We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Felt like home from the very beginning”
other traveller has booked this property
view from patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from patio
view from bottom of garden koi pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
view from patio
view from bottom of garden
koi pond
swimming pool at night
entrance to Swanage
Leopard loft
a double bed room
dining room tables seat 16
kitchen view from scullery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg, Gauteng

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tom K
1 review
“Felt like home from the very beginning”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Swanage is a lovely home in one of the safest townships of Johannesbourg. The modern house is surrounded by a beautiful garden with a pool and a koi pond. Alan (the host) is one of the most friendly guys I`ve ever met. He is so helpful and knows such a lot about the country and its history. If i ever go to South Africa again I`m going to visit Swanage for sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Most chillaxed and amazing student accommodation....”
Reviewed 24 January 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Alan made my stay in Joburg so much more worthwhile by not only sharing his house but his kindness and love. Whilst being a superstar and absolutely relaxed about things, living there means you’re absorbed into a family.

It is the perfect mixture of activities with no commitment and the opportunity to have some time to yourself. Hop onto one of the famous Safaris, that is a must! Perfect for medicalstudents at the Bara, though it may not seem like it on the map (I just want to point out that to the Bara you go anti traffic). Also, being a consultant at the Bara for decades, there is no better source of internal tips and tricks!

Alan is certainly one of the most helpful, caring and nicest people nothin planet, so don’t miss out on getting to know him! Thank you Alan for everything!!! Let me know whenever yodeling to come to Germany...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
Thank you Thorbs
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
1 review
“Haven for Joburg Medical Elective Students”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in July 2017

Cannot emphasise strongly enough how much staying here will enhance your time in Johannesburg. I thought the website made swannage sound too good to be true but it is everything it says it is and more. It is in a prime location, safe and a short drive from baragwanath an Charlotte Maxeke Hospitals (if you happen to be a medical student). There are too many advantages to staying in swannage to list here but it is so wonderful to be such a short commute to the hospitals yet on your off days you are so close to a beautiful bounty of shops, bars, restaurants and even a cinema! My personal favourite however were post night shift naps in the garden by the swimming pool!
Alan is a master host and Swannage has true family vibe to it. Guests have full access to kitchen and bathroom facilities. everyone works at different times so you can cook for yourself (or order in from loads of takeaways) or everyone chips in and cooks and eats together,

The bedrooms are spacious even when sharing with a buddy and the mattressess and bedding are very comfortable.
Showers (two available) are lovely and hot with good pressure.
A large lounge/dining room is great for relaxing and you will share many great conversations here.
Garden is a peaceful bliss where time stops, complete with koi pond and swimming pool. Allan also has a table tennis table for the sports enthusiasts.

It would not be possible to feel and be more safe and at home in swannage.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
Thank you Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxvonber...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Best place to stay for an elective in Joburg!”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

In my opinion, Swanage is the best place to stay for one's elective. Alan is an awesome host who will give you the feeling of being home. The house is located in a safe area with good restaurants around. Traveling to the hospitals is easy and convenient but you need a car like for everything else. When you work a day shift you go against traffic for both Bara and Charlotte Maxeke.
Since Alan is a nature freak, he can give you very good tips for many trips around the country. His Pilanesberg Safaris are just awesome. Great and loads of food. Definetly a must do!
Once you stayed with Alan you can always come back for a night free of charge. If there is no space, he makes space for you. After a long trip, living in 8 bed dorms, it just feels right to be back at Swanage!
I really enjoyed the time at Swanage and can just advise everyone to become a swan as well!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
Thank you Max
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john c
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience with lifelong friends”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I met some lifelong friends at Swanage. I will always feel that some part of me is in South Africa and at Swanage with Alan Peter. It was my home away from home, my safe haven, my support network. I miss Swanage every day. Electives in Johannesburg are, to say the least, "challenging". Having a safe friendly place, filled with a community of talented and caring likeminded individuals to support you and to share in your adventures makes all the difference. Alan Peter takes you into his home and makes you part of his family. Swanage is a beautiful oasis in the middle of a busy and challenging city. Alan's house is stocked with all the latest luxuries and conveniences. He even has a coy pond and waterfall in his beautiful gardens, perfect for reading, studying, meditating or just shooting the breeze. As for our host, Alan. Never have I met such an altruistic individual with so much love to give to the world. Alan will let you into his home and his family, and you'll never want to leave. Once a Swan, always a Swan.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
thank you John look forward to your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drhousejr
Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best student accommodation eveeeeeer!!!”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Swanage is absolutely the best accommodation a student can get in Johannesburg!!!
Unfortunately, I stayed somewhere else but thanks to some coincidences I had to do a lot with Swanage and the people there - if I had known Swanage before my booking at the other place, I definitely would have booked there! It doesn' matter at which hospital in or around Johannesburg you'll work - Swanage is always worth it! The house is great, you'll find everything you need there (+ a swimming pool:)))!) and Alan is such a kind man, it was an honour meeting him! He also shows you and the other students around, plans a lot of social events (like Fahrenheit-Mondays) and also takes u to an iiincredible safari if you want to! To sum it up, it was gorgeous and I can definitely recommend this place a 100%!!! Go there, you won't regret it!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh M
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must be the best place to stay as an elective med student”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Alan has created a perfect home away from home at Swanage. He welcomes you into his house gladly and is an excellent host. I stayed here while undertaking my elective at Baragwanath and found it to be perfect. Clean, comfortable and good facilities! Alan has plenty of local knowledge to help you make the most of your stay in South Africa. Wouldn't hesitate to return!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you Josh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing