We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure about the cockroaches”

Gemini Backpackers Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gemini Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This place was awful, such as disappointing end to our trip to South Africa. It was really hard to find, and on the edge of a township which is easy to end up in if you miss your turning. They got our booking wrong and we had to stay in a shared dorm when we booked a double room, eventhough we'd spoke on the phone and emailed to confirm we wnated a double room. The dorms weren’t too bad, but the bathroom/shower was filthy and flooded. The kitchen wasn’t much better, on opening the cutlery drawer I was greeted with a cockroach! I’d give this one a miss if I were you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank explorer095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2010

In many ways this is a very bad hostel indeed. So bad in fact, that it's actually funny! So bad that it has a certain eccentric charm, and if I ever pass that way again, I'd be tempted to be a glutton for punishment and stay another night or two there.

It's not that the place is particularly bug infested or anything. The toilets, floors, and food preparation areas are actually kept reasonably clean (by backpacker hostel standards).

What's funny is the extraordinary state of extreme disrepair that the buildings and everything inside them are in. The kitchen is a graveyard of decrepit equipment. The toaster had only two out of the four elements working, meaning that only one side of your bread could be done at any one time. Worse still, one of the wire guards was missing, meaning that if you put the bread in at the wrong angle, it would soon burst spectacularly into flames! Meanwhile there was such a shortage of spoons that we reckon there was only one to share between all the guests.

On the first night we were there, a hole appeared in the ceiling of the bar area with water dripping through from the leaky roof. A week later, not only had no attempt been made to fix the leak, but the hole had become progressively larger with each rain storm!

My room was an ensuite one - part of a very simple ivy-clad shed-type structure opening out into a surprisingly well-tended garden. The well-tended garden unfortunately contained an alarmingly badly-tended, scary and uninviting-looking swimming pool with black patches on the bottom. In reality the pool probably just needs a lick of paint, but I think I was the only person to venture in there all week. Our room had two "beds," one a double, one a very small single. Both were made of solid concrete(!), the former with a very thin sprung mattress on top, the latter with a wafer-thin foam mattress. The toilet and shower were not separated from the sleeping area by a door, and had no proper ventilation. This arrangement is therefore not really ideal unless you've got the room to yourself!

I slept OK, but my friend got the short straw and spent an excruciatingly uncomfortable first night on the single bed. In the morning he asked for a better mattress and was given a thicker one from the dorm, which was too long for the bed and looked comical, but was nevertheless a massive improvement. Generally the staff were helpful, and if you asked them for something within reason you usually got it.

There is a full-sized snooker table in the reception area, which is fun if you're not too serious a player, and I found the atmosphere in the hostel perfectly friendly and sociable. The bar is a simple one, serving a limited range of reasonably priced drinks. Just take care not to be sitting under the hole in the ceiling when it's raining! It's probably quite big by now.

If this place wasn't so cheap, I'd have given it a real slating, but the truth of the matter is that it is cheap, and despite its multitude of shortcomings, if you consider the fact that free airport pickups are offered, it does offer fairly decent value for money if you're prepared to stay somewhere so basic. If you're on a really tight budget, you can even pitch a tent in the garden rather than having a room or a dorm bed. There's free internet access too, although the speed is pretty slow.

The friendly and helpful staff at Gemini are also in contrast to those of the rude and unhelpful staff at Backpackers Ritz where I have stayed in the past. For that reason alone I would tentatively recommend Gemini to travellers on a very tight budget, especially those wanting an accommodation-related story to tell!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stinky, moldy rooms (design flaw of having carpet in the bathroom).

Worst of all-- they refused to honor the 24-hour free airport pick-up prominently displayed on their website on the day of my arrival (I had called previously to arrange the pick-up) leaving me stranded at the airport at midnight in Jo-burg. No thank you.

Not worth it, not even remotely worth it. Look elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chicagorefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
Thank Caranguejo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Photoglobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LykkeRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
5.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
6.2 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#39 of 66 in Johannesburg
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
422 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
7.3 mi away
Motel Mi Pi CHi
Motel Mi Pi CHi
#14 of 66 in Johannesburg
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gemini Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemini Backpackers Lodge

Address: 1 Van Gelder Road, Johannesburg 2090, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range: £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing