We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best thing about this place is the staff......” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westpoint Executive Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westpoint Executive Suites
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best thing about this place is the staff......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed here for the past 12 nights, was checked into an apartment on level 5 or 6 but after 24hrs asked to be moved as there were a number of issues with stuff not working as well as the apartment being generally worn. SHower head was also awful, barely lets out water to wash your hair, and the floor to the shower is broken tiles set into cement. Yuk. There was a LOT of traffic noise on this level, as the apartment is set on the corner of 2 very busy roads. Traffic noise commences around 6am for a good 12 hrs Mon - Fri.

Staff moved me 24hrs later into an apartment on the 11th floor (highest floor is 12th), that was of a much nicer fresher standard. However Water pressure was really poor, and the shower floor was still broken tiles set into cement. The apartment was much nicer and cleaner than the one on the lower level and a LOT quieter in terms of traffic noise. Kitchen is well-stocked so you can happily cook if you want to. The cleaner comes Mon - Fri and washes dishes, does laundry and irons, all for no additional fee, major bonus.

Balcony was tiny, could barely fit one single chair, but the view was quite pleasant overlooking other apartment blocks set into green leafy Sandton.

At no time during the 12 days was I able to connect to the Internet, the wireless signal was all over the place and completely unstable, which caused me some issues as I was in JHB on a work trip.

The proximity to shops/supermarkets/restaurants etc is great, you can get to most places you need in 10 mins on foot. Onsite parking is available and secure.

The staff were the real highlight of this place, especially Shaii the reservations lady, she went over and above to try to assist me, thank you very much. Given my mixed feelings on this one am not sure I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so the all-day traffic noise does not bother you too much, and get an apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DameDuFerAustralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    56
    14
    3
    12
See reviews for
47
8
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have stayed at Westpoint Executive Suites a number of times in the past few years, and I can highly recommend it. The location is very convenient, within a safe 10-minute walk of Benmore Gardens Shopping Mall, and just a bit further to Sandton City with its upscale shops, restaurants, and attractions, including the beautiful Nelson Mandela Square. Westpoint has a great management team which efficiently overseas the property, assuring that no detail is overlooked. The apartments, while small, are carefully designed and thoroughly outfitted. (I have never stayed in a serviced, executive apartment with such a thoughtfully outfitted kitchen.) There is a small gym, a fantastic outdoor recreation area with huge swimming pool and green lawns, and a breakfast cafe. Everything is kept spotlessly clean, and the security system is state-of-the-art fingerprint technology. Beautiful views from the large windows facing the pool area, but very tiny balconies which hardly accommodate two small chairs.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Secure apartments with functional amenities. Ideal for short term family stay. Neat and clean with fully equipped kitchen. The property has good security. A functional gym is useful for the fitness conscious. A nice braai area in the courtyard makes it ideal to have parties

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors and closer to the lift and not in the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtripmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I attended an Exhibition at the Sandton Exhibition Centre opposite Mandela Square in Johannesburg, September 2011. A nearby hotel was imperative. Most of the hotels in the area I thought were overly expensive and an internet search suggested this venue. Because the price was more in keeping with what I had in mind I was really surprised and pleased with the actual suite itself.
The price is per suite and because each has two rooms this would make this an excellent choice for a family as well as a business person like myself. The photos show the suite's seating lounge, Kitchen and dining areas. Each bedroom has its own ensuite. The company website has a lot more info.

Altogether I would rate this highly. Paying in Sterling it cost £80.00 per night or 880 Rand.
Each suite is allocated two parking bays where the entry is security controlled by using fingerprint recognition.

Plenty of restaurants nearby. They also serve breakfast if you wish.

This is definitely worth a look.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite in the West Road South wing facing the pool for no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#32 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#26 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpoint Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Executive Suites

Property: Westpoint Executive Suites
Address: 89 Grayston Drive | cnr West Road & Grayston, Morningside, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westpoint Executive Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a prime location in the heart of Sandton's business district, Westpoint Executive Suites is just steps away from Sandton City, Nelson Mandela Square, The Gautrain Station and Sandton Convention Centre. With 90 impeccable and spacious serviced apartment suites, our apartment suites provide both the business and leisure traveller with a comfortable and affordable, home away from home, with all the conveniences one would expect in an up market hotel, at a fraction of the price. Each of our elegantly furnished apartments are equipped with a 32-inch LCD TV, with DSTV Explora and a DVD player. Our apartments each boast a stunning view of the city, flowing out onto a balcony. Every kitchen is fully equipped, down to the washing machine and dryer, to accommodate any and all self-catering needs. Our Spacious Urban Garden boasts an Olympic sized swimming pool and fantastic gas barbequing facilities which are available to all guests. We have become the "home" for many top business executives, families and leisure travellers who visit the affluent city of Johannesburg. At Westpoint Executive Suites it can be said that we offer "The Best of Both Worlds", the comforts of home with the conveniences of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Westpoint Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing