We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great, but some entertainment things broken” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great, but some entertainment things broken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

A very welcoming place to stay in Soweto with good vibes. Problem is that a lot of entertainment stuff doesn't work. example: pool table is broken, no ball for fooseball, and 1 of 2 TVs doesn't work. But all the bathrooms and important stuff works fine. It was just a little disappointing.

definitely do the bike tour. If you do the 4 hour tour, you dont need a helmet. if you do the full day, you DO need a helmet (they are available at Lebo's but optional)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaLebo, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Hi! Thanks for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy you chose Soweto as one of your destinations. We do apologize that you found some of the entertainment not up to standard, sometimes things get broken or some of the kids mess around ;). We do however try to fix things as soon as we can. The best thing with Soweto however is that entertainment is right on our doorstep with a vibrant friendly community, cool music in our beach bar and all our friendly staff at the Backpackers! :) Hope to see you back one day and challenge you in a game of pool ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    41
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
52
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We wanted to explore Soweto from the inside so decided to stay at Lebo's Backpackers .....stay in Soweto and take their cycle tour.

Lebo's is a great little backpackers...rooms are basic but clean and tidy. The team who run it are friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere is relaxed and chilled out.

We had our 3 young kids with us and they found it a fun place to explore, climbing the tree to the secret lookout and playing with the table soccer etc.

We had limited time so opted for the 2 hour bike tour which was great fun....not too hard work......and very informative and entertaining The tour guides were both fun and informative.

If you want to see Soweto from the inside...dont hestitate to stay at Lebo's..we'll be back

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlandshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Beautiful backpackers with a great vibe! Please make some time during your holidays to spend at Lebo's backpackers! Great garden to spend your evenings around the campfire, dancing and relaxing with other travellers and friends of Lebo. During the day you can do a cycle tour in Soweto (awesome!) or discover Johannesburg. The food is delicious, the atmosphere is great, the sanitary is very clean, the environment is unforgettable! It was a real highlight during our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fwouters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Great nice arranged backpackers hotel, friendly and competent staff, good dinner if you want to, nice fire with people playing music, dancing, drinking and telling their stories... The 4-hour bike tour is a perfect way to discover Soweto, with local guides who make you discover cultural and historical aspects... Hope to come back there!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Great people, great experience. Stopped up most nights in the garden, listening to music round the fire chatting to Lebo his wife and all of there friends
Had an amazing time, the bike ride was an highlight of our whole travelling experience in Africa.
Would definately come again
Cheers guys, keep up the good work

Room Tip: definately go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flynny1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaLebo, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for your positive review, we are glad you had such a great time with all of us at Lebo's. Hope to see you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Great vibe, good food, if you have one day in Johannesburg, spend it at Lebo's Backpackers. Great base to visit the Apartheid Museum, Nelson Mandela's House and the Hector Peterson Museum from. Phone ahead and book your evening meal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers three separate times over a two and a half month trip. When I am in the Johannesburg area, I would never consider staying anywhere but Lebo's! The accommodations are exactly what I needed, the food is great, the staff is friendly, the owners are amazing, and the set-up of the place is wonderful! After staying there a few times, I feel like it is a place I can call home. Lebo, Maria, and all the staff there became good friends. I cannot wait until I can return.
-Mude Mude

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaLebo, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Hi George and thanks for your positive review! We had a great time with you and appreciate all the time you spent in Soweto and our Backpackers! Keep well and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
7.9 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
10.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
8.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#2 of 96 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.5 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#9 of 96 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#7 of 96 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lebo's Soweto Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Property: Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Address: 10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lebo's Soweto Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lebo's Soweto Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebo`s Soweto Backpackers Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing