We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agterplaas B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agterplaas B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best service ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Nice, quet b&b although in the middle of Melville. You have quick access to 7th avenue (= restaurants etc.) via back gate. Very nice breakfast, wi-fi, excellent service from friendly staff (especially the waitress/chef with her incredible smile). Clean room, fresh towels. I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: rooms 1-3, they have sliding doors as separate entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    35
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
31
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have been to “Die Agterplaas” first in 2007, we liked the place, so we decided to sleep again there for our 2 night-stay in Joburg at the end of our safari in South Africa in August 2013.
The B&B is located in Melville, a nice area with several restaurants and pubs.
Rooms are very cozy and clean (ours had king size bed) and there is a safe inside, the dining room - where breakfast is served - is lovely!
Jannie, the owner, is a musician, he’s very welcoming and kind. All the staff is very kind as well.
Breakfast is delicious, with a very wide choice of food to be ordered (waiting time: no more than 5 minutes!) and a buffet with cereals, fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, …. They even make 2-3 kind of fresh home-made bread.
If you ask in advance you can have dinner there, we pre-booked our dinner and Badia, the in-house chef, cooked for us a delicious starter with avocado and tuna, bobotie with sambals and chutney (the best I’ve eaten in my life) as main course and a yummy milky tart for dessert.
It’s a lovely place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flavia_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We found ourselves in Johannesburg, coming in from Harare on business, and needed accommodation for an additional few days when our trip was extended. By chance we came upon this excellent place. The accommodation, welcome, breakfast and general standard is of a level you will not find elsewhere. This place is also excellent value for money and you will not find finer in Johannesburg and I will vouch certain for that.
The owners have furnished their premises with a beautiful, old style, antique charm, but with all mod-cons. The staff are superb and the owners lovely.
We travel regularly to South Africa and have stayed in many places. This is a gem!
Two very minor criticisms:
Can we have a simpler key system?
You must improve broadband internet access.
Excellent in every respect

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have been going to Die Agterplaas for the last four or five years and have always found it good value, comfortable and easy-going. Breakfasts are excellent. Rooms are a good size, some with nice views of Melville Koppies (hills). The staff are helpful and know the whole city very well, so they will give you tips about where to eat, what to see etc. You sometimes get to meet locals whos drop in for breakfast. The place has two entrances: the main one is on 6th Avenue but you also get a key to a gate opening straight onto 7th Street, which is where all the bars and restaurants are.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWilkes1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed here for one night at the end of our south african trip. Needed a Sat Nav to find it but worth it. Lovely greeting from Richard who filled us in on everything we needed to know! Quaint house full of antiques and with a homely old fashion look but comfortable and breakfast was good. Its advantage is being in Melville which is a lovely lively suburb and the restaurants and bars are on the doorstep. Ate a wonderful meal in Lucky Bean just across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is a lovely B and B with very comfortable rooms, friendly staff and good breakfasts. It is two minutes to walk to Melville,s main street with all it's shops and cafes. My only criticism would be the trip we were sold to Soweto which was e pensive short and rather stuffy. Other than that an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryncel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I was part of the Deutche Welle team of international journalists that covered the 2010 FIFA World Cup. We stayed at Die Agterplaas for the who six week period. We had a very good time at the guest house whose meaning from Africaans to English we were told means 'The Backyard.' The staff is very friendly, the food is lovely. Badia is such a great chef. The rooms are very clean and homely. The guesthouse is near 7th street which is ideal for shopping and tasting several exotic cuisines. I recommend it to all visitors to the great city of Johannesburg

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view and aeration
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farouk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
3.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#7 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 293 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agterplaas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agterplaas B&B

Property: Agterplaas B&B
Address: 66 Sixth Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agterplaas B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agterplaas B&B is a piece of countryside in the heart of Johannesburg. We are a hundred meters from the '7de laan' boutiques, book stores, pubs and restaurants, but supper can also be enjoyed by appointment where we overlook the Melville 'Koppies'. We are centrally situated - close to UJ, Wits, Helen Joseph- and Milpark-hospitals, Mediapark and the SABC, with a bus route close by. Airport and Gautrain transfers are available on request at competitive prices. There is also the Melville E-Tuk Tuk for short trips - even as far as the Rosebank and Park Gautrain Stations. Our rooms are all en suite with WiFi internet access. We offer a bouquet of DSTV - channels, complimentary cool drinks and coffee/tea facilities and our rooms are equipped with heaters and fans. Our motto is: Old-world Tranquility and Affordable Comfort. In general we are disabled-friendly and one of our units and a kitchen facility are geared specifically to accommodate guests in wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Agterplaas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing