We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for long stay”
Review of Amanzi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amanzi Guest House
Ranked #6 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Amanzi has become a home away from home for me during 2013. I've been travelling to Johannesburg throughout the year for up to 6 weeks at a time and I've never felt more welcome than here. The accommodation is extremely comfortable, set in beautiful gardens with a great variety of bird life in trees. Pam is a wonderful host and her team, with the ever-smiling Thabang at the helm, are a great asset to her. A real treat of a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin Bishop B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Kevin
Thank you for your generous review of Amanzi - I am delighted that you felt welcome and were comfortable here. After such long stays this year, you really felt part of the establishment. We will miss you, and hope to see you next year. Best wishes from Pam, Thabang, Deli and Lena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

The minute the gates opened, I knew I had found the perfect place for my stay in Johannesburg. A real home away from home with genuine care from both the staff and the friendly hound (if one cares for that!). The room I occupied was cosily "nestled' up in the trees and it was a treat to wake up, roll over and look out the window at a lush canopy of green. And the quiet almost kept me awake!!
What can I add that has not already been said! This is a great, personal and "sacred" space... Definitively a repeat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear nk - I am delighted you found Amanzi the "perfect place" to stay in Johannesburg. The apartments are rather like being in tree house, and now that Spring is here, everything is lush and almost tropical once again. My veggies are flourishing both on the pavement and inside as well!
We will soon add a health drink for breakfast as an option - hope you will get to taste it!
Sincerely
Pam and her staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Spent over three weeks at Amanzi in June/July. Pam was a fantastic host and her staff were brilliant. Stayed in two of the cottages on offer and they were both excellent. Quite cold in South Africa at that time of year, but there was ample heating. All expected facilities on offer and the breakfasts were divine! Would definitely stay here again, certainly felt like home for an extended business trip. Thanks again to Pam and the staff at Amanzi!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Daniel
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Amanzi and delighted you felt at home - and that you enjoyed our breakfasts! Many people comment that the food in SA is good - and i do the best to use free range and fresh products for the breakfasts.
Warm regards from Pam and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I was here for a month and can't recommended it enough. The cottage was spacious, set it beautiful grounds and well laid out. Given it was winter, it was also well heated (by South African standards). The three staff do an excellent job of making breakfast, cleaning and laundry.

The kitchen in the cottage is well equipped to make a range of meals and there is a solid WiFi connection which enables calls on Skype etc easily.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for your high recommendations of Amanzi guest house. It is always wonderful when guests return for another stay - Winter is a little bleak here, but at least most days have blue skies! Hope you return in Spring or Summer again to experience swimming in my salt water pool, enjoying a glass of wine on a perfect Joburg evening, and a summer garden setting.
Warm regards from all of us at Amanzi - Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We have stayed in Amanzi in the Jacaranda cottage for 3 months from January to April 2013 during a business trip to Joburg. At the end it was really hard to leave this place, because we really felt like at home! Amanzi Guest House is beautifully and comfortably situated in the safe and green CraigHall Park district, there is a supermarket walking distance ( although in Joburg nobody walks ) and everything else what you need is 5 minutes away by car (also nice restaurants)
Property is beautiful, with green wild garden, herbs, plants and very nice salt-water pool. Our cottage was very comfortable, clean, beautifully decorated and perfect for a couple as it has a living room with a kitchen and separate bedroom. I can highly recommended it for both short and long stay, but it will be definitely more comfortable to stay in the cottage if you plan to choose Amanzi as a second home while staying little longer in Joburg.
But the most amazing thing in Amanzi is people! Pam is a perfect host and owner, very friendly and person with open heart. You can be sure that she will answer all your questions and help you to find your way around Joburg and SA! We have met wonderful friends there who were also guests of Amanzi, in the common area we were having barbecues and small parties.
I can highly recommend you to stay in this place both for the long term and short stays, you will love it. I personally selected it because of the good reviews on TA so I want to confirm that all of these are well deserved!

Room Tip: Cottage is better for long term stays ( and if you want to cook) it has private garden as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear Gosia
Thank you for your generous and full review - we are SO glad you and H enjoyed your stay here at Amanzi. It was hard to say goodbye to you after 3 months! I am happy that you felt at home, and enjoyed the neighbourhood of Craighall Park. It was great that you joined in the Braai's (barbecues) and small parties! And also thank you for your kind words about me :) I know what it is like to be in a strange country, and how helpful it is to have someone with local knowledge.
Best wishes to you both
from Pam and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Jacaranda Cottage with our little baby - its not easy being away from home with a little one but the feel of the establishment is so cosy and feels like a home away from home! Thanks to Pam and the team.
The Ras family

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Ras family
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Amanzi and so pleased you found the cottage cosy and convenient for you and your baby! It is helpful for overseas guests to know that "locals" also use guesthouses!
Warm regards from Pam and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had a long stay at Amanzi Guest House in the Belhambra 2 bedroom Cottage.A real home from home.We got so comfortable after our six week stay that leaving became a very depressing
situation for us.The new Solarium addition is glorious and in winter will be a treat-plenty of sunlight and warmth from the winter sun.We had breakfast there every morning and it was just wonderful to see the abundant bird life in the beautiful and huge trees that occupy and define the garden space ,majestically.
Pam and her very friendly staff are very laid back and help with whatever is needed,calmly and efficiently.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and peaceful-hence one can become attached in no time.
Amanzi is as eco-friendly as possible and it is enjoyable to participate in helping to minimize
the carbon footprint.
The premises are secure with well timed access control.Free organic vegetables are available in the sidewalk garden in front of Amanzi to those passersby who are in need.
Until next time Amazing Amanzi!

Room Tip: The upstairs apartments are more private and out of the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woerwoerwors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear K and M and M,
We are so glad you chose to stay at Amanzi for the 6 weeks you were in SA. Thank you for your wonderful review with such positive comments. It was great to read that you enjoyed the new Conservatory/Solarium, the bird life and the garden, and also thank you for your comments about the relaxed atmosphere, friendly and efficient service at Amanzi. I am a little biased :) perhaps, but I think that Joburg people are the friendliest in SA!!
Until the next time!! Best wishes
Pam and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.6 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 298 in Johannesburg
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 298 in Johannesburg
365 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
#7 of 298 in Johannesburg
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 298 in Johannesburg
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#3 of 298 in Johannesburg
304 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#4 of 298 in Johannesburg
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Guest House

Address: 64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £67 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Guest House, AA TravelGuides Superior Grading, 4 Star TGCSA, Central Johannesburg, South Africa, offers luxury bed and breakfast / guesthouse accommodation with self-catering options. Four contemporary urban chic apartments each with private entrances, and three garden cottages. Free unlimited high speed fibre optic Internet access (50 Mps), Satellite TV, secure property with undercover parking. Pool set in indigenous garden. Added luxuries like hairdryers, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and daily refilled bottles of E-spring filtered water. Convenient neighbourhood shops less than a kilometre away - a general grocer, fruit and veg, pharmacy, restaurant - minutes from Sandton, Rosebank, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg CBD. Ideal for business and leisure travelers. Amanzi Guest House specialises in long stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing