We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cotswold Gardens is friendly, clean, lovely and a great value.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Ranked #8 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Cotswold Gardens is friendly, clean, lovely and a great value.”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

If you want to avoid the bustling hotel atmosphere and prefer the quaintness and warmth of a fabulous B & B, then Cotswold is the place for you. Located in a truly lovely part of Joburg (Rosebank), it is within walking distance of nice restaurants and shopping. The owners, the Hobbs, are always there to help with ideas and information about the area and Southern Africa in general. Lovely art pieces line the walls and the rooms are cozy and spacious. A great value and I highly recommend Cotswold Gardens!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornalodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
52
37
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long beach
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Cotswold gardens was very inviting after a long 22 hour flight. The rooms were very quaint, the service very hospitable, and grounds very tranquil. A close walk to an upscale mall and eclectic African market places this beautiful bed and breakfast at the perfect and safe location. We look forward to returning to this establishment where we felt like we were home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TlcLongbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Cotswold Gardens is the perfect place to stay in Johannesburg. The B&B is conveniently located to all major attractions and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. And the breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceciliab84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My fourth time in Joburg and third time in Cotswold Gardens. The rooms are large, cozy (they have heating) and very clean. Excellent money´s worth. The owners, Mike and Janine are always around to make sure we are very well taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOuakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We booked the whole place for the time of the Soccer World Cup 2010 after our excellent experiences during the Confederations Cup in 2009. Cotswold Gardens is a perfect place to stay. The owners Janine and Mike Hobbs make you feel like being home just as Maria an Aaron who prepare not only a great breakfast but give you a wonderful feeling of being welcomed. All prejudices of Joburg as a dangerous and violent city are wiped away in this wonderful oasis... Whenever going back to JNB I will return to Cotswold Gardens... Arne Richter (dpa)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

The rooms were large clean and well appointed.
The service was excellent.
The house and gardens are lovely and the location is very central and easily accessed.
The owners were exceedingly accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carcharius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

During the World Cup this was our newsroom , our base camp and our retretat. The owners Janine & Mike as well as the staff (Maria & Aaron) go the extra mile in order to have their clients satiesfied. It's a remarkable caring and unintrusive attention they offer to their guests, who feel immediately at home and amongst friends. This is a little oasis of well being in the very heart of Jo'burg!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilionParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
391 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
715 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gardens Guest House

Property: Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Address: 46 Cotswold Drive | Saxonwold, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gardens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Gardens in Saxonwold Johannesburg is a 4 Star guesthouse offering peace, tranquility and the very best in personal attention.Our rooms are clean and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. The house is warm and inviting in winter and in summer, relaxing in the garden to the sounds of many different species of birdlife brings joy to many of our guests. We are great art lovers and this can be seen by the many examples of artwork displayed in all of the rooms. We offer a full English breakfast which our guests have always raved about. Our two self-catering suites are in great demand. They are fully equipped and perfect for long stays. They are perfect for a single person or a couple. Our location is without a doubt one of our main attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing