We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and private” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Life on 3rd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Life on 3rd
Ranked #19 of 290 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Peaceful and private”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

It's home away from home. I had a comfortable stay and the host (Lidia) was very hospitable. I would definitely love to visit again. I loved the privacy of the place and the fact that they could assist in every way possible. The rooms are nicely decorated and very spacious.

Room Tip: The room facing the gate had a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryAnne285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    46
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
46
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is a really trendy place that makes you feel right at home. Based in a nice safe area its perfect to explore Jo'burg from and has many good bars and restaurants really near by. The rooms very nice and airy. The décor is really great and the common areas are comfortable and welcoming. Staff were friendly and willing to help with any queries.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnIrishView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Great place, great people!
The rooms are confortable, the decoration is charming, the house is beautiful and the service is fantastic. And of course, the breakfest is delicious!
The neighbourhood is quiet and not so far from the street with the best pubs and restaurants and Joberg.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabiolaGrzybowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Can't say enough about this B&B. The rooms are well appointed and the staff are the friendliest people you'll ever meet. I felt like family for the month I was there. The food is delicious and the rooms are cleaned daily. quite possibly the nicest living arrangement I will ever experience.

Room Tip: One of the top floor rooms is the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 464NPeterson464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

My stay at Life on 3rd was fantastic!! Damien was awesome at helping me get my trip in order. Big Boy was a great driver for the airport transfers and getting us safely to and from the daily excursions. The breakfasts were an delicious way to start the day. I felt right at home during my stay. I cannot tell you how much I appreciated all of the attention and help that I received during my stay in Jo'burg!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelguides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

On a 21 day visit from the UK we stayed for five nights and loved it. Convenient location, friendly and attentive staff, great breakfasts. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dharmabumGodalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We arrived an hour after check-in time officially closed. Therefore, it is likely we received the worst room. This still doesn't excuse the fact that there was no bathroom door. Instead there is a door directly from the main hallway to the bathroom. This door is secured, but this didn't make me feel any better about the fact that anyone passing by likely could hear our every step while we were in the bathroom. The room was quite small. Late into the night and quite early in the morning you could hear clanging outside the window. This came from an outdoor metal staircase connecting one of the upper level rooms directly with the back of the building.
Breakfast was good and the outdoor patio appeared like it could be a cute place for a cup of tea and the newspaper. The owner, I forget her name, was quite friendly and arranged for a taxi for us. Still, avoid room 2.

Room Tip: avoid room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank occasionaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Room 2 is one of our Standard Rooms. Not too big, not too small. Just right . It has an ensuite bathroom - see pictures. A lot of 5 Star establishments have ensiute bathrooms without doors. I sense a bit of a paranoid personality here - the bathroom floor is a concrete floor, so nobody can 'hear your every step'. The passageway to this room is shared with our nightmanager - no other guests !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#20 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
motel Mi Pi CHi
motel Mi Pi CHi
#15 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Green Guest House
Village Green Guest House
#9 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life on 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life on 3rd

Property: Life on 3rd
Address: 28 a Third Street, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Life on 3rd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Life on 3rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing