We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chance visit”
Review of Agterplaas B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agterplaas B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We found ourselves in Johannesburg, coming in from Harare on business, and needed accommodation for an additional few days when our trip was extended. By chance we came upon this excellent place. The accommodation, welcome, breakfast and general standard is of a level you will not find elsewhere. This place is also excellent value for money and you will not find finer in Johannesburg and I will vouch certain for that.
The owners have furnished their premises with a beautiful, old style, antique charm, but with all mod-cons. The staff are superb and the owners lovely.
We travel regularly to South Africa and have stayed in many places. This is a gem!
Two very minor criticisms:
Can we have a simpler key system?
You must improve broadband internet access.
Excellent in every respect

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have been going to Die Agterplaas for the last four or five years and have always found it good value, comfortable and easy-going. Breakfasts are excellent. Rooms are a good size, some with nice views of Melville Koppies (hills). The staff are helpful and know the whole city very well, so they will give you tips about where to eat, what to see etc. You sometimes get to meet locals whos drop in for breakfast. The place has two entrances: the main one is on 6th Avenue but you also get a key to a gate opening straight onto 7th Street, which is where all the bars and restaurants are.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWilkes1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed here for one night at the end of our south african trip. Needed a Sat Nav to find it but worth it. Lovely greeting from Richard who filled us in on everything we needed to know! Quaint house full of antiques and with a homely old fashion look but comfortable and breakfast was good. Its advantage is being in Melville which is a lovely lively suburb and the restaurants and bars are on the doorstep. Ate a wonderful meal in Lucky Bean just across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is a lovely B and B with very comfortable rooms, friendly staff and good breakfasts. It is two minutes to walk to Melville,s main street with all it's shops and cafes. My only criticism would be the trip we were sold to Soweto which was e pensive short and rather stuffy. Other than that an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryncel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I was part of the Deutche Welle team of international journalists that covered the 2010 FIFA World Cup. We stayed at Die Agterplaas for the who six week period. We had a very good time at the guest house whose meaning from Africaans to English we were told means 'The Backyard.' The staff is very friendly, the food is lovely. Badia is such a great chef. The rooms are very clean and homely. The guesthouse is near 7th street which is ideal for shopping and tasting several exotic cuisines. I recommend it to all visitors to the great city of Johannesburg

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view and aeration
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farouk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

stayed here for most of our trip and it was great. clean, quiet, green and my ideal kine of hospitality - ie very helpful about anything, but not hovering. in a great location near good restaurants, bars and small shops. good buffet breakfast and the cheapest, fastest laundry service ever. the furniture in the rooms is kind of functional, and the lighting could be better, but overall an excellent place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karl_w10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

The highlight of this stay was that they arranged for an older black gentleman nicknamed Opa to show us around downtown Joburg and Soweto. He had lived through apartheid and the struggles of the 70s, 80s, and 90s. He took us to all the sights...Apartheid Museum, Desmond Tutu's church, Mandela's house, the sights in Soweto. The Band B is in the beautiful and charming suburb of Melville. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, breakfast was abundant, and we could do our laundry. We could walk to restaurants and shopping. They also provided airport pickup and return. I recommend very highly.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneG0772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
6.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
349 reviews
3.2 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#3 of 124 in Johannesburg
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 301 in Johannesburg
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.9 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#161 of 301 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
5.5 mi away
Marathon Lodge
Marathon Lodge
#54 of 124 in Johannesburg
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agterplaas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agterplaas B&B

Address: 66 Sixth Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range: £55 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agterplaas B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agterplaas B&B is a piece of countryside in the heart of Johannesburg. We are a hundred meters from " 7de laan’s" boutiques, book stores, pubs and restaurants, but supper can also be enjoyed by appointment where we overlook the Melville “Koppies”. We are centrally situated - close to UJ, Wits, Helen Joseph- and Milpark-hospitals, Mediapark and the SABC, with a bus route close by. Airport and Gautrain transfers are available on request at competitive prices. There is also the Melville E-Tuk Tuk for short trips – even as fasr as the Rosebank Gautrain Station. Our rooms are all en suite with wi fi internet access, backed up by a 24-hour helpline. We offer a bouquet of DSTV – channels, complimentary cool drinks and coffee/tea facilities and our rooms are equipped with heaters and fans. Our motto is old-world tranquility and affordable comfort. In general we are disabled-friendly but one of our units and a kitchen facility are geared specifically to accommodate guests in wheelchairs. We have partners in the hospitality and tourism trade in Johannesburg including with a conference facility directly opposite our premises and a Soweto-guide of the highest order. Furthermore we have in house know-how in the organizing of informative, adventure or gallivanting tours in South-Africa. When we need to accommodate groups bigger than our own capacity, we have close connections with other guesthouses in our immediate vicinity. Our tariffs for groups and also for longer stays are always negotiable, depending on availability. A special discount applies to educational institutions Apart from a full variety of vegetarian and warm breakfasts for our sleepover guests, we are faithfully supported by regulars from our vicinity - including people of the media and arts – from as early as 06h00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Agterplaas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing