We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious”

Amarcord Italian Food
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Illovo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
south africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We had one of the best calamari dishes:-) I substituted spinach instead of the risotto side and was very pleased with the freshness and combinations of tomato and capers with the calamari. Must also thank whomever made my capuccino- it was perfection, perfect consistency of milk to coffee and perfect temperature. Highly recommend this restaurant - all our friends were also very happy with their pasta meals as well as the salads.

Helpful?
Thank renellerampersad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
178 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have eaten at Amarcord at least 8 times and have always enjoyed our meals. The service has always been excellent, even when they were fully booked. Perhaps Jacqui was really unlucky. I love Vitello Tonnatto and Luciana's was too salty. There was no attitude when I told them that it was not 100%. Whatever they do, they do well. Risotto is another favourite, as is veal, whether it be with lemon, mushrooms or marsala. Minestrone is mind blowing according to my husband who is a big soup fan. Some of the Assaggi favourites are still on the menu which is wonderful news. Our daughter's all time favourite is the chocolate fondant. Amarcord does not disappoint. I'm particular about table seating so always tell them exactly where we like to sit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongitole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Amarcord, Owner at Amarcord Italian Food, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hi Bongitole,

Always a pleasure to have happy repeat clients. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our Osteria!

A presto,

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Tried this restaurant last night. What a SHOCKING experience! The waiters seemed untrained...there were 4 of us, only 3 were asked their drinks order before he disappeared...returned and gave the wrong drinks to each of us. The food was so disappointing. A salad for the table - limp, ungenerous, had to search for a tomato between mounds of lettuce.
The roast baby chicken, (a favourite from Assagi) was not crisp. The Veal Paillard was dry and tasteless, the zucchini chips and green beans were mingy.....feels like they were trying to charge the highest possible prices for the smallest possible quantities.
NEVER AGAIN!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario_Amarcord, Owner at Amarcord Italian Food, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Hi Jacqui,

I am most disappointed to read your review on our establishment. We proud ourselves in customer service and serving dishes using the freshest of ingredients. I assure you that this is not our usual standard of operation. Please contact me directly on +27112682287 or +27846037966 in order that we can discuss your bad experience and so I can have the opportunity to invite you back as my guests in order that we can try win you back as customers. However, I must just clarify a few comments, I take full responsibility with regards to the bad service that you received and will definitely take it up with your waiter, Newboy, who has been with us in our various restaurants for the past 8 years. With regards to the table salad your shared, we do not offer table salads, our salads are starter portions for 1 person, so yes, I agree, if shared between 4 people, it may well seem ungenerous. With regards to the baby chicken not being crispy, this is our standard way of serving our baby chickens, we will however be more then happy to make it crispy for a customer on request, We as a restaurant need to always try and balance the middle ground when serving dishes, some like it crispy and dryer whereas others like it less crispy and more juicy. The veal Paillard is Luciana's very own invention and we have not deviated from the recipe in more then 25 years so I am disappointed to hear you say its was dry and tasteless, it is one of our most popular dishes with repeat customers just coming back for that dish. All I can say is that I apologise and hope that you will take the time to give me a call directly and give me a chance to invite you back in order that you can leave as satisfied and hopefully repeat clients. Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in Johannesburg”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is the first review I have ever written - because I am so inspired by the delicious food we had at Amarcord, Illovo for lunch yesterday. We started with bruschetta, which was delicious but the main courses were in a a league of their own. I had veal with porcina mushrooms - delicious, tender and tasty - but I struggled to stop myself from eating my husbands asparagus risotto - out of this world!!! If I could give this restaurant 6 stars I would!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome Back”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Overall an excellent experience. Welcome back to Illovo Luciana e Mario! if it is even possible, Luciana and Mario have upped their game!! Menu consists of some of the old favourites with a whole lot of new dishes! The restaurant gets very busy in the evenings and becomes a bit loud, but what a vibe! Highly recommended and will definitely be back!! Anyone visiting Johannesburg who enjoys Italian should certainly make an effort to eat at Amarcord.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amarcord Italian Food also viewed

Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Amarcord Italian Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing