We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience”
Review of Birchwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birchwood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel for a workshop with other colleagues. Very convenient pickup every hour from the airport behind the Intercontinental Hotel. Located in a lot of acres - its very expansive. Hotel is bungalows only and nice. The rooms are very spacious and I had a microwave and refrigerator in the room. I had read about kitchenettes so I asked about those but was told they are rented out on a long term basis. My only concern as a single lady in the hotel was security. The doors were very basic and wooden without any reassuring bolts or reinforcement. I couldn't sleep the first night until 3 am as I listened to night sounds and watched the 2 doors on each side of the room and both directly leading to the outside. The rooms also don't feel very close to each other so I was concerned. I got used to the layout over the week and my stay was largely uneventful. The breakfast was okay but unchanged every single day.
Hotel shuttle goes to the mall hourly as well. One can also take the shuttle to the airport and then get on the Emperors Hotel shuttle to the casino, movies etc - nice environment. Staff are excellent.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chi_Chi2111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    211
    142
    37
    30
See reviews for
33
58
31
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I love this place, its very nice to stay in this Hotel, you will get free pick and drop off facility from Airport. near by shopping mall, surrounded by Good restaurants, all rooms are full of all basic needs. small kitchen and cutlery with microwave are available.

Room Tip: Its good for Family trip vacations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntokozo M, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Rajiv K

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at The Birchwood Hotel. We are pleased that your stay with us was pleasant. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a calm and peaceful hotel near to the Airport.
Friendly staff, good food. They have many restaurants at different locations in the hotel. Big conference facilities. Rooms are nice and clean. We stayed in a cottage style room which was large enough in size. They helped us hire a taxi to the Lion's park and Nelson Mandela square on decent rates.
The hotel is spread in a large area and they have carts for your pick and drop from the rooms, also a free shuttle to the airport..
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I would just like to thank you and your team for the excellent service we received on our wedding 22 February 2014.

When ever i had a question i got a quick response with all the info

On the day i did not have to worry about a single thing... everything was exactly as i requested it...(didnt even have to go and check up on you)

the food was the best ever and there were more than enough(guests loved it,and all said compliments to the chef)

Even when i lost a button on my dress you were able to fix it....

Sean and I would like to thank you from the bottom of our heart for making our day perfect :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolandi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Yolandi,

Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly pass on the feedback Natalia and are very pleased that your special day was as it should be.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My colleague and I attended a conference for 3 and half days on 28th Feb 2014.

The restaurant close to reception was good and the one on the other side (Kiewet) was also good.

The huge one close to the O.R. Tambo Conference room needs to be more organized.

The rate was good the rooms were good.

Room Tip: The place is huge! Get a room close to the restaurants & reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear MargiBenoni,

Thank you for completing our survey,

We are very pleased that your found our facilities pleasing and have noted your comments regarding the need for more organisation. We would like to strongly encourage you to elaborate further as to what did not meet your expectations in order that we can address it accordingly. Kindly contact our General Manager on lloydm@birchwoodhotel.co.za. We hope to hear to from you.

Kind Regards,
Greg Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Good staff, well-maintained grounds. The rooms are fine. A large place and close to shopping. We stayed there for a conference of over 300 participants and they handled the group well. The buffet food that was served was acceptable but it was still buffet food.

Room Tip: This is a large facility so plan to walk a distance. There are golf carts that circulate to help if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Shawbones,

Thank you for your review,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your accommodation and conference with us, and hope to see you again soon upon your next visit to South Africa. Thank you for choosing Birchwood.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazyview, Mpumalanga South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was due at the Birchwood Hotel to attend a conference, where I greeted by an array of friendly welcoming staff who dirested me in the right direction.

The conference venues were well maintained, whilst the teas, coffees and snacks lived up to expectation of such a venue.

I then inquired about over night accommodation from the reception staff, which staffs service can only be described as fantastic. (Please send your staff training officer to every other hotel in the area to give tips on how it should be done).

The rooms, although I read were supposedly old, were clean, neat & tidy and with fully functional air-conditioning. The beds are great, the complex security as good and the Grill restuarant was superb.

Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElephantHerd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear ElephantHerd2013,

Thank you for your review,

We are extremely pleased that your stay was enjoyed and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boksburg
0.1 mi away
Silverbirch at Birchwood
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
1.3 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Europrime Hotel
Europrime Hotel
#5 of 6 in Boksburg
90 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,013 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Hotel

Property: Birchwood Hotel
Address: Viewpoint Street | Bartlett, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Boksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre is South Africa's leading business-to-business conferencing facility, catering to hundreds of business travellers from all over the world each year. Over 17 years of experience in hospitality, and in understanding the needs of our guests, coupled with a location that is hard to beat, are the secrets to our success at the Birchwood Hotel. Added to our "success formula" is our staff who are highly trained and dedicated to exceeding the expectations of our guests. The Birchwood Hotel offers 665 accommodation rooms, 60 on-site venues, three restaurants, including a fine-dining steak-house, a café and wine bar for quick meals and drinks and our aviation bar, for relaxing after a hard day's business. Other facilities include the Mangwanani African Day Spa, a gym, pool and squash courts. We at the Birchwood Hotel pride ourselves on the exceptional service of our staff and their dedication to ensuring all our guests' needs and preferences are catered for. With our large range of venues and facilities which enables us to host any sized event, whether it be for two delegates or 3000 delegates, we guarantee the all-important personal touch, by ensuring flexibility and affordability for all event types and budgets. Let us at the Birchwood Hotel assist you with your next conference, banquet, product launch, exhibition, wedding or accommodation needs, because as Gauteng's premier hospitality hub we endeavour to make your occasion our occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Birchwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Boksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing