with amazing rooms which makes you feel you are right at home!!I truely recommend this Hotel to anyone who wishes to experience Luxury and Class!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc 1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Excellent stay very clean rooms excellent food what a pleasant place to stay home away from home.
Food was top class and and the service was just as great!! Its in a good location near the airport and near the shopping mall.
I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clinton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed at Afrique Boutique Hotel, this hotels quality of service is outstanding. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed at Afrique Boutique hotel for the period 5 March 2012 to 9 March 2012. I booked in on that Monday morning and felt welcome the moment I walked in. It felt just like home. Juanita showed me to my room and I could not believe how clean and perfect everything was. The room was ideal and could not ask for a better place to stay at.
I also made use of the Afri Cab taxi service, where I met the driver Dennis.
He took me to all my business appointments I had through the week and also picked me up from the airport when I arrived and took me to the airport on the last day.
After the flight I was not feeling like driving at all but luckily the hotel was so close to the airport.
Every evening I had dinner at the restaurant (part of the Hotel), and the food was top class.

My stay at Afrique Boutique hotel was hospitality at its best and i would reccomend it to anyone looking for a second HOME to stay at.

Thank you so much Afrique Boutique Hotel and staff.
You will see me soon.

Bernard

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I stayed at the Afrique Boutique Hotel with my wife and my grown-up daughter during a stop-iver in Johannesburg. We fist wondered where to stay and found the Afrique Boutique Hotel on the internet. It was an ideal choice! Cosy and clean rooms, pleasant service and a nice restaurant - what did we want more?

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itzi77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boksburg
5.0 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silverbirch at Birchwood
5.8 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Birchwood Hotel
Birchwood Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boksburg
642 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo

Address: 20 Asquith Road | Ravenswood, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Boksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Price Range: £59 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cape Dutch style building offering four star rooms with a combination of style and comfort, each with thier own private patio, surrounded by tranquil gardens with a relaxed atmosphere. Our restaurant, Cuisine Afrique offers an assortment of exquisite breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Afrique Boutique Hotel is a peaceful breakaway for the business and social traveller, located only 6.5km from Oliver Tambo International Airport and the Gautrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing