We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birchwood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Europrime Hotel(Boksburg)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mbizi Backpackers Lodge(Boksburg)(Great Value!)
US$33
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
225
267
172
43
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
267
172
43
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference venueconference facilitiesreception areahourly shuttleeast rand mallthe grillor tambo international airportclose to the airportenjoyed my stayexcellent serviceevery hourrooms are spaciousshopping mallshuttle servicehome away from homecartsgolf
Filter
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I can't say anything about the Birchwood as a pure hotel. As a conference venue it is excellent with small to large venues, attentive and friendly staff, great food (always important for the delegates) and good facilities. Book the Halal lunch for no other reason that Auntie Fatima makes great tasting food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear RoddyPayne,

Thank you for your review,

We are pleased that your conference experience was enjoyable and that our staff were to your liking. Please come back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is by far one of the most dreadful places I have stayed on this planet and it is only right that people get the chance to learn more about this “Hotel” before they book it. The complex is not in a very good part of Joburg, that being said what you get for your money is poor. The rooms are run down and are in need of serious renovation. It is a very tired set up and can only be described as a one star establishment. My Locks on the windows and doors didn’t work, The Aircon system didn’t work properly, the bathroom was not very hygienic and the kitchen cupboard doors were just about hanging on. Planes fly right over the site 500M up and if you are looking to use your PC beware there is NO wireless in the rooms and the “Wired” solution sometimes works but often doesn’t. Calls to the front desk illicit promises but no action, and the service/support is pretty awful as well. I travel throughout Africa and I am used to this continent and it’s normal standards – This place falls way below normal. There is an exceptional restaurant called the Grill on site with amazing steak options but what it is doing here is a mystery. My experience is not unique as my other colleagues found the same problems in rooms 6xx and 7xx. I am sure the “Manager” will be writing a response to this review, what they should actually do is get out there into the complex and open their eyes and fix the problems. Proper action is what is needed but somehow I don’t think things are going to change much as the management don’t engage their guests in person.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BR0WNTR0UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear BR0wNTr0UT,

Thank you for your review,

Your comments are of extreme concern to us. Your accommodation and dining with us was clearly below what we aim to maintain and more importantly, was deeply below your expectations.

Saying this, we would like to inform you that we are in the process of upgrading our room types as well as the facilities within them. Due to the size of our property and number of rooms available, unfortunately it would appear that the room given was a non-renovated one. Should you choose to utilise us for your next stay, we will do our utmost to ensure that an upgraded room is given to you in order that you experience our venue as you should. Regarding the internet, wireless internet is available on certain parts of the property. This perhaps, should have been better communicated. We are in the process of looking at ways to improve the footprint of the service however, this has not yet been confirmed. The wired connection being given for a non-compatible room, is simply unacceptable.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our Local Grill Restaurant.

We apologise for the hotel and it's facilities not meeting your expectations. We would like to invite you to send us your reservation number and details so that we can ensure a better room is allocated upon your next stay. Send your details to gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za. We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

The room was basic for that kind of hotel but clean and practical. The bathroom seemed like recently renovated and really nice. However as i was there in the heart of summer ( for SA) you can only sleep with aircon and that was so old and made a noise like a diesel truck! Unacceptable for 4 star hotel and conferance centre. The rooms need a touch that will create a better expirience.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Sophia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Sophia G

Thank you for your feedback,

We certainly apologise for the air conditioner in your room making noise and clearly needing maintenance. We would like to kindly request that you contact me directly via email with your reservation details in order that we can rectify the issue. Kindly email gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to thank your staff (Natalia & Liesel) for the wonderful and professional service they provided us when we were preparing the wedding. Not to mention the wedding day itself, from the smallest details everything was perfect as we dreamed of. Food, décor, desserts, waitresses, cleanliness etc. everything was just perfect. Even the honeymoon room and breakfast, we felt very special and the staff really treated us well. Our friends and family cannot stop talking about how well organize our wedding was and we give the credit to you two for providing us with the best service ever.

They treated us professionally and we are very proud of the level of customer service that they provided, it was at a highest level

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Sharon N,

Thank you for your feedback,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your wedding day at the Birchwood and wish you all the best for the future.


Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

spent there a few months, it's more of a parkade rather than a typical hotel.
Rooms 're wide and most of them equipped with a small kitchen, clean, and well kept, may be a bit cold in winter time but no major issue with it.
Safebox're available in every room but if you have anything really valuable leave it in the main safebox and ask receipt and shoot pics at it ... seen boxes removed from rooms.
Breakfast 's ok, there 's a littll gym and pool as well.
no major hassle with being close to airport ... there is a nice pub in the surroundings [hi flyerz]

would come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Leonardo R,

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. We hope to see you on our property again soon as even though you have informed that the hotel was satisfactory, we certainly have noted that your stay was far from perfect and we would like to rectify this. Should there have been any particular aspect of it that did not meet your expectations that you would like us to be aware of, please do not hesitate to email me on gregh@birchwoodhotel.co.za.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews