We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing retreat”
Review of Agterplaas B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agterplaas B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain Top
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A friend and I met up here in June. Temperatures were quite cool, and my only complaint about the inn really is that the room was not sufficiently heated for temps near 0C . We finally complained and were immediately provided with space heaters -- the squeaky wheel -- but when temps are that low, shouldn't have to complain. Room very comfortable, breakfast great. Staff very accommodating. Need to figure out the transport system -- this is not easy to get to or from without independent transport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlnsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    36
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
32
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A great place to stay, especially when arriving in Johannesburg for the first time of your life. Very friendly hosts, really interested in their guests wellbeing. We were with a family with teens, it was great. Wonderful breakfast and even a special vegetarian Bobotie on request for dinner!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ciska L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent three nights in the lovely large double bedroom with the claw foot bathtub. The staff were excellent and went above and beyond to provide information and answers to our questions about the local area and broader region. The location is fantastic - the private pathway to 7th avenue is great - there are lots if fantastic restaurants, bars and eclectic shops on the short strip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilds282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Nice, quet b&b although in the middle of Melville. You have quick access to 7th avenue (= restaurants etc.) via back gate. Very nice breakfast, wi-fi, excellent service from friendly staff (especially the waitress/chef with her incredible smile). Clean room, fresh towels. I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: rooms 1-3, they have sliding doors as separate entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have been to “Die Agterplaas” first in 2007, we liked the place, so we decided to sleep again there for our 2 night-stay in Joburg at the end of our safari in South Africa in August 2013.
The B&B is located in Melville, a nice area with several restaurants and pubs.
Rooms are very cozy and clean (ours had king size bed) and there is a safe inside, the dining room - where breakfast is served - is lovely!
Jannie, the owner, is a musician, he’s very welcoming and kind. All the staff is very kind as well.
Breakfast is delicious, with a very wide choice of food to be ordered (waiting time: no more than 5 minutes!) and a buffet with cereals, fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, …. They even make 2-3 kind of fresh home-made bread.
If you ask in advance you can have dinner there, we pre-booked our dinner and Badia, the in-house chef, cooked for us a delicious starter with avocado and tuna, bobotie with sambals and chutney (the best I’ve eaten in my life) as main course and a yummy milky tart for dessert.
It’s a lovely place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flavia_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We found ourselves in Johannesburg, coming in from Harare on business, and needed accommodation for an additional few days when our trip was extended. By chance we came upon this excellent place. The accommodation, welcome, breakfast and general standard is of a level you will not find elsewhere. This place is also excellent value for money and you will not find finer in Johannesburg and I will vouch certain for that.
The owners have furnished their premises with a beautiful, old style, antique charm, but with all mod-cons. The staff are superb and the owners lovely.
We travel regularly to South Africa and have stayed in many places. This is a gem!
Two very minor criticisms:
Can we have a simpler key system?
You must improve broadband internet access.
Excellent in every respect

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have been going to Die Agterplaas for the last four or five years and have always found it good value, comfortable and easy-going. Breakfasts are excellent. Rooms are a good size, some with nice views of Melville Koppies (hills). The staff are helpful and know the whole city very well, so they will give you tips about where to eat, what to see etc. You sometimes get to meet locals whos drop in for breakfast. The place has two entrances: the main one is on 6th Avenue but you also get a key to a gate opening straight onto 7th Street, which is where all the bars and restaurants are.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWilkes1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
398 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#13 of 295 in Johannesburg
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 295 in Johannesburg
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#4 of 295 in Johannesburg
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agterplaas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agterplaas B&B

Property: Agterplaas B&B
Address: 66 Sixth Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agterplaas B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agterplaas B&B is a piece of countryside in the heart of Johannesburg. We are a hundred meters from the '7de laan' boutiques, book stores, pubs and restaurants, but supper can also be enjoyed by appointment where we overlook the Melville 'Koppies'. We are centrally situated - close to UJ, Wits, Helen Joseph- and Milpark-hospitals, Mediapark and the SABC, with a bus route close by. Airport and Gautrain transfers are available on request at competitive prices. There is also the Melville E-Tuk Tuk for short trips - even as far as the Rosebank and Park Gautrain Stations. Our rooms are all en suite with WiFi internet access. We offer a bouquet of DSTV - channels, complimentary cool drinks and coffee/tea facilities and our rooms are equipped with heaters and fans. Our motto is: Old-world Tranquility and Affordable Comfort. In general we are disabled-friendly and one of our units and a kitchen facility are geared specifically to accommodate guests in wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Agterplaas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing