We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Garden!!”
Review of Amanzi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amanzi Guest House
Ranked #6 of 296 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Garden!!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at Amanzi Guest House on August 21 and 22. Upon arrival from the airport, Pam greeted us warmly was very friendly. We stayed in the Belhambra cottage next to the main guest house. The rooms were clean but were very small. There is very little space to move around in the rooms, the living room is the only room where you could really stretch out. We noticed a row of ants crawling over the kitchen wall, across the living room and swarming over the DVD player, we brought it to Pam's attention. She had someone come the next day and spray but we still saw residual ants crawling. The wi-fi service in Amanzi is very poor, we had to pull up our stools next to the entrance door just to get reception. For four of us, we were provided one bottle of some sort of super filtered water - didn't think that was enough for four people. Breakfast..meh..omelettes were rather dry - over cooked, couple of table spoons of milk while whipping eggs would have made them moist. On our last day, Pam seemed rushed and said she had to leave so I paid the guesthouse charges while at breakfast. She forgot to return my credit card and I did not remember to collect the credit card from her. She emailed me but I was able to see my email only when I got to Cape Town. She mailed the card next day but by the time card got to Cape Town, we had left the country.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonsart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
I really appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to write your comments. And am so sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Amanzi. I know that it is difficult for a family of four to fit into a small cottage, and agree with you that the second bedroom is small. I was not aware you struggled with the wifi connection, as using the cable, the signal is strong. I find the beating is the secret to good omelettes, and apologies that yours were not up to our usual standard :) I cannot tell you how sorry I am that first of all, I omitted to give you back your credit card, and that i was not able to get it to you before you left Cape Town. Best wishes, Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
30
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Make that 10 stars actually!! I stayed at Amanzi Guest House for about a month while I was in Johannesburg, and I hated to leave. Pam is amazing!! She’s so warm and genuinely cares about the comfort and wellbeing of her guests. The staff are friendly and courteous. Together they bring a very personal touch to hosting. Stayed in Apartment 2 which is inarguably one of the most beautifully decorated rooms I have ever stayed in. My room was spacious, airy and squeaky clean. I was particularly blown away by the attention to detail. I loved the pool and the garden. Felt so much at home! I do not see myself staying anywhere else in Johannesburg henceforth…

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Hello George! Thank you so much for your glowing 10 star review! I have just got back from holidaying in Namaqualand viewing the flowers, so my response to your review is a little late.
My staff and I are delighted you felt so comfortable and at home with us, and that you liked the space and decor of the apartment. We really look forward to a return visit. Best wishes from us all, Pam and her staff at Amanzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I went back to Amanzi for a second stay recently and only have good things to add to my first review. The owner has a personal touch, the staff are gracious, the rooms/apartments spacious, airy, with attention to detail. All in all, just a nice home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyotika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Amanzi once again! Good to have you back, and my staff and I so appreciate your positive comments, and that you like the spacious airy feeling of the apartments.
Warm regards from Pam and her staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed here only a couple of nights but hope to come back and explore Johannesburg a bit more. I stayed in a cottage and felt very much at home. Pam is a very friendly and helpful host and all the staff are also very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended for a long or short term stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Hi Liz - thank you for your warm recommendation about Amanzi. Its always gratifying to hear that my staff and I succeed in making people feel at home. I hope your trip to Pilanesburg was as good as you hoped, and look forward to you staying with us again.
warm regards
Pam and her team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clervaux
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed at Amanzi Guesthouse for over a week. And it was not my first time. Simply because it's the best Guesthouse I have ever seen. Pam is amazing! The staff is very friendly, it is very clean and the cottages and/or appartements are wonderful! The garden and pool just invites you to use them, and during nice warm summer evenings you can sit outside and enjoy. I will go back in November and will definitly go back to Amanzi's Guesthouse (again) cause it's like going home!!!
Thanx Pam and staff, for making my trips to Jo'burg so special!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review - and you know that we also feel that Amanzi is your South African home! You are always welcome here! Look forward to sharing a glass of wine and a braaivleis (barbeque!) with you again in November. Warm regards from Pam and her friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed at Amanzi for just over a week and as a return visitor I am still surprised to see that Pam and her staff continuously work hard to make every stay even more perfect than the last one.

Everything is well maintained and very clean. It feels like coming home whenever I am in Joburg. What I really love about the place is that even though there are several guests staying you still have lots of privacy and space.

I would highly recommend Amanzi Guest House to everyone who stays in Joburg for a few days (or longer)!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Your comments are so appreciated and you are always so welcome in your South African home!
It is really encouraging that you recognize that we value our guests comfort and work hard as a team to keep improving facilities.
Warm wishes from Pam and her team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Amanzi for two weeks, over the Christmas period with our two grandchildren. We had a lovely two bedroom cottage at the bottom of the garden, which was just perfect for us.

Pam and her staff were so welcoming and helpful, it was so refreshing to find accomodation with this sort of service at such a reasonable price.

Being from the UK, this was our first experience of having Christmas in a warmer climate. Pam made sure we and the other guests, had a lovely Christmas breakfast together and New Years Eve invited us along with her to a friends house so we were not alone.

We cannot speak highly enough about our stay at Amanzi, perfect place to stay we certainly will return whenever we get the chance.

Many thanks, for helping to make our stay in Johannesburg such a happy and memorable one.

Jo, Mike, Courts and Kanye

Room Tip: Amanzi has various types to suit most needs, plus one and two bed cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southafricafan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you so much Jo, Mike and family for your glowing report. We loved having you stay at Amanzi and look forward to a return visit. Warmly from Pam and the Amanzi team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
740 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
352 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 296 in Johannesburg
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 296 in Johannesburg
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#3 of 296 in Johannesburg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Guest House

Property: Amanzi Guest House
Address: 64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Guest House, AA TravelGuides Superior Grading, 4 Star TGCSA, Central Johannesburg, South Africa, offers luxury bed and breakfast / guesthouse accommodation with self-catering options. Four contemporary urban chic apartments each with private entrances, and three garden cottages. Free unlimited high speed fibre optic Internet access (50 Mps), Satellite TV, secure property with undercover parking. Pool set in indigenous garden. Added luxuries like hairdryers, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and daily refilled bottles of E-spring filtered water. Convenient neighbourhood shops less than a kilometre away - a general grocer, fruit and veg, pharmacy, restaurant - minutes from Sandton, Rosebank, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg CBD. Ideal for business and leisure travelers. Amanzi Guest House specialises in long stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing