We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Constitution Hill
from US$78.40
More Info
from US$15.70
More Info
from US$61.90
More Info
from US$94.80
More Info
Reviews (1,335)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
690
332
77
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
690
332
77
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour court building highest court political prisoners old jail art collection south africa mahatma gandhi robben island nelson mandela an eye opener apartheid museum hop on hop eye opening red bus fort symbolism
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We stayed there for a while and this place has good information but we should have juts stay there for a shorter time.

Thank Gigi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Gigi R

Thanks for the review.

We would be delighted to get more feedback as to how this experience could be made more memorable for you.

Please feel free to engage with us at: info@constitutionhill.org.za to alert us of how we can improve your next visit with us.

Regards,

ConHill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Must visit in Pretoria. If during the Jacaranda season, a feast for the eyes...in fact thousands of blooming and fragrant trees to enthrall you all over Pretoria and also in Johannesburg (and elsewhere)

Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded today

Review noted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Very moving history but highly recommended. I do recommend this visit. This is so sad. The guides are very helpful and knowledgeable.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Alexismiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks for the great review! Please spread the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visiting the Constitutional Court was absolutely inspiring. The entire area is full of symbolism. The courtroom with the cattle hides and the beaded flag was beautiful.

Thank marymI2092ZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks for the great review! Please spread the word.

Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolute gem where you can lose yourself for hours and hours. My favorite is the Women's old jail. Spend some time in silence in one of the cells

Thank KajsaC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks for the great review!

Please spread the word.

Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This site is incredibly interesting. I am a South African and found it very insightful, it covers a large part of our history and I didn’t expect to be so moved. I am not sure if it would mean as much to foreign visitors, I would recommend having a slightly deeper background understanding of the country’s history (from 1900) before visiting.

Special mention also to Pearl, our guide for the full site tour (2hours). Pearl was a wealth of knowledge and provided great insight to how the prisoners lived and the contrast to the present day ConCourt.

Thank you!

Thank helensmuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks for the great review!

Please spread the word.

Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A visit to Constitutional Hill is a visit that every person should take more than once if possible, (whether a tourist or a South African). It’s a harrowing and extremely emotional tour for any visitor and not a tour that should be hurried. The tour guides are extremely informative and are to be commended on their extensive knowledge. A visit to the Concourt itself is a must and it’s wonderful to see the highest Court in the land being open to all (you can actually see the goings on through the glass panels if you don’t want to enter the Court itself). There are also many activities, concerts, art exhibitions etc which take place at the Constitutional Hill as well through the year so it comes alive again with music, laughter and joy. Every time you visit Constitutional Hill should not only be a time of quiet reflection on the past which will be tinged with sadness, but also one of hope and positiveness for the future of our wonderful country.

Thank Daydream62408959336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there,

Thanks for the great review and feedback! Hope to see you back soon please spread the word!

Warm regards,

​Constitution Hill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Parte de la Historia de Sudafrica. Cómo todas la prisiones son memoria de aquello que no quisieramos se volviera a repetir.

Part of the History of South Africa. How all prisons are memories of what we would not want to be repeated.

1  Thank santyfdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded today
Google Translation

¡¡Gracias por la gran crítica!! Pasa la voz. Espero verlos pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here on the first day of our holiday- really good exhibits on Gandhi and Mandela as well as other people connected to the struggle. Well preserved parts of the jail brought the history to life. Now a place of peace. Great to be able to go into the Court house too.
Thank you to the lovely museum staff who helped us when our hotel shuttle didn't turn up and they rang the hotel the hop on/ off bus also stops here which makes it a 'must!'

Thank Ilovetravel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks for the great review!

Please spread the word.

Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the 2-hour tour, our guide Brenda was very skilled.
We visited both male and female prison sections, Mandela’s cell, the Old Fort and then we had a tour of the Constitutional Court, a very symbolic place. We went inside the main courtroom because that day there wasn't any hearings (it’s something that in Europe wouldn’t be allowed) and we appreciated spending some minutes in such an important place for the latest years of South African history.
As though for Robben Island and Apartheid Museum, it’s a very interesting place not to be missed.

Thank flafla_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConHill-SA, Manager at Constitution Hill, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks for the great review!

Please spread the word.

Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews