We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
57
184
125
49
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
184
125
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleclose to the airportconvenient hotelevery half hourbit datedplanes flyjohannesburg airportdinner buffetstayed one nightsmall poolshuttle servicelate checknice breakfastbetween flightswi fishort stayshopping centre
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A lovely hotel in more ways than one...great staff especially front desk, the breakfast chef and Chef David. Vivian the guest relations manager tried to address my issues but to no avail. When booking through he IHG website be patient and allow the booking to go through or you will get a nasty shock when you arrive. Subsequent calls to the IHG guest relations number made little difference. An unpleasant experience to be honest.

Service from the kitchen was rather slow on both nights but the visit to my table by Chef David made up for that.

Be aware that this hotel is not called the Airport hotel for nothing. The property is right in the path of landing aircraft...very low over the hotel, hence the reason for double glazed windows.

The rooms are great with every need catered for including an iron and an ironing board in each room.

Room Tip: Don't book a room next to the lift...very noisy lift bell
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 253Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola-HIJA, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Good Afternoon 253Roger

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, I was disappointed to hear that you experienced some issues when booking via IHG and we have certainly addressed this issue with them

I am however delighted that you found the hotel to be both comfortable and convenient and that you experienced good service from our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed twice before and after connecting flights. Standard but good for the purposes. Restaurant surprisingly nice food and served by friendly staff. Rooms small but adequate, they could update showers. A/c not working in our room but too tired to have it sorted out. Airport shuttle great.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NZambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola-HIJA, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Good Day NZambia

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your return stay with us and that the rooms met your expectations.

I was however not pleased to hear that you experienced some issues with the A/C during your stay, and I have addressed this with the relevant departments.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Nicola Noble - Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Clean rooms but the architecture of up and down stairs was a little interesting. Staff was good. Shuttle service was ok from airport. Told not walk the one block to McDonalds for safety reasons unless we left our cell phones and jewelry - so you can be the judge of how safe this area really is.

Room Tip: Try the Intercontinental Hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yellowpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola-HIJA, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Good Afternoon yellowpixels

Thank you for taking the time to send feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Johannesburg airport

I was pleased to hear that you experienced good service from our staff and found the rooms to be comfortable.

Crime is an unfortunate reality in South Africa, regardless of whether you are in the heart of Sandton or in Boksburg. We take our guest's safety very seriously and it would be irresponsible if our team did not advise you against walking the 1 kilometre to MacDonalds, we do apologize if this made you feel that the area was not safe.

Kind Regards
Nicola Noble - Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We have an overnight layover and wanted to stay near the airport. This is very convenient. Regular shuttle service between here and the airport and to a large mall with plenty of restaurants to choose from. There is a good restaurant at the hotel, pool and small gym. This has been perfect for what we were looking for.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mjmbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola-HIJA, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Good Day mjmbkk.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport.

I was delighted to hear that you found the hotel
both convenient and comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Nicola Noble
Sales and Marketing Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The hotel is about 10kms from airport in an odd location. The hotel itself seems to be an old property which was touched up , but definitely not up to a fresh standard. For 1 night , I managed , even though the airconditioning was not very effective . I think there will be better hotels closer for an over night stay

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ZMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola-HIJA, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Good Day ZMR

Thank you for taking the time to send feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport.

I was disappointed to hear that the hotel
did not meet your expectations, and I will pass along your comments to the relevant teams.

Kind Regards
Nicola Noble - Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews