We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place-correctly priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premiere Classe Suites
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed 27 November 2011

As a family of 7(which included small children) it was not an easy stay.We were given 2 rooms on the 2nd floor and without an elevator,it was a real pain to carry luggage around.It was under renovation at that time and hence the room was pretty primal when we first entered it.Kudos to the staff for geting everything ready and in place within the next few hours.The location is very good and there is a good number of different types of restaurants in close proximity to the hotel.It is definitely NOT the worst hotel in Jo'burg and is pleasant for a short stay.Car parking is free.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Areful I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

In an effort to fairly depict our stay at Premiere Classe, while simultaneously dispelling the doom and gloom of some of the previously written negative opinions of which we read, it would be most effective to state the following facts: the hotel staff was most friendly, extremely competent making our stay away from home as comforting and pleasing as possible.

Two of us stayed in the cozy, SECURED apartment: one who was returning to Premiere Classe after 14 years and me, who had never been to South Africa prior.

Arriving during the South African winter season was something we were dreading because the heating systems in America are known to be far more advanced in keeping us warm and toasty as compared to the lack of heating resources available in S. Africa.

As a reassuring gesture, the on-site guest manager, Belinda, and owner, Merle, had wall heaters installed in each room of the apartment along with electric blankets placed on the beds. This made our stay quite warm and comfortable.

We did have the misfortune of a malfunctioning oven and when we mentioned it, the stove was replaced the next morning. As a courtesy, Belinda was kind enough to heat our food in her own oven and had it brought back upstairs to us when it was ready.

The rooms were cleaned daily with the assistance of housekeepers Peggy and Elizabeth. Their service was fantastic - no complaints from us whatsoever. Messages and packages were securely left for us and were available on our return back from our daily excursions.

Premiere Classe provided us with exemplary local resources for tours and transportation during our three week stay. The front desk staff was tremendous with remarkable exemplary guest services provided by Tumi and others.

Towards the end of our stay, they were busy with renovations: enlarging rooms, changing out fixtures and erecting a dining area for guests.

We would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Granted, the fixtures were a bit weathered-but, they functioned properly and adequately. For a self catering facility, you get a lot of bang for the buck!!!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and you'll get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catlover11381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

After reading the last review which rated this hotel as the worst hotel in the world, I was keen to cancel my reservation, but a colleague said he had heard it wasn't too bad. So with much apprehension I checked in for a 2 night stay. Suffice to say, I was extremely pleasantly surprised. The location is outstanding - just off the busy Corlett Drive, overlooking some beautiful green lawns. It is very central, being within easy reach of highways, close to Rosebank, Sandton, Hyde Park etc. There is no fancy lobby, but the parking was convenient and the reception friendly. I was lucky enough to get a 2 bedroom suite with a lounge area, kitchenette etc. It was clean and perfectly adequate - nothing fancy, but hey, this is a budget hotel with no frills.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cliffordius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

The hotel was extremely dirty. The daily cleaning was non exsistent,
The furniture was filthy. Their breakfast was disgusting.
Worst experience of my life.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bruiser333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premeire_Classe, General Manager at Premiere Classe Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I am happy to say that we updated and upgraded all our services. We are very proud to offer good value for money in a comfortable apartment that is in a great location. Within 4 km's to both Rosebank and Sandton City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Over the past twelve years I have been staying at this hotel everytime I travel to Johannesburg [which is atleast three times a year].During this time I have seen a few staff changes but they have all been well trained.Any extra requests or minor maintenance issues were promptly dealt with.I found the owner of the hotel always accessible when needed.I recall that once or twice they were unable to accomadate my request for a one bedroom apartment.They then gave me a two bedroom for the price of one.The ideal location has always been the cherry on top.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I curse you Great Atlantic Travel for even using this hotel for the World Cup. Nevermind the rip off rates. The hotel is average at best (maybe 1-2 stars). Service at the desk was ridiculous (if they were there) - we asked to go on a half day tour (from a brochure in the lobby) of Soweto and Jo'berg and were called a cab (one of their friends no doubt). The desk clerks knew relatively nothing of the tours anywhere. Whenever we had to use a cab (because only Melrose Arch shopping was walkable) we noticed we were getting ripped off when we used "other" cabs to return. No common/breakfast area was a downer. Heating was poor. Bathroom had leaks (floor flooded every day) - when we told front desk, they came and put more towels on the floor as a "solution" (once towels were soaked floor flooded again). Overall, there have got to be a ton of better hotels in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Essentially, came here with the family for the World Cup. The pros of this situation are as follows:

-Great Neighborhood in walking distance from the Melrose Arch which is a luxury multi-use community with a mall, restaurants, banks, courtyards with large screens to watch the games.
-Very Secure
-Wireless internet access

Here are the negatives:

-Apartments are outdated and need work.
-Understaffed.
-No restaurant or common area
-If you go when it is cold (It really does get cold here). The heating system is absolutely horrible.
-WAY OVERPRICED BASED ON FACILITIES (To be fair, their was a middle man in the form of Great Atlantic Travel so the price I was charged was quite inflated due to the World Cup)
This is a situation where an African hotel has a tremendous amount of potential. The location and building exterior is nice. Unfortunately, once again it looks like the typical African situation where the owner is trying to get a quick return and is not paying attention to maintenance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank addoesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.6 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
5.5 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
11.6 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
181 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
422 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premiere Classe Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Suites

Address: 62 Corlett Drive | Melrose North, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £40 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premiere Classe Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed one and two bedroom furnished self catering apartments, SMALL PET friendly, Wheelchair access , serviced daily, 14(cable)DSTV channels , plus the free channels, FREE high speed wireless internet, 24 hour reception, FREE covered parking. Centrally situated between Rosebank and Sandton Gautrain Stations and exclusive shopping malls.With easy access to the M1 motorway which leads to various areas in and around Johanneburg. Walking distance to Melrose Arch Mall and The Wanderers Cricket Stadium. Laundry can be arranged at an extra cost. Breakfast can be ordered optional extra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premiere Classe Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing