We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and intimate”
Review of La Campana - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Campana
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Comfy and intimate”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Intimate and upmarket restaurant. Strange location though, but perhaps this adds to the experience as it is "off the beaten track". Good menu. Great for couples or romantic evenings. If you need a venue for a special occasion in the Boksburg area, give this a bash.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacquesMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Medeteranian Bliss”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Excellent atmosphere , choose from bistro style dining to a quiet intimate dining experience inside the main restaurant.
The Mediterranean Menu is fantastic and the service top notch .
The Sunday Buffet is excellent and there are Kid's facilities outside to keep the little ones entertained
This is our 'Go To' local restaurant and has been for over 10 years

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank visZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best by far”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

If you told me I could choose any place to eat La Campana would win by a mile. Everything about it is wonderful, the staff, the food, the atmosphere and the owners. We have been going there for more than 20 years and the standards have remained tops. There rating should be 5 out of 5

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary_van_blerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food at a price...”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

My (recently shackled;)) husband and I celebrated our marriage with a dinner at La Campana, because we had always enjoyed the the food and service.

This time was no exception. The food was tasty and the serving staff professional, two important factors.

The down-sides are that the prices are extremely high and the eating areas are not well lit, so you cannot visually appreciate your food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaynieP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boksburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Deterred from returning”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This restaurant was one of the top places to eat in our area. We would go for a sumptuous Sunday Lunch or special dinner etc. We would always recommend a dinner there as the service and food was excellent and never had a complaint.
We recently had our Christmas dinner for 14 people at this restaurant and what a shock at the service AND the food. I know they were busy but there was not a manager or owner in sight, the waitress was unprofessional and it took almost a half hour for a drink when we managed to place an order. The food was overcooked and drenched in sauce to hide the fact and my kingklip was hard and dry and I ended up with diarrhea and terrible stomach cramps.
What happened to the management I don't know but I am not going back there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Campana also viewed

Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing