We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
Nearby Hotels
Europrime Hotel(Boksburg)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Towers Lodge(Germiston)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
SUN1 Benoni(Benoni)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Birchwood Hotel(Boksburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
51
176
121
49
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
176
121
49
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleclose to the airportjohannesburg airportconvenient hotelbit datedplanes flyshuttle servicesmall poolbuffet breakfaststayed here for one nightlate checknice breakfastshort staybetween flightseast rand mallwi figym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at the Airport Grand in June 2011 because our Flight could not leave because of an Ash Cloud. We stayed at the Hotel for a night, the room was fine. Our room was clean and the dinner was ok. For Breakfast we had a pretty small Box to Go. Internet Access was pretty expensive which was pretty annoying due to our situation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marvellous C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your response and comments, albeit some 2 x years late.
We have attended to most of your issues and trust that when your flight finally got away you had a good holiday.
Yours sincerely
Jane Skipsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very efficient and friendly check in (important after a long flight from Europe), clean and well equipped room, good bed, a bar that stays open through the night, excellent breakfast. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Joao G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marvellous C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Jane Skipsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

booked the Airport Grand for an overnight transit at OR Tambo. Though the hotel is quite some distance away from the airport, there is nevertheless a free shuttle from the hotel which takes you to the hotel in less than 10 mins.

the room was small but adequate and clean. the toilet and toiletries were good.

Ordered room service and it arrived within minutes.

staff courteous.

for the price i paid for this hotel, I was more than satisfied with what I got.

the noise from planes can be loud and annoying at first, but you soon get used to it.

would use again if on transit in jo'burg.

Room Tip: beware if you have to use free shuttle service after midnight. the service is offered only between 6 a.m and 12 a.m. so if you have to catch a flight between midnight and 6 a.m, you will have to take a taxi and that cost me 30 USD!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viper555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marvellous C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and our sincere apologies about the internet. We are busy changing over to fibre optics at the moment and have had some down-time. We trust that on your next visit to our hotel, you will see a huge difference.
Your sincerely
Jane Skipsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

After a long trans-Atlantic flight our group of 6 was warmly welcomed and quickly assigned rooms that were spotless, well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom was large, with both a bath tub and shower. The dining room offered a long and varied buffet as well as a menu - all our choices were delicious. Since we were leaving before the dining room opened for breakfast, the staff packed a large take-out for us, including fruit, juice, yogurt and fresh muffins. We arrived at the airport well fed. The shuttle was easy and timely in transporting us both to the hotel and back to the airport. In short, I hope to return to The Airport Grand for a vacation trip and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: All 3 of our rooms were quiet, clean and well appointed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrasse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marvellous C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We are absolutely delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the lovely comments - I will share them with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Airport Grand when your schedule next permits.
Sincerely
Jane Skipsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I was disapointed by my recent experience at the Grand Airport Hotel, SA. The hotel appeared old and run down, the internet was appaulling and the customer service is less then desirable. I would recommend investigating other hotels to stay at if requiring an airport 'stop over'.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marvellous C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

We have received the review you posted on Trip Advisor and would like to apologise most sincerely that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Thank you
Jane Skipsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews