We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation, but service failed to live up to the same standard.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tintswalo at Waterfall
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2009

In trying to be ‘attentive’, they failed to deliver the basics: champagne on arrival but check in was chaos – my bags went to the room, but I wasn’t shown where it was - ‘we all arrived at once’ being the issue.

We stayed 4 nights, had breakfast every day and dined in 2 evenings. Breakfast took an hour, including on average 20 mins to get a cup of coffee. Anything used in the room e.g. tea, coffee, mini bar, shampoo was not replaced. We were never asked to sign a food or drinks bill, so check out was a complete lottery as to what had been charged to whom.

Unfortunately the overall sense I have been left with is a hotel out to make money without caring about repeat business i.e. charging R2000 for the hotel minibus to take us to dinner 15 mins away.

One or two night stay may be fine as these issues would not have surfaced, but I wouldn’t return unless the service culture changes significantly

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TourMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2009

This hotel is a boutique hotel at its best. It is stunningly attractive and luxurious and at the same time has a very friendly homely air. The staff could not be more helpful. The bedrooms are enormous and wonderful with every possible need catered for including wonderful views. All the meals we had were very good and great value for money.
Some small downsides that didnt bother us but may not suit some - the pool is very small and the gym is in a building at the other side of the extensive grounds. Fine in good weather but perhaps not so great on a cold dark night. Security is not an issue however as the grounds are extensively patrolled.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alicemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The Tintswalo at Waterfall was absolutely lovely and they really looked after us very well for our one night there. The hotel has a unique barn style design (don't let the word barn put you off!!). It is quite open plan and has a spacious airy feel to it. They had lovely open log fires when we were there in May (added to the cosy feel, but it wasn't really cold outside, so it was a bit weird). The rooms are themed on different horse breeds and all slightly different and limited enough in number to make it feel special. The bedrooms are large and very luxurious with lovely bathrooms and a nice balcony. I think we might have been the only ones staying because the staff were incredibly attentive to all our needs and made us feel very special. The food was fantastic and the breakfast was unreal, enough to keep you going for a whole week! They do spa treatments too, but we didn't have time to experience them. The hotel chauffeured us to a local shopping complex and it cost very little. We only stayed over on our way to safari, but if you have to spend any time in and around Jo'berg, you'll have trouble beating this place for quality.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GulliverRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

I stayed 2 nights at this property outside of Johannesburg. The staff and the property cannot be beat. It is beautiful and they can't do enough for you. I would not hesitate to put anyone there. The continental breakfast has a great selection and all the meals were wonderful. It is in a nice quiet area where you can walk around.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christy2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank MA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier_GRYSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloCEO, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
10.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
9.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
767 reviews
7.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
360 reviews
19.4 mi away
Thaba Eco Hotel
Thaba Eco Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
276 reviews
8.7 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo at Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo at Waterfall

Address: Cnr R55 & Maxwell Drive | Waterfall City, Johannesburg 1684, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £199 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo at Waterfall 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique urban boutique hotel close to the Johannesburg CBD and within short distance from major international airports. Sixteen luxurious rooms on a 230 hectare secure estate. Guests also enjoy the culinary delights offered by The Feedroom Restaurant, situated on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tintswalo at Waterfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing