We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfair Review ! Very decent hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premiere Classe Suites
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Unfair Review ! Very decent hotel....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

After reading the last review which rated this hotel as the worst hotel in the world, I was keen to cancel my reservation, but a colleague said he had heard it wasn't too bad. So with much apprehension I checked in for a 2 night stay. Suffice to say, I was extremely pleasantly surprised. The location is outstanding - just off the busy Corlett Drive, overlooking some beautiful green lawns. It is very central, being within easy reach of highways, close to Rosebank, Sandton, Hyde Park etc. There is no fancy lobby, but the parking was convenient and the reception friendly. I was lucky enough to get a 2 bedroom suite with a lounge area, kitchenette etc. It was clean and perfectly adequate - nothing fancy, but hey, this is a budget hotel with no frills.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cliffordius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    67
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
28
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

The hotel was extremely dirty. The daily cleaning was non exsistent,
The furniture was filthy. Their breakfast was disgusting.
Worst experience of my life.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruiser333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premeire_Classe, General Manager at Premiere Classe Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am happy to say that we updated and upgraded all our services. We are very proud to offer good value for money in a comfortable apartment that is in a great location. Within 4 km's to both Rosebank and Sandton City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

Over the past twelve years I have been staying at this hotel everytime I travel to Johannesburg [which is atleast three times a year].During this time I have seen a few staff changes but they have all been well trained.Any extra requests or minor maintenance issues were promptly dealt with.I found the owner of the hotel always accessible when needed.I recall that once or twice they were unable to accomadate my request for a one bedroom apartment.They then gave me a two bedroom for the price of one.The ideal location has always been the cherry on top.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

I curse you Great Atlantic Travel for even using this hotel for the World Cup. Nevermind the rip off rates. The hotel is average at best (maybe 1-2 stars). Service at the desk was ridiculous (if they were there) - we asked to go on a half day tour (from a brochure in the lobby) of Soweto and Jo'berg and were called a cab (one of their friends no doubt). The desk clerks knew relatively nothing of the tours anywhere. Whenever we had to use a cab (because only Melrose Arch shopping was walkable) we noticed we were getting ripped off when we used "other" cabs to return. No common/breakfast area was a downer. Heating was poor. Bathroom had leaks (floor flooded every day) - when we told front desk, they came and put more towels on the floor as a "solution" (once towels were soaked floor flooded again). Overall, there have got to be a ton of better hotels in this area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Essentially, came here with the family for the World Cup. The pros of this situation are as follows:

-Great Neighborhood in walking distance from the Melrose Arch which is a luxury multi-use community with a mall, restaurants, banks, courtyards with large screens to watch the games.
-Very Secure
-Wireless internet access

Here are the negatives:

-Apartments are outdated and need work.
-Understaffed.
-No restaurant or common area
-If you go when it is cold (It really does get cold here). The heating system is absolutely horrible.
-WAY OVERPRICED BASED ON FACILITIES (To be fair, their was a middle man in the form of Great Atlantic Travel so the price I was charged was quite inflated due to the World Cup)
This is a situation where an African hotel has a tremendous amount of potential. The location and building exterior is nice. Unfortunately, once again it looks like the typical African situation where the owner is trying to get a quick return and is not paying attention to maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addoesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.5 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#28 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
5.5 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
8.5 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#45 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#38 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#18 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premiere Classe Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Suites

Property: Premiere Classe Suites
Address: 62 Corlett Drive | Melrose North, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premiere Classe Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed one and two bedroom furnished self catering apartments, SMALL PET friendly,serviced daily,14(cable)DSTV channels , plus the free channels, FREE high speed wireless internet, telephone,24 hour reception,FREE covered parking. Centrally situated between Rosebank and Sandton Gautrain Stations and exclusive shopping malls.With easy access to the M1 motorway which leads to various areas in and around Johanneburg. Walking distance to Melrose Arch Mall and The Wanderers Cricket Stadium. Laundry can be arranged at an extra cost. Breakfast can be ordered optional extra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premiere Classe Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing