We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good Hotel that is well situated for business between Johannesburg City Centre and the Northern Suburbs. The hotel has good security and one can walk around its premises safely in the evenings. Staff are always willing to assist. The resturant cant breakfasts are good, supper I have found slow service and steaks not great

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JAL047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear JAL047,

Thank you for your posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased to hear that you felt safe whilst you were staying at the Protea Hotel Wanderers.

My sincerest apologies about the slow service that you experienced during your supper; the comment about the steak you had has been noted and I have also passed this feedback on to our Head Chef.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Natalie and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Protea Wanderers was a wonderful respite in the busy city of Johannesburg. My room was comfortable, quiet, and well-lit (a rarity in hotel rooms these days). Lux Transportation, the on-site transportation service, was on-time picking me up at the airport and generally concerned and accommodating in handling all my transportation needs, as well a reasonably priced. The food in the dining room was very good, and the staff was polite and helpful on every occasion. If you are not interested in a full breakfast, room service might be a better option, as the breakfast buffet is roughly US$18. It's quite extensive, and there is no other choice if you want just some cereal and juice or some other little bite.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that this hotel has a bad room. Mine was mid-way along on the hall on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Becky R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

I am so happy to hear that you chose to stay with us at the Protea Hotel Wanderers; situated on the green belt of Johannesburg it does feel like you are not quite in a busy city and is perfect for a break away.

Your lovely comments about the various facilities that the Hotel has to offer and the friendliness of our STAFF will surely be shared with the rest of the “TEAM” and we do hope to have you staying with us again in future!

Kind Regards

Natalie and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a room on the 5th floor, with a stunning view of Johannesburg. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
The room was a good size for a standard room, with great water pressure in the shower!
Room service was delicious.
We would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Tammy B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to pass your feedback on to the rest of the “Apple TEAM”.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel again in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards,

Natalie and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel offers everything one wants for an efficient business stay-over. I would definitely rate this as one of the better experiences within the Protea Hotel group, apart from dinner service in the restaurant which was truly disappointing. There was a delay in serving everyone at the table, resulting in cold food, no steak knifes were provided and the pepper sauce had gone missing. Unfortunately the red apple in my room had not been checked and was inedible, but there were plenty of fresh ones in the lobby...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Michael J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel here on Trip Advisor.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment that you and the other GUESTS at your table experienced during your meal in our “Big Apple” Restaurant. I will certainly give these service concerns that you have brought up the attention that it requires.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed some of the business facilities that the Hotel has to offer and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Johannesburg!

Kind Regards

Natalie and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Ticks all of the boxes that you would want as a business hotel. Efficient check-in and out, decent sized room, excellent wi-fi and a good bathroom and shower.

The gym in the basement is great.

I'd definately stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank comradestuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear comradestuart,

Thank you for posting your review of our Hotel here on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed some of the facilities that the Hotel has to offer and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Johannesburg!

Kind Regards

Natalie and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Second stay there now. Rooms are very comfortable with a separate bathroom and well set up with a desk for those who still need to get some work done at night. 500 mb free on wi-fi is a bonus. Staff are friendly too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tranchie-Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Tranchie-Tess,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel Wanderers again.

I am so pleased to hear that you had a great stay on your second visit to the Hotel. You have brilliantly summarised some of the services the hotel is proud to offer.

We look forward to having you as our GUEST again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Natalie and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I've stayed at PH Wanderers several times now, most recently last month when I was leading a group of university students to South Africa. The staff is always so kind and attentive, the restaurant food is delicious, and the rooms comfortable. Staying here is worth going a little out of the way. They will also help with tours while in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logansrun98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Logansrun98,

Thank you for posting your second review of our Hotel here on Trip Advisor!

We are continuously striving for excellence and I am so pleased to hear that we achieved this again on your return visit to the Protea Hotel Wanderers.

We have an incredible and passionate TEAM, who do their best to pay attention to every detail, from preparing delicious meals to ensuring that our well-appointed rooms are spotless.

We look forward to your next visit and to welcoming you back to the “Apple Hotel” in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards

Natalie and the Protea Hotel Wanderers TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illovo
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#30 of 66 in Johannesburg
177 reviews
1 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#28 of 66 in Johannesburg
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers

Address: Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2196, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Illovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Price Range: £50 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the prestigious suburb of Illovo, Sandton, the hotel is ideal for both the leisure and business traveller. A mere 4 minutes’ drive away, the M1 Freeway allows for easy access to all business centres, the OR Tambo International Airport and various other attractions the great city of Johannesburg has to offer. Venture into Sandton, Rosebank or the Melrose Arch precinct, which are minutes away and offer some of the finest shopping and dining experiences on the continent. Alternatively enjoy fine cuisine in our upmarket restaurant, relax on the hotel’s poolside sundeck, enjoy a cocktail in our 24 hour coffee bar and deli or make use of the in-house FIT gym. Accommodation consists of superbly appointed bedrooms, all equipped with separate bath and shower, an executive work desk & wireless internet access. Our distinguished conference facilities and executive boardrooms encourage performance and productivity. Careful attention to detail is a hallmark of this hotel, from the striking, elegant décor, immaculate service, supremely comfortable rooms, to the fresh red apple placed in our guest's room every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Illovo
Protea Wanderers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing