We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Life on 3rd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Life on 3rd
Ranked #32 of 305 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a great time - Life on 3rd could comfortably accommodate 10 of us each in a very comfortable room. The breakfast was amazing. Bernard, Lydia and the rest of the staff were especially helpful from providing restaurant recommendations to providing me with an extra charger for my computer. The breakfast was especially delicious and while my colleagues enjoyed their eggs and meats, I especially enjoyed the fresh fruit and yogurts and the variety of cereals. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi Magh M.....:-)

Thanks so much for a such a marvellous review. It was a pleasure having you and your colleagues to stay with us. You were all so friendly and seemed to really enjoyed the guesthouse. It was great to be able to recommend the restaurant and Im glad you had a good time there. Everyone usually enjoys the breakfasts and of course we're glad you did too. We hope to see you again when back in SA. Kind regards, Bernard, Lydia and the team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Life on 3rd is a great destination in Melville. We were traveling with my girlfriend and his parents. We had a great time there and wonderful help and tips for all activities from the staff. The bed and breakfast has a great location and is very close to restaurants and bars. The must is the breakfast which is amazing. We definitely recommend Life on 3rd!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Renan3556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hello

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you rated us so highly. We try very hard to please our guests wherever we can, so we appreciate a good review from a happy guest. If you are back in SA at some stage we would love to have you stay with us again. Please recommend us to your friends! Thanks so much.

Kind regards
Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Always enjoy my business trip stay overs at Life on 3rd. Lovely staff, top notch rooms, secure parking, great location - very central for the travelling business man and the best breakfast in Johannesburg..


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BruceArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your response. We appreciate great reviews and thanks for taking the time out to write it. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location with lots of restaurants in walking distance, very helpful staff, very nice breakfast and a lovely nights sleep. Thanks very much for a lovely stay. We enjoyed the tour of Soweto and the local restaurant, we will try to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hi C C

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again as we are planning some upgrades which were sure you will appreciate.

Warm regards

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall my stay was comfortable. There is limited parking space, so my car had to be parked in the street overnight, but there was a 24-hour guard on duty, so I felt at ease. The service it great, and so is the breakfast. It was nice that there was an extra blanket, an electric blanket and a heater in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hi Ronel

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do understand that parking can be an issue sometimes. As Melville is an older suburb with smaller properties that is one of the things we have to deal with I'm afraid. We are pleased that we do have the security guard on our corner and thank you for your understanding. We hope to see you again as we are planning some improvements. We would appreciate a "like" on Facebook! Thanks again!

Kind regards
Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Exactly what I needed. Just the right balance between professional and homey.
Thanks for a great stay, I will probably stay here again if I have to work in the area. The parking seems a bit unorganised, but once you got used to it it works.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ilse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hi there,
Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that as a business guest, you enjoyed your stay. We think the charm of Melville lies in the smaller older properties and because of this, sometimes there is not a lot of parking space. However, we do appreciate your understanding though. We hope to see you again soon if you're in our area.

Once again, thank you for writing your review. We appreciate all reviews!

Kind regards
Bernard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Location is fine but you cannot walk at night. Room is okay. Breakfast is good. The treatment was just fine but could have been nicer. Nothing more to add. Dont understand why the ask to fill 200 characters... : !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hello

Thank you for writing your review. I am the new owner of Life on 3rd so felt I had to respond to your review. I apologize if you felt that our staff were not to your satisfaction. I will certainly let them read your comments. Most other reviews are favourable in this regard. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast though. We hope to see you again as we are planning some improvements to the rooms and the B and B in general and would appreciate the opportunity to improve your experience next time.

We appreciate all reviews. Thank you.

Kind regards
Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0 mi away
Blu Trea
Blu Trea
#15 of 305 in Johannesburg
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 305 in Johannesburg
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#13 of 305 in Johannesburg
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Village Green Guest House
Village Green Guest House
#12 of 305 in Johannesburg
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 305 in Johannesburg
196 reviews
6.7 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#161 of 305 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life on 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life on 3rd

Address: 28 a Third Street | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £32 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Life on 3rd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life on 3rd is a 14 roomed establishment in the heart of Melville, a quirky and bohemian village in Johannesburg. We will provide you with comfortable accommodation, efficient and kind service as well as a delicious breakfast! We offer free wifi and are more than willing to help arrange tours, taxis and airport shuttles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Life on 3rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing