We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amanzi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amanzi Guest House
Ranked #5 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed at Amanzi for 10 weeks during my work secondmnet in Johannesburg. Amanzi Guesthouse became a home away from home for me. Pam is a absolutely wonderful host and has created a little paradise in the city. The cottages are surrounded by beuatiful gardens that inspire tranquility. Cozy and wonderfully decorated rooms were there to welcome us and were perfect to relax after a day at work. The breakfast is amazing and the staff are so friendly and being greeted in the morning with fresh fruit and coffee while looking upon lush green gardens is definitely a great way to start the day. Absolute wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Audrey
We so enjoyed your 10 week stay at Amanzi :) and so pleased you found Amanzi a good place to relax in and feel at home. It was always good to see your smiling face at Breakfast!
Hope you get another work stint in Joburg and we see you again.
Best wishes for a great 2014!
Pam and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
28
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kloof, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I loved staying at Amanzi, the staff (and the pets) are very friendly and the room is comfortable and has everything you need. The breakfast was delicious and the garden is beautiful and peaceful. Amanzi is close to hyde park and the Braamfontein spruit and easy to get just about anywhere in johannesburg from there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Paula
I so appreciate you taking the time to review Amanzi - and was sorry to miss you - especially on such a special occasion. What a celebration to see your sisters new born. I am looking forward to meeting her too when things have settled a little. Thank you also for your positive comments on Amanzi - delighted you felt comfortable and liked my wild garden!
Hope to meet you for the first birthday party!
Warm regards from Pam and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Amanzi has become a home away from home for me during 2013. I've been travelling to Johannesburg throughout the year for up to 6 weeks at a time and I've never felt more welcome than here. The accommodation is extremely comfortable, set in beautiful gardens with a great variety of bird life in trees. Pam is a wonderful host and her team, with the ever-smiling Thabang at the helm, are a great asset to her. A real treat of a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Bishop B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Kevin
Thank you for your generous review of Amanzi - I am delighted that you felt welcome and were comfortable here. After such long stays this year, you really felt part of the establishment. We will miss you, and hope to see you next year. Best wishes from Pam, Thabang, Deli and Lena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lusaka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The minute the gates opened, I knew I had found the perfect place for my stay in Johannesburg. A real home away from home with genuine care from both the staff and the friendly hound (if one cares for that!). The room I occupied was cosily "nestled' up in the trees and it was a treat to wake up, roll over and look out the window at a lush canopy of green. And the quiet almost kept me awake!!
What can I add that has not already been said! This is a great, personal and "sacred" space... Definitively a repeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear nk - I am delighted you found Amanzi the "perfect place" to stay in Johannesburg. The apartments are rather like being in tree house, and now that Spring is here, everything is lush and almost tropical once again. My veggies are flourishing both on the pavement and inside as well!
We will soon add a health drink for breakfast as an option - hope you will get to taste it!
Sincerely
Pam and her staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Spent over three weeks at Amanzi in June/July. Pam was a fantastic host and her staff were brilliant. Stayed in two of the cottages on offer and they were both excellent. Quite cold in South Africa at that time of year, but there was ample heating. All expected facilities on offer and the breakfasts were divine! Would definitely stay here again, certainly felt like home for an extended business trip. Thanks again to Pam and the staff at Amanzi!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Daniel
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Amanzi and delighted you felt at home - and that you enjoyed our breakfasts! Many people comment that the food in SA is good - and i do the best to use free range and fresh products for the breakfasts.
Warm regards from Pam and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I was here for a month and can't recommended it enough. The cottage was spacious, set it beautiful grounds and well laid out. Given it was winter, it was also well heated (by South African standards). The three staff do an excellent job of making breakfast, cleaning and laundry.

The kitchen in the cottage is well equipped to make a range of meals and there is a solid WiFi connection which enables calls on Skype etc easily.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you so much for your high recommendations of Amanzi guest house. It is always wonderful when guests return for another stay - Winter is a little bleak here, but at least most days have blue skies! Hope you return in Spring or Summer again to experience swimming in my salt water pool, enjoying a glass of wine on a perfect Joburg evening, and a summer garden setting.
Warm regards from all of us at Amanzi - Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We have stayed in Amanzi in the Jacaranda cottage for 3 months from January to April 2013 during a business trip to Joburg. At the end it was really hard to leave this place, because we really felt like at home! Amanzi Guest House is beautifully and comfortably situated in the safe and green CraigHall Park district, there is a supermarket walking distance ( although in Joburg nobody walks ) and everything else what you need is 5 minutes away by car (also nice restaurants)
Property is beautiful, with green wild garden, herbs, plants and very nice salt-water pool. Our cottage was very comfortable, clean, beautifully decorated and perfect for a couple as it has a living room with a kitchen and separate bedroom. I can highly recommended it for both short and long stay, but it will be definitely more comfortable to stay in the cottage if you plan to choose Amanzi as a second home while staying little longer in Joburg.
But the most amazing thing in Amanzi is people! Pam is a perfect host and owner, very friendly and person with open heart. You can be sure that she will answer all your questions and help you to find your way around Joburg and SA! We have met wonderful friends there who were also guests of Amanzi, in the common area we were having barbecues and small parties.
I can highly recommend you to stay in this place both for the long term and short stays, you will love it. I personally selected it because of the good reviews on TA so I want to confirm that all of these are well deserved!

Room Tip: Cottage is better for long term stays ( and if you want to cook) it has private garden as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Gosia
Thank you for your generous and full review - we are SO glad you and H enjoyed your stay here at Amanzi. It was hard to say goodbye to you after 3 months! I am happy that you felt at home, and enjoyed the neighbourhood of Craighall Park. It was great that you joined in the Braai's (barbecues) and small parties! And also thank you for your kind words about me :) I know what it is like to be in a strange country, and how helpful it is to have someone with local knowledge.
Best wishes to you both
from Pam and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.9 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 293 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.0 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Guest House

Property: Amanzi Guest House
Address: 64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Guest House, AA TravelGuides Superior Grading, 4 Star TGCSA, Central Johannesburg, South Africa, offers luxury bed and breakfast / guesthouse accommodation with self-catering options. Four contemporary urban chic apartments each with private entrances, and three garden cottages. Free unlimited high speed fibre optic Internet access (50 Mps), Satellite TV, secure property with undercover parking. Pool set in indigenous garden. Added luxuries like hairdryers, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and daily refilled bottles of E-spring filtered water. Convenient neighbourhood shops less than a kilometre away - a general grocer, fruit and veg, pharmacy, restaurant - minutes from Sandton, Rosebank, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg CBD. Ideal for business and leisure travelers. Amanzi Guest House specialises in long stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing