We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five days in heaven”

5th Avenue Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
5th Avenue Guest House
Ranked #6 of 31 Edenvale B&B and Inns
Mbabane, Swaziland
1 review
“Five days in heaven”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

its indeed kinda magic! Its home away from home. I actually do not regret spending my honey moon here, We will definitely come every month-end for outing. Excellent customer care, and excellent overall services.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricJustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend two nights at this wonderful guest house. The location was only average to be honest but the moment you enter the gates your treated like royalty. Never in my years of travel have I ever experienced customer service like this. Every one of the staff members are committed to you from the moment you check in to the time you leave. They go out of their way and to make you feel like your family members when staying at this place.

My room was a nice open room, comfortable bed and pleasant decor. The hot cooked breakfast was great and they go the extra step by cooking fresh muffins and serving them direct to you. A on site bar that operates with a honesty system and a huge range of beers and spirits at cheap prices. No price rip offs that i could see.

The owner, Erica is so lovely she just engages the customer and is actually interested in your life. She is extremely passionate about her property and delights in showing you all that it has. A personal tour so to speak.

We were here for business and didnt have the opportunity to see the sights or visit a reserve or park. Tours are available at the guest house and one of the managers is actually a qualified guide for the reserves and animal parks. So you can take them up on the opportunity if you have time.

I can recommend a local restauarant called Farenheit at Edenvale. Top class food at great prices and a real ambiance. Our host drove us there and picked us up after we finished our meal. We really enjoyed our night.

Overall, this place is a great base to start your adventures. You will need a car I would think but it is only 20 minutes from the airport and in a reasonably safe area of a city that has a reputation for violent crime. An oasis or hidden gem. Love to come back.

Room Tip: Get the the large rooms near the office area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parraboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I highly recommend a stay at the 5th Avenue Guest House whether you are in town for business or pleasure. Erica and her lovely staff go out of their way to make you feel welcomed, comfortable and at home!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaishree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Excellent service and friendliness by all staff involved ...close to all major highways, airport and major shopping malls.
Will recommend fifth street guest house to anyone who need a place to stay for a night or as long as they want ... you always feel welcome ...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Manny & Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mutare, Zimbabwe
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Erica, Doug and staff. We wish to say a big thankyou for everything while my dad Bert was in Linksfield hospital and our stay after he was discharged. You are Angels in the hospitality field. Your Guest House is beautiful. I will recommend anyone to come and see and stay by you.
You were like our family.
Love Dawn and Bert

Room Tip: The rooms are all so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLUEEYES179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Thank you for the kindness and friendliness that you gave us during our visit! Nice people and good food and a lovely garden. A place to relax! It was easy for us to get to Johannesburg to go shopping. Transfer service worked really well!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatuM408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbn
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2012

the staff were friendly and caring.i loved my stay there.the food was great and the service wonderful.thanks guys.

Room Tip: we stayed in the cottage,french style,own entrance and close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Severine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
2.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
3.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
318 reviews
5.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
President Lodge
President Lodge
#1 of 31 in Edenvale
294 reviews
2.4 mi away
Breena BnB Guest House
Breena BnB Guest House
#2 of 31 in Edenvale
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golfer's Lodge
Golfer's Lodge
#4 of 31 in Edenvale
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Avenue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Guest House

Property: 5th Avenue Guest House
Address: 67 5th Avenue, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 5th Avenue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Edenvale, 10 km’s from OR Tambo International Airport within range of main freeways, shopping centre, golf courses, casinos, lion and rhino parks as well as other tourist attractions is a magical and serene haven - 5th Avenue Guest House. This warm, professional, friendly environment is conveniently situated for business people, tourists, and those looking for a romantic weekend or leisure breakaway.Come and relax and rejuvenate yourself in our peaceful and tranquil rooms and gardens - right on the doorstep of your business or leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 5th Avenue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing