We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I think people are confused about this hotel - there are two City Lodges - one is literally attached to the airport which we tried to get in to but it was full so they referred us to this one which is about 10 mins drive by taxi (or you can get a shuttle from the airport). We found the rooms to be comfortable - nice soft pillows!!! Shower was great - had good pressure and decent sized cubicle. Coffee and tea in the room but no fridge, water or anything else. Breakfast was not the best I have had but it certainly was perfectly adequate with a good range of continental and cooked stuff.
The only downsides I would say about this hotel is that when next door room people shower, it is quite noisy in your room - but I would only use this hotel as a stopover or for business so usually you would be awake pretty early anyway. the other thing that annoyed me was that room service were knocking on our door at about 8am to clean the room - we couldn't find a Do not Disturb sign in the room and after a very late night, did not appreciate being woken unnecessarily.
Rates are very reasonable compared to other hotels so close to the airport.

Room Tip: You have to go through the passage of some of the ground floor rooms to get to your room - I wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thanks for your constructive comments. Sorry about the shower noise and the lack of a Do Not Disturb sign – we’ll be sure to check this out. Glad you liked our rates and hope to see you again if you can’t get a room at the airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    142
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
35
62
32
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

dont do it; insects in the bathroom, the shower cubical smelled like a sewer, the show water drained all over the floor,,,,. the restuarant menu was very poor, the waiters were v poor. just not good...

Room Tip: Dont do it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. As we pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms with excellent features and services, we will certainly look into your comments. Our coffee shop menu is limited, but it does provide a convenient alternative for guests who don’t want to order takeaways or go out to a restaurant to eat. It would be great if you gave us another chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edenvale hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently went to Africa and needed to stay at the airport in Johannesburg to catch a flight out the next day.
The people we were traveling with encouraged us to stay at a nice, high end hotel there but we didn't want to spend the money if we didn't need to. Our agent gave us great advice. The City Lodge is right there practically connected to the terminal. It was walking distance to the "high end" hotel where we had a beautiful meal but the nightly rate was $129 as opposed to the $300-$400 at the other place.
It was clean, had a hot shower and had comfortable beds; it was just what we needed and met all the needs for the trip so we could spend the money in other more prioritized places. Thanks City Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PonyMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We thank you for the wonderful review. We're glad that you enjoyed your meal with us as well as the standard of our rooms, and our competitive rates. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Hamburgo, RS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The rooms are clean the cozy, nice for a night stay due to the airport proximity. But be carefull, this is not the one INSIDE the OR Tambo airport!! It is 10 minutes by taxi (depending the traffic)...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for the review. We’re pleased to hear that you found our hotel comfortable and convenient for your needs. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Situated a short walk for the terminal, it's a welcome sight after a long haul flight. The checking in process was quick and efficient, with a free welcome drink available at reception.
The rooms are compact but very comfortable and it was nice to be able to soak in a bath after a long journey.
Drinks by the pool are pleasant and reasonably priced. The dinner menu is not very inspiring, but it's just a bite to eat.......
Breakfast was included for us and it was sumptuous - there was every possible thing that you could want and it was delicious.
Checking out was a breeze - there's screens with flight info in the foyer.
There is free wifi - but only for an hour and it is quite clunky.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Please note that as of January this year we increased the complimentary WiFi limit from 15 minutes to one hour per day. We do feel that we have improved this service, but will continue to upgrade this offering. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Most of the stay was excellent - clean room and bed. I always check the shower spray and your passed the test. We have been to hotels in the past where I have refused to stay in the room because of the black and horrid shower spray. It is this that causes legionnaires desease. I was disappointed with the half wardrobe, but I understand this hotel is for business men with a minimum of luggage, we had loads. There was a female on the reception desk that was a bit brusk and smileless - sorry not got her name. Rest of reception very helpful. Loved the "semi chef" on the bar in an evening he and his team were a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is several miles outside of the airport. So, you'll pay for a shuttle... per person... from and back to the airport. The hotel is in a pretty sketchy part of town... I did not feel safe.
There is no elevator. We had been traveling for weeks and had considerable luggage. Good luck with that! You will get help getting it up and down the stairs, but it is a hassle.
The rooms are miniscule. Even by airport standards. We had to open the window... it felt claustrophobic.
The food was pretty dismal. We had to have dinner there (there is no option). Breakfast is included... if you can get it. We had an early flight... so we had to BEG the management to let us have something prior to leaving on the shuttle (which only leaves at certain times)... we were starving, the food the night before had been awful.
All in all... DO NOT stay there. It is better to stay at the Gala Hotel that is ACTUALLY in the airport. We did that on our return. We're talking night and day between the two properties~! It is a little more expensive. But, taking the shuttle $$ into account, it is a much better deal, hands down!
Our trip was a combination of couple time and business... wish we could click on more than one, so I clicked business.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hortensia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for the review. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Please be aware that we do have a hotel located within the O R Tambo airport precinct – this may suit you better as it is within easy walking distance of the terminals. We will , however, look into all of the matters you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
2.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
0.2 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#43 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

Property: City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Address: 4 Sandvale Road | P O Box 8404, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in close proximity to the R24 airport freeway, the hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways with nearby restaurants and shops. A shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from the airport at a nominal fee. A fitness room, pool and meeting room are also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Airport Johannesburg Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Airport Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing