We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly placed bathroom door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Badly placed bathroom door”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The only problem that we did have with our room was that the bathroom door is a problem, in that to get to the toilet around the door is quite a mission. We did voice our concerns to one of the front desk ladies, and she did say that management was aware and looking into making some changes

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Fawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    75
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
70
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I had to service event at local convention centre, needed a bed for the late night calls, web-searched and came upon this accommodation.
room was fine, bathroom door very tight, fountain was very loud.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lenke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, and the food in the restaurant is outstanding. The only negative was that it is in a residential area, so if you don't have a vehicle it is a little inconvenient. But I walked to stores and did fine. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Very clean, modern, quiet, nice courtyard, very nice to have a patio with a table and two chairs on the courtyard. Bar and restaurant included. Car and driver available cheaper than taxi. Internet access. Great place to relax and if, needed, get some work done. The staff were extremely helpful. When I arrived, I didn't even have to check in; they simply showed me to my room. When my internet voucher ran out prematurely, they gave me two free ones. Very nice place. I would stay here again. The weather was bad so I didn't try out the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The nicest people on my trip. If you dont need a 5 star hotel but 5 start people this is the place. We spoke to Chris the owner about the challenges of the internet, the next morning he was on top of it and fixing not only connection challenges but offering the internet in a package. They will do anything for you. Van is at your request to drive you to some great places, leisure or work.
the only major downside is it is a bit outside of biz meeting areas but if you want to save some money, be treated like a family member this is the place. I would go back tomorrow if I could!
Every night you order your breakfast and made to order in the very nice small dining room.
Rooms are big and Chris and the staff are number 1. Love going to privately owned establishments. The stay could not be better!

Room Tip: go and enjoy! Just know that you are a 30 minute taxi to the sandton and other areas you may want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris0951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I travel a extensively for business purposes and a warm welcome and smile is always welcome! I return to this hotel because I know from previous visits that that is exactly what I would get.
Thanks for a home away from home and for the delicious suppers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elize16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were only staying for 1 night as a stopover en route to Victoria Falls so wanted something near the airport. From the start the staff were really helpful, allowing us to check in rididulously early and going out of their way to make us welcome. It was unusally cold so trying to keep warm was a bit of a challenge but there is a great log fire in the dining room so we spent lots of time huddled around that. The room was comfortable - ours looked out over the perimeter wall but we still had a terrace with tables & chairs.

When we were there it was extremely quiet so never really saw anyone else. The restaurant was closed for dinner so rather than go out we ordered in pizza from a menu provided by reception - it arrived nearly an hour later and was stone cold (not the hotel's fault) so definitely wouldn't recommend this option. The reception staff let us warm it up in their microvawe so had a warm but very soggy dinner! Had lunch in the hotel restaurant and unfortunately we were extremely disappointed - the only bad meal we've ever had in over 20 visits to South Africa. Maybe it was the chef's day off as breakfast the next day was very good. The staff were all really excellent and should we need a quick stopover again near the airport then this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Courtyard view rooms have a very nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boksburg
1.3 mi away
Silverbirch at Birchwood
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
5.0 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Birchwood Hotel
Birchwood Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Europrime Hotel
Europrime Hotel
#5 of 6 in Boksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo

Property: Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
Address: 20 Asquith Road | Ravenswood, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Boksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cape Dutch style building offering four star rooms with a combination of style and comfort, each with thier own private patio, surrounded by tranquil gardens with a relaxed atmosphere. Our restaurant, Cuisine Afrique offers an assortment of exquisite breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Afrique Boutique Hotel is a peaceful breakaway for the business and social traveller, located only 6.5km from Oliver Tambo International Airport and the Gautrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing