We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here for your quintessential tour of Soweto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Not only a great funky backpacker hostel, but also the place to book your bike tour of Soweto. If you are not feeling energetic or have younger children with you, ask for the TukTuk tour version. Great fun and less exhausting too. But book ahead as they only have a few tuktuk's. Plentybof bike's though.

We saw and learnt about a whole new side of Soweto, and this tour certainly displaced a lot of preconceptions for us. Well worth the 4 hours! At the end you head back to the backpackers for an easy lunch, with a local flavour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turcinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

A very welcoming place to stay in Soweto with good vibes. Problem is that a lot of entertainment stuff doesn't work. example: pool table is broken, no ball for fooseball, and 1 of 2 TVs doesn't work. But all the bathrooms and important stuff works fine. It was just a little disappointing.

definitely do the bike tour. If you do the 4 hour tour, you dont need a helmet. if you do the full day, you DO need a helmet (they are available at Lebo's but optional)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaLebo, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Hi! Thanks for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy you chose Soweto as one of your destinations. We do apologize that you found some of the entertainment not up to standard, sometimes things get broken or some of the kids mess around ;). We do however try to fix things as soon as we can. The best thing with Soweto however is that entertainment is right on our doorstep with a vibrant friendly community, cool music in our beach bar and all our friendly staff at the Backpackers! :) Hope to see you back one day and challenge you in a game of pool ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We wanted to explore Soweto from the inside so decided to stay at Lebo's Backpackers .....stay in Soweto and take their cycle tour.

Lebo's is a great little backpackers...rooms are basic but clean and tidy. The team who run it are friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere is relaxed and chilled out.

We had our 3 young kids with us and they found it a fun place to explore, climbing the tree to the secret lookout and playing with the table soccer etc.

We had limited time so opted for the 2 hour bike tour which was great fun....not too hard work......and very informative and entertaining The tour guides were both fun and informative.

If you want to see Soweto from the inside...dont hestitate to stay at Lebo's..we'll be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlandshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Beautiful backpackers with a great vibe! Please make some time during your holidays to spend at Lebo's backpackers! Great garden to spend your evenings around the campfire, dancing and relaxing with other travellers and friends of Lebo. During the day you can do a cycle tour in Soweto (awesome!) or discover Johannesburg. The food is delicious, the atmosphere is great, the sanitary is very clean, the environment is unforgettable! It was a real highlight during our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwouters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Great nice arranged backpackers hotel, friendly and competent staff, good dinner if you want to, nice fire with people playing music, dancing, drinking and telling their stories... The 4-hour bike tour is a perfect way to discover Soweto, with local guides who make you discover cultural and historical aspects... Hope to come back there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Great people, great experience. Stopped up most nights in the garden, listening to music round the fire chatting to Lebo his wife and all of there friends
Had an amazing time, the bike ride was an highlight of our whole travelling experience in Africa.
Would definately come again
Cheers guys, keep up the good work

Room Tip: definately go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flynny1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaLebo, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you for your positive review, we are glad you had such a great time with all of us at Lebo's. Hope to see you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Great vibe, good food, if you have one day in Johannesburg, spend it at Lebo's Backpackers. Great base to visit the Apartheid Museum, Nelson Mandela's House and the Hector Peterson Museum from. Phone ahead and book your evening meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
7.1 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
7.8 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
8 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
12.3 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
192 reviews
9.3 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#3 of 123 in Johannesburg
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lebo's Soweto Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Address: 10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range: £10 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lebo's Soweto Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Lebo's Soweto Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebo`s Soweto Backpackers Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing