We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Quiet Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 2B Happy Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
2B Happy Accommodation
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Quiet Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed for 3 weeks in April 2014 as a break from work, visiting some friends and just relaxing.
The private room was cozy with queen sized bed, huge wardrobe, massive windows and door going outside.
The private bathroom assigned to the room while not that private (used by other people staying a few times) was quite nice, a large bathtub and shower.

All the staff where quite nice and friendly, they were busy most of the day cleaning the house/garden and were easy to find.

Location is very far away from anything notable in Joburg, which is a downside. Umoja has long left victory theater which was 5mins walk away. I used taxibuses, yeoville taxi service and Uber (private taxi) during the trip, was no real difficulty getting anywhere. It was 11rand to Hillbrow or Alexandra, both pretty notable places to visit. Area was quite safe as its mostly sandwiched between private residencies with flats along the main road.

The location is across the road from a huge private venue and near a church, it did get quite loud on weekends. The rooms thick curtains did block most of the noise, but was a little bit of a con.

Wifi was 150Rand for 3GB, pretty affordable with red button.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nephilimx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, Manager at 2B Happy Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hey D,

Thanks for the best review and enjoying the 3wks of your stay. We hope to see you again. Love the photos.

Patience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubeck, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Pros: Rooms are spacious,
kitchen is well equiped

Cons:
There are cat and dog that are allowed to go everywhere, even in the kitchen and the bedrooms of guests,
the hostel is not located as they announce, even so there are some very small supermarkets, there is no real puplic live around. (Bigger supermarket is 1,8km away),
The wifi is limited to 20MB no matter how long you stay at the hostel,
stuff isn't really friendly and helpful
you don't get a key for the main gate, which is allways closed due to safty reasons. So you always have to aske the stuff to let you out/in. And cause the bell is broken they want you to text them when you are back again, and without an SIM of ZA that get's soon very expensive

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, Owner at 2B Happy Accommodation, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We do not recognize your name though. We aim to ensure the safety of our guests at all times. Only guests in self catering units get their own gate remote. Due to heavy rains we had our problems with our gate intercom. It has been fixed since. Our dog has never been allowed in the house, unless when under stress due to lightning and fireworks and then in the kitchen only. Our kitten is being trained most of our guests love her. We would like to refer you to our website regarding information about the area and our backpacker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I rented the Africa Cottage with my two small children. Before arrival I was happy to find accomodations that accepted children, after arrival we were elated that it was also so beautiful at 2B Happy!!! We later found out that 2B Happy has the total package, safe, clean accomodations, the best customer service we've ever had, and other friendly visitors. when you hear backpackers lodge many assume its dirty and not well kept. But 2B Happy is nicer than many luxury hotels. We dealt mainly with Patience during our stay. She went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay and were able to fulfill life dreams (like going on an affordable African safari!). She was kind, loving, and helped us organize our days. We are forever grateful for our experience there and will be sure to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1GlobalEcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#31 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.7 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#2 of 96 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#3 of 96 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
4.7 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#9 of 96 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
#14 of 96 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2B Happy Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2B Happy Accommodation

Property: 2B Happy Accommodation
Address: 11 Hope Road | Orange Grove, Johannesburg 2192, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2B Happy offers some of the best self catering accommodation in Johannesburg and some of the most affordable too - without compromising on comfort or convenience. Our guest house is the ideal base for any exploration of the area, and our location means you have easy access to public transport as well as a wide range of amenities.As well as family and guest accommodation, we provide backpackers accommodation. We're confident we offer some of the best value for money accommodation in the area.You'll find 2B Happy provides a refreshing difference from many of the guest houses in Johannesburg, and our friendly team make sure a safe and relaxed atmosphere is maintained at all times. We're dedicated to ensuring your stay is as comfortable as possible and we'll always go the extra mile to make you feel at home. With a choice of accommodation ranging from self-contained guest houses to our four-bed dorm room for girls and our six-bed dorm for guys. There's something for everyone, and every budget too. Relax in the garden and soak up the sun or enjoy the pleasures of an open-air braai or boma on the cooler nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 2B Happy Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing