We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and quality food, secure haven in Jo'burg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Oban, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and quality food, secure haven in Jo'burg”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed for 3 days and found the hotel to be fairly well run with friendly staff. The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Although we did not get around to trying it out , the pool looked very inviting and the grounds were pleasant for an evening walk which we did each night. The Wanderers Club was available just next door, a 100 metre walk away where you could sample a good variety of meals either in the restaurant or the bar and prices were very reasonable. Staying at the hotel gives you temporary membership and those younger travellers could enjoy all the sports offered. The Rosebank and Sandton Malls are nearby and reception will organise a limo to take you there and back, safer than using a taxi from a stance! The only blot on the copybook happened one evening when we were relaxing in the room. My wife was having a bath and I was in a state of undress when there was a knock on the door and "Can we come in?" . I shouted "No" but 2 female staff members entered "looking for something in the room"!! So I had to ask them fairly forcibly to leave. This was the only thing to spoil an otherwise pleasant stay and was probably a one-off. Would reccommend to anyone and suggest you look out for the weekend deals on the Protea Hotels website to get the best rates.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacemaker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    214
    82
    22
    23
See reviews for
49
92
43
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We unfortunately only got to stay here for two nights while on a guided tour. This hotel was very trendy, clean, and comfortable. Our room exceeded all expectations. The bed was very plush and comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom was very spacious and had a separate tub/shower. The shower was fabulous with a rain shower head. The tub was clean and large. We would definitely stay here again...no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
----
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I slept so good in that heavenly bed. Good to sleep with open window (secure and quiet to backside wie view over the sports grounds. Parking is for free. Great location if you attend the sport grounds at the wanderers. Minor things do annoy a little: only one power outlet in exec room to use. the euro outlet wasn't working. Had to wait for my room even at 14:30 to get ready.

Restaurant has too heavy aircon. everybody is complaining but they can't control it. Nice to sit and dine at pool on warm nights. had bad luck on one evening with little attentive waiter and the dessert was still partly in its plastic housing. Food is nice but not overwhelming at all. Not even pepper&salt mills on the table which are common here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Generally I would describe Protea Hotel Wanderers as a quality hotel. The rooms are big, nicely set, with everything one can think of including internet, the food is fantastic- no complains at all and the swimming pool is the best thing I guess. It is a nice place to stay in , yet not too expensive. We booked it in easy click travel for a very moderate price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibiking1th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Stayed at the hotel thrice and it's been consistently good. While I rate the speed of service as being unacceptably slow, the rest of the facilities and the security and courtesy extended more than made up for things. The rooms were spacious, the food excellent and the staff courteous and helpful even though a bit slow to react.

Location wise it's not too far from the shopping yet gives you the feeling of isolation. You get access to several facilities at the Wanderers' club including tennis.

The Wanderers has everything to offer from a sporting perspective including the famous Wanderers' cricket ground not too far!

There were also an interesting menu items like Ostrich, escargot and crocodile.

Great ambience, peace and quite and yet not too far away from everything else with decent business support.

  • Liked — Surroundings and ambience
  • Disliked — A bit slow on room service and housekeeping
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Have stayed at the Protea Wanderers on 3 occasions (1 night, 1 night, 3 nights). On all occasions found the rooms clean, staff very helpful, food and drink excellent.
I have stayed in both the standard and deluxe rooms and the only real difference is that the standard rooms are a little on the small size and the deluxe rooms are very large.
The food and drink in the restaurant and bars is very good, and the food / wine menus are extensive. Probably my one complaint would be that the breakfast is a bit over priced.
The complex feels very secure and at no time did I feel wary of Johannesburg’s crime reputation.
The pool area is nicely presented, but the pool doesn’t seem to get much sun and on two of the times that I stayed here was pretty cold to use.
The location is slightly out of the way and unless you are in town for the cricket (which is 300 yards away) you will need to use taxis or a hire car. But it is only 10 minutes or so in a car from Santon for shopping and nightlife.
We got a really good deal (GBP 40 for a twin room) per night and at that price the hotel was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasider65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Provided you have the use of a car, and have business in the Northern suburbs of Johannesburg, this is the perfect location for a business trip. Close to the freeway, in a quiet area but close to several shopping centers and a few private gyms (there is none in the hotel). The room is large enough for one person with a week's clothing with a nice desk area for working. The beds are great and the rooms are clean enough. I've stayed here many times and have never had a bad bathroom, in fact they are one of the highlights. Showers with enough headroom for tall people and nice toiletries so you can lighten your luggage if you are happy with generic hotel lotions. Breakfast is fine but I usually go elsewhere for supper before coming back to the hotel. I would not stay here without a car or for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illovo
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
1.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
Address: Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2196, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Illovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the prestigious suburb of Illovo, Sandton, the hotel is ideal for both the leisure and business traveller. A mere 4 minutes’ drive away, the M1 Freeway allows for easy access to all business centres, the OR Tambo International Airport and various other attractions the great city of Johannesburg has to offer. Venture into Sandton, Rosebank or the Melrose Arch precinct, which are minutes away and offer some of the finest shopping and dining experiences on the continent. Alternatively enjoy fine cuisine in our upmarket restaurant, relax on the hotel’s poolside sundeck, enjoy a cocktail in our 24 hour coffee bar and deli or make use of the in-house FIT gym. Accommodation consists of superbly appointed bedrooms, all equipped with separate bath and shower, an executive work desk & wireless internet access. Our distinguished conference facilities and executive boardrooms encourage performance and productivity. Careful attention to detail is a hallmark of this hotel, from the striking, elegant décor, immaculate service, supremely comfortable rooms, to the fresh red apple placed in our guest's room every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Illovo
Protea Wanderers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing