We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, great and helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverbend Country House
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The very kind hosts went out of their way to make us feel at home. They gave directions, recommendations, and made sure we were well taken care of. Located outside of the city, but felt completely safe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenandree83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Riverbend Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

Having been to Johannesburg in the past I was a little concerned regarding the security of Riverbend as there was little mention of this on the website. However this was the most relaxed I have ever been in Johannesburg. Electric fences and gates being the norm in Johannesburgh I was pleased to see the B&B had both.
We were a family of 5 visiting relatives nearby, and Ollie and Barbara, who have recently taken over the B&B, went out of their way to accommodate us and the staff were excellent.
The gardens were well kept, shady and relaxing, loads of birdlife.
The rooms were clean and spacious, having both fans, heaters or an open fire. There is no safe in the rooms but there was no problem leaving items in the rooms.
We found really good restaurants nearby (on Barbara's recommendation) and had a couple of lovely "homecooked" dinners at Riverbend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisJEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Lovely place to stay. Very friendly staff, willing to help you with anything. Very quiet and peaceful, however only 10-15 mins from nightlife, restuarants etc. Staff are very trustworthy which makes a nice change....a bar that you help yourself to...and complete an honour book stating wat you've had!! Rooms are very spacious and clean, with a lovely fireplace...which was needed at this time of year. I would definately recoomend this place, whether you are a couple of a small group.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljrowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Riverbend country house is located in a quiet area of fourways Guateng province, south africa. the service is excellent, staff is friendly and courteous. The good thing about this place is you can get a hearty breakfast and dinner without the concerns of going out at night to find a restaurant. Close to great shopping at Fourways and also Monte Casino for gambling and shopping. You will need your own transport around this area. Easy access to the Lion Park, Sun City et. The manager Garry is a travel agent as well, so he can provide a wealth of assistance. Rooms are cosy and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tbwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 911kathleenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
11.1 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#23 of 66 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
#48 of 66 in Johannesburg
22 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#35 of 66 in Johannesburg
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Shumba Valley Lodge
Shumba Valley Lodge
#52 of 66 in Johannesburg
54 reviews
4.4 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
87 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Lanseria
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Country House

Address: 14 River Road, Riverbend, Fourways, 2068 | Fourways, Johannesburg, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £37 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbend Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverbend Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing