We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sufficient for the situation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sufficient for the situation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Of course, staying here was about not leaving the airport. Getting to it meant being harassed by no less than three airport "porters" who suddenly stopped their voluntary "guiding" about a hundred feet from the lobby elevator and demanded money. That annoyance out of the way, we stood in line to check in which seemed to take longer than necessary. Pleasant otherwise. The room was of reasonably decent size although the bathroom was designed by an idiot. There is not way you can exit the shower without getting water all over the place. Otherwise, clean and functional. Dinner in the restaurant was bizarre. They offer spirits on the menu but cannot make me a martini. What? Plus, although our service was barely adequate and certainly not friendly, it was much better than the other patrons. Several just got up and left after trying to wave down the wait staff who seemed to have no interest in serving anyone anything. The next morning's breakfast in the same restaurant was a completely different experience. All very nice and nicely done. Nothing to write home about but it got us through.

Room Tip: We would have felt safer not on the main floor where the room's window opens onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your review - we will certainly consider the points you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    140
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
35
62
31
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

It's an airport hotel, so it's never going to be a beach resort. However, the rooms are relatively well made up (although the battery in our safe had run down). Nice atrium and outdoor pool area and a large bar. We did not get breakfast with our stay so can't comment on the food. 10min walk to the airport main terminal.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us - we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Some reviewers seem to have confused this Barbara Road City Lodge with the OR Tambu City Lodge right at the airport. I have stayed at both and they are both good hotels but for slightly different purposes. The one right at the airport is excellent if you are travelling up from the Cape and you are not planning to hire a car, and you are catching a plane early-ish the next day. The Barbara Road City lodge hotel is 5 km from the airport and is fine as a base for visiting family/ friends on the East Rand and can also be fine for catching a plane the next day BUT only if you hire a car. There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to the airport every hour for a cost of R 63 per person. The Barbara Road Hotel is fine if you have your own transport such as a hire car but be aware that it is situated in a rather dismal suburb on the side of a main highway and there are no reasonable shops, restaurants etc within walking distance apart from a Spur (?) restaurant about half a km away. I would not want to walk anywhere especially at night as my street-sense tells me the area is unsafe and I would stand a good chance of being robbed or mugged after dark and even in the day; please correct me, City Lodge, if this is a wrong perception. Staff are friendly and helpful; the hotel is not noisy despite close proximity to a busy highway; there are PCs for internet and e mail access at a reasonable charge; rather book online as the cost is considerably less than the rack rate charged if you just appear unannounced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murton-Plettenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for explaining the difference between our two City Lodges in the vicinity of the airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

After spending many hours from Mombasa to OR Tambo we 6 tired travelers booked in for an overnight stop en route to Namibia.
When it came to shower time NO HOT WATER !
Apparently the front office staff were aware of the problem when we booked in !
Now that is what I would call poor service !!!
Full rate was charged with a pathetic "sorry about that" offered by the front desk
Not acceptable !!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SpikeRumsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for this - we will look into this matter further on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edenvale hotels

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Attended a Management Conference in Joburg and spent my stay at the City Lodge I got to realise that the hotel, service and setup was similar to the others I had been to. That is an advantage if the service is good and consistant because no matter where you are if there is a City Lodge there you already know what to expect. For business yes but after all my private trips, it does not meet my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your comments - we do aim to be consistent in our service offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Walked some distance from the terminal to the hotel. Was an overnight stay enroute to Chobe. Neat and clean - as per all hotels a huge buffet breakfast was included. Only hotel on our trip where we had to pay for wifi

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamscone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us - hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

we missed our connecting flight to London and had to spend a night in Jo-burg. 2 hotels at the airport. intercon is $400 and this was $125. comfy, clean rooms. you do pay for wi-fi and breakfast extra, but overall not bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review - hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
2.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#45 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

Property: City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Address: 4 Sandvale Road | P O Box 8404, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in close proximity to the R24 airport freeway, the hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways with nearby restaurants and shops. A shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from the airport at a nominal fee. A fitness room, pool and meeting room are also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Airport Johannesburg Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Airport Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing