We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality beyond imagination”
Review of Zoo Lake B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zoo Lake B&B
Ranked #61 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hospitality beyond imagination”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked this B&B well before our trip and asked the host Sylvia if she also could arrange a tour around Soweto and Johannesburg in general. Making sure we would be back well on time because we had to get our flight the same evening.

A couple of days before we arrived Sylvia mailed me to insure everything was arranged and she was waiting on our arrival.

On our arrival we had a bit of looking around to see if we were at the right address. They have a big gate and the B&B sign is behind it. But when turning to call at the gate you will see it. We called and Sylvia just greeted us as she had known us for a long time. The hospitality of Sylvia goes beyond imagination. And the best part is that you don't feel like she is pushing herself to do it. We directly got our room shown, a place to sit in the lovely and spacious garden and a nice fruit juice and some fresh fruit to relax.

While we went for dinner, she prepared our room for the night and started the aircon so we could arrive after dinner in a cool room ready to go to sleep.

Because it was the last day of our trip we arranged with Sylvia that she got our car washed while we did our tour. Also she made certain that Graham picked us up an hour earlier than normal for the tour. Because our room wasn't booked for that day we could leave our stuff in it and take another shower before heading to the airport.

If we ever return to South Africa and Johannesburg in particular we definitely will rearrange a stay at Zoo Lake B&B. If we ever know somebody going to Johannesburg we would recommend this place without hesitation. This really is a hidden gem near the center of Johannesburg, there is no doubt about it. Everything is just right about it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimEvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
332 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our room was comfortable and the surroundings were peaceful and quiet. Sylvia was extremely warm and welcoming. We arrived late and Sylvia prepared a gourmet dinner of wildebeest for us. The breakfasts were wonderful, with a wide selection of choices. Her home and the garden and pool were serene. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRSRJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This B&B offers all you need for your stay in JHB. The beds are very comfortable, the surroundings peaceful and Sylvia's attention to detail and her caring make your trip a real pleasure. Be sure to stay for breakfast - most delicous choice of croissants, rolls, cheeses, salmon, fruit salad, yogurt...fresh coffee and more. Each room has complementary wireless access and TV. A highly recommended experience!

Room Tip: I enjoy room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Sylvia is a delight and her home is beautiful. The rooms are akin to a 5-star hotel and you will leave feeling refreshed! I can't recommend this gem of a B&B enough. We stayed for the weekend whilst attending a wedding and it made an already magical 2 days just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francistown, Botswana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I arrived in Johannesburg exhausted after a long flight from Asia, and was embraced by the warmth and graciousness of a host who I believe runs one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed in. In every way, and I say this sincerely, I have been looked after, welcomed and restored. Sylvia Basch, the host, went beyond her remit over and over to ensure I wanted for nothing. The breakfasts of fresh fruit, eggs, smoked salmon ... whatever you want ... set me up each day, while the room was a light oasis set in amongst a manicured, colorful garden near a pool. I highly recommend this peaceful, discreet establishment to others, and express my sincere gratitude for an amazing couple of days!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This must be one of the top B&Bs I haves stayed at. To say that it is value for money is an understatement. The rooms are beautifully and tastefully decorated; the garden and pool immaculate; a delicious breakfast with fruits, freshly baked breads, cheeses and hams are served every morning and most importantly the host, Sylvia is the warmest and most welcoming person that you have encountered. What a magnificent stay! I recommend making the bookings as soon as possible. There are only two rooms available and it is very popular.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Sylvia is a wonderful host and her breakfasts are delicious! The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. This is a place of peace and harmony.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dyan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Village Green Guest House
Village Green Guest House
#11 of 293 in Johannesburg
158 reviews
4.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
10.8 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#45 of 68 in Johannesburg
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoo Lake B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoo Lake B&B

Property: Zoo Lake B&B
Address: 9 Dee Road | Parkview, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zoo Lake B&B - your accommodation solution in Johannesburg. Whether you are in town for business or pleasure, we offer a full service accommodation solution. We are a stylish Bed & Breakfast in Parkview; walking distance to the Zoo Lake, 35 minutes from the airport and very close to the lively outdoor cafes in Parkhurst, and 2km from the bustling Rosebank Rooftop Market. To help make your stay more comfortable, we speak English, German and Afrikaans. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing