We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good conference facilities but.........” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birchwood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good conference facilities but.........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Birchwood hotel has some very good conference facilities that can accommodate groups of all sizes. However the hotel rooms themselves are somewhat lacking at least in the section I stayed in. The hotel itself looks like it was originally a motel with little bungalow style rooms off of roadways. In my room the shower was so close to the toilet you could not actually open the shower doors the whole way and had to squeeze through the gap. The back boor to my unit was bricked shut, so no green space for me and it was very near one of the centers where they serve breakfast. As such I was woken up in the very early hours every day by the staff shouting to each other and banging things around as they arrived an prepared breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kglowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    187
    129
    36
    30
See reviews for
32
54
26
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at the Birchwood for one night after flying in late. Took the shuttle from the airport (they have a little shuttle waiting room on the far side of the Intercontinental hotel at the airport), check in was easy, and the room was clean and adequate. I then took the shuttle back to the airport the next morning to pick up my rental car. Noticed quite a few airline personnel staying here as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntokozo M, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear R Q

Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. We are glad that we could meet your standards, and make your travelling experience easier. We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Natalia,

We would like to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the wonderful and beautiful set up and management of all our wedding needs.
We were blown away by the setting and decor in and outside of the venue.
The food was well prepared and people enjoyed it very much.
We've had so many compliments and people are still calling and congratulating us commenting on how stunning it was.Comments like the ICC in Durban is no comparison to the Birchwood say's a lot for the management and staff of Birchwood.

Krish,Pat,Sumi and the Bridal Couple Preneshen & Dashnee

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntokozo M, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Krish G

Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. We are glad that we could make your big day a success. This message will definitely be passed on to Natalia too. We hope to see you at The Birchwood again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel for a workshop with other colleagues. Very convenient pickup every hour from the airport behind the Intercontinental Hotel. Located in a lot of acres - its very expansive. Hotel is bungalows only and nice. The rooms are very spacious and I had a microwave and refrigerator in the room. I had read about kitchenettes so I asked about those but was told they are rented out on a long term basis. My only concern as a single lady in the hotel was security. The doors were very basic and wooden without any reassuring bolts or reinforcement. I couldn't sleep the first night until 3 am as I listened to night sounds and watched the 2 doors on each side of the room and both directly leading to the outside. The rooms also don't feel very close to each other so I was concerned. I got used to the layout over the week and my stay was largely uneventful. The breakfast was okay but unchanged every single day.
Hotel shuttle goes to the mall hourly as well. One can also take the shuttle to the airport and then get on the Emperors Hotel shuttle to the casino, movies etc - nice environment. Staff are excellent.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chi_Chi2111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I love this place, its very nice to stay in this Hotel, you will get free pick and drop off facility from Airport. near by shopping mall, surrounded by Good restaurants, all rooms are full of all basic needs. small kitchen and cutlery with microwave are available.

Room Tip: Its good for Family trip vacations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntokozo M, Public Relations Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Rajiv K

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at The Birchwood Hotel. We are pleased that your stay with us was pleasant. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a calm and peaceful hotel near to the Airport.
Friendly staff, good food. They have many restaurants at different locations in the hotel. Big conference facilities. Rooms are nice and clean. We stayed in a cottage style room which was large enough in size. They helped us hire a taxi to the Lion's park and Nelson Mandela square on decent rates.
The hotel is spread in a large area and they have carts for your pick and drop from the rooms, also a free shuttle to the airport..
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I would just like to thank you and your team for the excellent service we received on our wedding 22 February 2014.

When ever i had a question i got a quick response with all the info

On the day i did not have to worry about a single thing... everything was exactly as i requested it...(didnt even have to go and check up on you)

the food was the best ever and there were more than enough(guests loved it,and all said compliments to the chef)

Even when i lost a button on my dress you were able to fix it....

Sean and I would like to thank you from the bottom of our heart for making our day perfect :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolandi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Manager at Birchwood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Yolandi,

Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly pass on the feedback Natalia and are very pleased that your special day was as it should be.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boksburg
0.1 mi away
Silverbirch @ Birchwood
Silverbirch @ Birchwood
#2 of 6 in Boksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
3.1 mi away
Europrime Hotel
Europrime Hotel
#5 of 6 in Boksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
3.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Hotel

Property: Birchwood Hotel
Address: Viewpoint Street | Bartlett, Boksburg 1459, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Boksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Boksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre is South Africa's leading business-to-business conferencing facility, catering to hundreds of business travellers from all over the world each year. Over 17 years of experience in hospitality, and in understanding the needs of our guests, coupled with a location that is hard to beat, are the secrets to our success at the Birchwood Hotel. Added to our "success formula" is our staff who are highly trained and dedicated to exceeding the expectations of our guests. The Birchwood Hotel offers 665 accommodation rooms, 60 on-site venues, three restaurants, including a fine-dining steak-house, a café and wine bar for quick meals and drinks and our aviation bar, for relaxing after a hard day's business. Other facilities include the Mangwanani African Day Spa, a gym, pool and squash courts. We at the Birchwood Hotel pride ourselves on the exceptional service of our staff and their dedication to ensuring all our guests' needs and preferences are catered for. With our large range of venues and facilities which enables us to host any sized event, whether it be for two delegates or 3000 delegates, we guarantee the all-important personal touch, by ensuring flexibility and affordability for all event types and budgets. Let us at the Birchwood Hotel assist you with your next conference, banquet, product launch, exhibition, wedding or accommodation needs, because as Gauteng's premier hospitality hub we endeavour to make your occasion our occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Birchwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Boksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing