We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family-atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob's Bunk House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bob's Bunk House
Bramsche, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family-atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

great atmosphere and very helpfull and friendly owners (Bob and Joan). Safe area and everything you may need pretty close by. Especially recomendable for the beginning or the end of a RSA-holiday (pretty close to the AP - JNB; Bob's doing AP-transfers).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuNameNeeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
39Design, Owner at Bob's Bunk House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Bramsche,

Thanks for the review. Yes, we are pretty close to everything & our guests do feel safe walking to the shops & restaurants etc.

Bob & Joan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    9
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
13
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 5nights in November 2013 and it was the best hostel we have ever stayed in. Bob and Joan are so friendly, very helpful and treat you like family. We are planning another trip to visit January 2015 and we will definitely be stopping here again. Thank you for looking after us!! Charlotte and Chris

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelaholic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

My travel partner and I both felt well at home at Bob and Joan's. The hostel couldn't have suited our needs any more! Our trip started off rough with our airline delaying our luggage for a good 3 days and they were more than accommodating as we needed to stay longer than our original plan. Place was very clean, located close to a few good places to eat and a supermarket, had great contacts for tours and local transportation.

Very comfortable and had great company! This would be a great place for any backpacker traveling through Joburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed at a few places in Joburg and this is one of the best. It's clean and the price is reasonable. Bob and Joan are wonderful hosts. They would help you with anything you need. I come here a few times a year. There is a place outside you can relax. I guess if you come at the right time you can also swim in the pool. The thing with Joburg is that there is no public transport. As a result, you have to spend a lot of money on taxis though this has nothing with the guest house. I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo Pulmo, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights before flying back to the UK. Bob is lovely, tea and toast in the morning. Really makes you feel at home. Everything clean. And the pool is lush. And it's really close to the airport! Highly recommend! Thanks bob!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasjalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I have stayed here at bobs bunkhouse on several occasions now and each time I have been greeted with a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere, as has every other guest which I have seen arrive here no matter where they came from. It is in a nice area where you are free and safe to walk to the local shops and restaurants. I would certainly recommend this hostle to anyone visiting Johannesburg and will be returning myself. Truly a home away away from home

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jthomasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed here with my twin daughters as we were on a journey to Cape Town for a wedding. They were accommodating with putting myself & my small girls separate. My girls loved the feeling of a home and to sit outside & eat breakfast while you feel the fresh air all around.
Security is good that is why they are choose their patrons with care and don't allow just anyone in.
It is South Africa and we all know the crime rate.
They were over all the best and I have stayed in some scary places in Europe with very unfriendly people.
So thank you Bob & Joan for the care you take.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
7.1 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#2 of 96 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#7 of 96 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.8 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Bunk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Bunk House

Property: Bob's Bunk House
Address: 40 St Anne Road | Hurlyvale Edenvale, Johannesburg 1610, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bob's Bunk House is a comfortable hostel and guest house with a warm friendly atmosphere conveniently situated 10 minutes from Johannesburg International Airport. This is also the ideal venue for a base to explore all the Gauteng region has to offer. Bob's Bunk House is close to shopping centres, pubs, flea markets, restaurants and cinemas. There is a variety of rooms available ranging from hostel rooms to double en-suite rooms. All rooms are sunny, bright and comfortable. The lounge and TV room is available for guests' use and is the perfect spot to relax. Bob's Bunk House has been providing outstanding accommodation in Johannesburg to backpackers, tourists and business professionals since 1999. We are the Johannesburg hostel of choice for many regular visitors to Gauteng. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bob's Bunk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing