We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam, Janice & Stan (England) October 2012”
Review of 3 Brothers B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
3 Brothers B&B
Ranked #17 of 33 Edenvale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Great spacious rooms with luxurious beds and a really friendly atmosphere, Ernst & Maggie made us feel so welcome. Excellent value for money, hope we will be able to visit them again in the future. Only 10 to 15 minutes from the airport so easy to get to after a long flight. Safe & secure enviroment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We used 3 Brothers as a hub while traveling around Africa and could not have chosen a better place. Ernst met us at the airport three times and dropped us off each time making our transfers seamless. As our hosts, Ernst, Maggie and their boys were particularly welcoming, accomodating and helpful. The rooms were clean, with thoughtful touches such as hot water bottles on cold nights; soaps, biscottis and a selfserve coffee/tea area; as well as the wonderful breakfasts prepared by Maggie and the free wireless was invaluable for checking on our lost luggage. The garden and pool area were also designed to meet the needs of guests of all ages. By the end of our multiple visits we felt we'd become part of the 3 Brothers family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane10824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Value for money +++

Very nice rooms and beds
Clean and modern
Welcoming atmosfeer

Shower needs some work
Did not have closet


  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon5588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I had two fabulous stays at 3 Brothers in 2011. The service was incredible, the rooms were comfortable, the grounds were lovely, and the food was great. What else can one ask for? Ernest and Maggie created a welcoming atmosphere, and Ernest came out to the airport very late at night to pick me up from a late flight. The place is a bit confusing to find, though. I got lost driving there myself once. But it is treasure when you do get there. And so convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The 3 Brothers is a family run B&B close to the international airport. The owners make you feel welcome. A pool and jacuzzi in the nice garden are available. I think it's the ideal place for people who don't want to stay in the anonymous atmosphere of a hotel. On my next business trip to Joburg I will stay again at the 3 Brothers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My family primarily visited Mozambique in May 2011, but stayed 3 nights + 3 nights at 3 Brothers since Jo'burg was our final flight destination.

Amazing hospitality from Ernest and Maggie! Clean, comfortable rooms in a pleasant, quiet, residential area. Pool and jacuzzi, bar and pleanty of seating in the garden. The BBQ dinners was a perfect way to socialise and the wine flowed freely. Ask for the potato gratin with the grilled meat, it's delicious/outstanding!

We wanted to do a safari trip too, but didn't have time for a minimum 3 day trip to the Kruger Park. Instead Ernest suggested that we may go to Pilanesberg National Park with him. Pilanesberg is much closer to Jo'burg than Kruger, and you get all the top 5 there also. This whole-day excursion to Pilanesberg was gorgeous, with Ernest acting as a guide and driver.

As a whole, this B&B is a bargain and I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMightyLaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed on two separate occassions at 3 Brothers and both times were excellent. The B&B has a pool and an outside bar, with some good restaurants nearby, making it a nice place to hang out without heading to the centre of town. The rooms themselves are really good - very clean, comfy and spacious - although the Mexican Room does have an uncovered skylight meaning the room is bathed in light from early morning onwards - not great if you are planning a sleep in!

Excellent breakfast each morning and the owners are fantastic - really friendly, knowledgeable and for very reasonable prices Ernest is happy to drive you where you need to go in and around Johannesburg and be your tour guide. Overall one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in - if I am ever in Joburg again, I would definitely return there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edenvale hotels
3.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
2.4 mi away
5th Avenue Guest House
5th Avenue Guest House
#6 of 33 in Edenvale
48 reviews
2.6 mi away
Golfer's Lodge
Golfer's Lodge
#4 of 33 in Edenvale
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Glendower View Guest House
Glendower View Guest House
#2 of 33 in Edenvale
97 reviews
3.4 mi away
Breena BnB Guest House
Breena BnB Guest House
#3 of 33 in Edenvale
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Louhallas Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 33 in Edenvale
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Brothers B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Brothers B&B

Address: 4 Katy Avenue, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Edenvale
Price Range: £42 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 Brothers B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your 3 Brothers B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing