We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg(Johannesburg)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$367
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Residence Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$321
US$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$221
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$227
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Mi Pi CHi(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$218
US$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
251
27
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
27
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosebank mallb bhome away from homewonderful hostsguest househighly recommend this guesthousewithin walking distancezoo lakea wonderful staylovely gardenbusy cityan oasisevery morningshort drivefresh fruitbreakfast was deliciousenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently spent almost 2 weeks at CG and had an extremely comfortable stay there. It's in a safe residential area with inside parking - and just a few blocks away from the Rosebank Mall and the Gautrain. Since I was on my own in a strange city, this was all very useful.

I really enjoyed the generous space of the suite - which is very private, away from the main house - yet still close enough to feel a part of the establishment and to enjoy the beauty of the gardens. At the end of my busy day I would come back in the evening to CG to find the room made cosy by underfloor heating - and lights on to welcome me back. These are the touches that make CG a special place.

Although the suite is self-catering I did take the option to have breakfast in the guest-house every day - and what a wonderful start to the day it was! The service given by Aaron and Mathias was excellent. Janine is extremely professional, friendly - without being intrusive - and willing to help in any way possible.

And by the way - I was given a discount for an extended stay - without expecting or asking for it.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the suite - good for a long stay if you like to spread yourself out - loads of cupboard space - very private and secure - and a well-eqipped kitchenette.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank immels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

I cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review of CG. I am so pleased we could help make your stay so comfortable during this trying time. All the very best to you, regards Janine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our second stay. It's perfectly located in the heart of leafy Johannesburg. The gardens are idyllic, the rooms luxurious and homely, filled with creative and quirky art. The breakfasts are delicious. Service is attentive and personal. Nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Spogarinoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It was truly great to see you both again and we hope you'll be back soon. Warm regards Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very nice, either for holiday or short term. Close to Gautrain and convenient.
Breakfast was very good and the place is immaculate.
I stayed for 4 weeks and was very comfortable. I had to change rooms so I had the best of 2 different rooms.

Room Tip: Very Very clean and comfortable
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Warm regards Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Staying in Cotswold Gardens is for me a bit coming home to South Africa.
It's an excellent start to visit the city and the country after a long flight from Amsterdam.
I specially love the room with the doors to the garden and the swimming pool.
Every morning the garden is lovely with birds flying around and you can even have your breakfast there.

Janine, Mike and the staff are lovely people who will give you advice and ideas for your stay.
The accommodation is very comfortable and a quiet hideaway in a hectic city.
The location is perfect and you can easily walk to Rosebank Mall.
At Rosebank I love to catch the Gautrain (to Park, Pretoria or the airport) which makes traveling around a pleasure.

For sure I will come back to Cotwold Gardens and Janine and Mike!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adekler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you love to stay at Cotswold Gardens. We look forward to seeing you very soon again. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Janine is an excellent and sweet host,you start feeling welcome the moment you make your reservation.
The place is neat and beautiful,the garden is lovely. The staff are friendly and helpful.
Rosebank Mall is a walk away from the hotel and also one feels safe to walk around as the area is all surrounded by security.

I will definitely visit the place again and already recommended it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms near the entrance are better,you dont need get to disturb other guests when coming in or going out.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marorisang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Marorisang, thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review of CG. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews